Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34: Spring 2012 Release 0x054A - Issues and Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
103 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,906 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:57 PM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for the Spring 2012 release for HR34, version 0x054A

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=204611

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.


Thanks!

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,906 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 May 2012 - 03:57 PM

Version 0x054A should be on your device now.

Edited by Stuart Sweet, 01 May 2012 - 04:12 PM.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   seanb61

seanb61

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2007

Posted 01 May 2012 - 04:01 PM

Got it at 3:29am today in Downers Grove, IL.

#4 OFFLINE   KK in CT

KK in CT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 227 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2010

Posted 01 May 2012 - 04:35 PM

Got it this morning. First time I got one of these and didn't lose visibility to my other HD-DVR. Cool! The reappearing banner seems to be gone.

#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,504 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 01 May 2012 - 04:50 PM

So from the past few releases, is it that since there are so few of them out there that they don't need to do the standard rollout?

#6 OFFLINE   uncrules

uncrules

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 345 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 01 May 2012 - 05:37 PM

Some things I wish they fix are this.

The progress bar at the bottom to be like it is on the other DVRs. It's too big.
Every time the DVR resets I have to reenable the 30 second skip.
When using the 30 second skip, the progress bar appears. It doesn't on the other DVRs.
1 HR34-700 (w/AM21N), 2 HR24-500 (1 w/AM21), 2 HR22-100 - Whole Home DVR with DECA and broadband DECA setup
Panasonic Viera 65" TC-P65V10, Magnavox 42" 42MF337B, Sony Bravia 40" KDL40EX400, 2 Vizio 37" E370VL
Directv subscriber since 1995
Xbox 360 Elite, 2 PS3, Nintendo Wii

#7 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,504 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 01 May 2012 - 05:57 PM

Some things I wish they fix are this.

The progress bar at the bottom to be like it is on the other DVRs. It's too big.
Every time the DVR resets I have to reenable the 30 second skip.
When using the 30 second skip, the progress bar appears. It doesn't on the other DVRs.


It'll come. For the first issue, we're basically on the first version of the HD GUI. At some point we'll Move on and get the smaller progress bar, Pandora etc.

#8 OFFLINE   uncrules

uncrules

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 345 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 01 May 2012 - 06:45 PM

It'll come. For the first issue, we're basically on the first version of the HD GUI. At some point we'll Move on and get the smaller progress bar, Pandora etc.


I know, it's just that I've gotten used to those things on the other DVRs so I'm (patentiely) waiting for them to be added to the HR34. When I got my HR34 I finally retired my old HR20 which I got just a few months after the box debut. And I remember the teething problems we had with it. While I know some have had complaints about the HR34, I feel it's been pretty solid for such a new box. Much more stable than that HR20 was when it came out. But the HR20 turned it out pretty good after a while. I liked it better than the two HR22s I have. But not as much as my two HR24s.
1 HR34-700 (w/AM21N), 2 HR24-500 (1 w/AM21), 2 HR22-100 - Whole Home DVR with DECA and broadband DECA setup
Panasonic Viera 65" TC-P65V10, Magnavox 42" 42MF337B, Sony Bravia 40" KDL40EX400, 2 Vizio 37" E370VL
Directv subscriber since 1995
Xbox 360 Elite, 2 PS3, Nintendo Wii

#9 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 721 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:17 PM

Heard about the update and plugged in the 34 for the first time in a week, forcing a S/W update and hoping things will work better.

Pink screen still appears on boot-up "just a few seconds more" screen. After this screen but before the running receiver check, the "restart Receiver" screen shows for about 15 seconds or so with a solid black horizontal line running horizontally across the bottom of screen, just above the very bottom.

When navigating to restart my HR24 and on "restart receiver" screen, TV program appears as normal in upper left window. On the HR34, it does not, program disappears and window shows the DirecTV logo.

Just a few observations so far.

#10 OFFLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,063 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:44 PM

It'll come. For the first issue, we're basically on the first version of the HD GUI. At some point we'll Move on and get the smaller progress bar, Pandora etc.


I sure hope 54a has fixed the MRV problem with loss of playlist synchronization. Basic operational issues need to be fixed first before we see new features like Pandora, smaller progress bar etc. If I can keep things synchronized for two or more weeks, I'll call the problem solved and then will gladly accept the new features.

#11 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,504 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 02 May 2012 - 05:16 AM

Agreed.

#12 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 02 May 2012 - 05:42 AM

Some things I wish they fix are this.

The progress bar at the bottom to be like it is on the other DVRs. It's too big.
Every time the DVR resets I have to reenable the 30 second skip.
When using the 30 second skip, the progress bar appears. It doesn't on the other DVRs.


I agree about having to reset 30skip but I kind of like the progress bar on 30skip it lets you know where you are in the program

#13 OFFLINE   uncrules

uncrules

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 345 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 02 May 2012 - 05:56 AM

I agree about having to reset 30skip but I kind of like the progress bar on 30skip it lets you know where you are in the program


If I want to see how far along I am in a program, I just hit the play button while the program is playing normally. This causes the progress bar to appear. I hit it again to make it go away.
1 HR34-700 (w/AM21N), 2 HR24-500 (1 w/AM21), 2 HR22-100 - Whole Home DVR with DECA and broadband DECA setup
Panasonic Viera 65" TC-P65V10, Magnavox 42" 42MF337B, Sony Bravia 40" KDL40EX400, 2 Vizio 37" E370VL
Directv subscriber since 1995
Xbox 360 Elite, 2 PS3, Nintendo Wii

#14 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,661 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 02 May 2012 - 06:10 AM

I kind of like the progress bar on 30skip it lets you know where you are in the program

Speaking for myself, I'm used to the Hx2x way of doing things. When I want to see where I am in the recording, like uncrules, I normally just double-tap PLAY. I find that displaying the progress bar during 30SKIP is not "sports friendly". On the HR34, it usually gets in the way of the action when skipping between plays in a football game or pitches in a baseball game.

Even on an Hx2x box, if the progress bar didn't display during 30SLIP, I'd probably use that for sports, instead of SKIP. I understand the need to show the slip counter, but I'd love an option to just display the counter without the progress bar. Just my .02.
/steve

#15 OFFLINE   tonydi

tonydi

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2010

Posted 02 May 2012 - 02:39 PM

I too got the update in the wee hours Tues morning and, as usual, the GUI text wasn't HD. On previous updates I've done a restart but this time I took a hint from the other thread and just cycled though the choices with the Format button and that cleared up the text.

However today when I turned the HR34 on, it was lousy text again and the Format trick didn't work so I had to restart to get it back.

I agree with the complaints about the progress bar. Coming from Tivo I'm used to having it disappear when doing slo-mo or frame by frame and it's incredibly annoying that it doesn't work this way on the HR34. It always seems like what I'm trying to see is behind the bar!

Work in progress, I know....

#16 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 721 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 02 May 2012 - 11:29 PM

Had to unplug the 34 tonite again, after complaints from wife. After a day, my other HR24's were falling off the network for MRV. 34 is in fam room, would not see bedroom 24, bedroom 24 stopped seeing fam room and kitchen 24, etc.

Once I unplugged 34, all 24's started seeing each other within 15 minutes again without having to reboot, and everything was back to normal.

Maybe its my parallel SWiM-16 again acting up with the 34 in the mix, not sure yet. I may try a single SWiM-16 setup with the 34 and see if I have MRV problems with that route.

#17 OFFLINE   T-Mac

T-Mac

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2012

Posted 03 May 2012 - 07:31 AM

I've been doing a menu restart on the receivers I own (HR34, H25) every time they receive an update.

It may be overkill, but most devices (smart phones, computers, etc.) require a restart after software updates. I just think it's a good idea.

#18 OFFLINE   sriggins

sriggins

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 03 May 2012 - 08:53 AM

Does not fix the issue where the table cells in the Recordings List end updrawing with the wrong row data, so as you move up and down the list, they draw with the same data as the row you were just on.

So you see:

One
Two
>Four
Four

press up

One
>One
Three
Four

Press up

>One
Two
Three
Four

#19 OFFLINE   sriggins

sriggins

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 03 May 2012 - 08:54 AM

Wife deleted the show that could not play from the beginning so I cannot see if this release fixed it :(

#20 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 03 May 2012 - 10:12 AM

Got the new update. Now the clock is still off but since I already changed all my Series Links to start two minutes early, at least the recording of the show is there. The second useless HD GUI update at least started the recording at the beginning, not like the first useless HD GUI release that started a few minutes into the show. Now the latest release of the useless HD GUI starts a few minutes into the recording. Have to rewind to get to the beginning.

One step backwards and four more steps backwards. Seems like never a step forwards.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD




Protected By... spam firewall...And...