Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP922 - S1.17 Software Experiences/Bugs Discuss


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 May 2012 - 08:47 AM

The version start spooling for five ranges of SN.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 May 2012 - 01:44 PM

Some tidbits (dedicated to that jerk - Scott):
 S117 part1 : <code> 			supersede if BS='1[1-5]3[1-2]' and FW= 'AAA1'-'DLH1','S100'-'S117'
 S117 part2 :'WeatherAppTile.tgz'	supersede if FW= 'AAA1'-'DLH1','S100'-'S117'
 S117 part3 :'A030_signed.tgz' 		supersede if FW= 'AAA1'-'DLH1','S100'-'S117'
 S117 part4 :'firmware_3_3_50.tgz' 	supersede if FW= 'AAA1'-'DLH1','S100'-'S117'
 S117 part5 : <code>  			supersede if FW= 'AAA1'-'DLH1','S100'-'S116'
and if
 List of BootStraps and BuildConfigs and SN:
 '1[1-5]3[1-3]' & 'XA[BCE-HJL-NQ-SU-Z2-3].': 
	R0089041729-R0093387985 
	R0093925443-R0093925443 
	R0128010045-R0128010045 
	R0128027610-R0128027610 
	R0127762957-R0127762957

Edited by P Smith, 02 May 2012 - 01:53 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   MrMiller

MrMiller

    New Member

  • Banned User
  • 4 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2012

Posted 02 May 2012 - 02:53 PM

The 922 always had the weather application.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 May 2012 - 04:48 PM

The 922 always had the weather application.


:confused: You mean the spool is not surprised you ? :) Perhaps it giving new version ? Or expended features ? Or less bugs ?

Seems to me you telling something like in Oregon regularly raining ... So what ? Each rain is new rain and it will be different. Duh !

#5 OFFLINE   MrMiller

MrMiller

    New Member

  • Banned User
  • 4 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2012

Posted 02 May 2012 - 07:14 PM

Maybe if you had a 922 you would know what your talking about. You missed the main new feature of this software (and it is not the weather application.)

The big new feature is the new on demand and Blockbuster application.

Everything you posted above is completely meaningless to anyone here, the only one amused with your post is you.

What kind of receivers do you have?

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 May 2012 - 08:49 PM

Then post about the FW additions. Will better then bickering, mr Scott.
Also, keep the "Everything you posted above is completely meaningless to anyone here, the only one amused with your post is you" for yourself if you don't get valuable info from first post.
Anyone here have better understanding, at least any kid would take serial number and compare with their 922 to be sure it 's upgrading or not.

Adding to that, if you have something to say about new FW - say it, without 'be exclusive for your site only'.

Edited by P Smith, 02 May 2012 - 09:03 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,613 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 02 May 2012 - 09:00 PM

With Dish not posting release notes on a reliable schedule, I'm not sure we know anything about this release until regular customers start posting about having new firmware.

I would have thought someone would have posted by now if there was a big new feature.

On a moderation note... let's not argue with each other, but discuss the new firmware if you have it and are having different experiences with it. Thanks!

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 May 2012 - 10:55 PM

Got the version, yes BB@Home is here, start DL one free concert "Green Day Live At The Fox Theater", waiting, 3/4 of progress bar stay for a couple minutes without changes ...

Back to normal functioning. Seems to me it will take time on my 3 Mbps line ...

Edited by P Smith, 02 May 2012 - 11:02 PM.


#9 OFFLINE   Marcus S

Marcus S

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 706 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 02 May 2012 - 10:56 PM

Right off the BAT... Home Media (DLNA) broken. Black screen of death with a cursor in the middle of it. That means no Pandora, No Netfllix, No Hulu and no anything DLNA via PlayOn / Media Mall (a DLNA transport via PC/laptop), Microsoft Media Player, etc... Simply Brilliant Dish.
VIP922, 1000.4 Western Arc Dish, Ronard Ultra Duty 3 Foot Satellite Tripod, RG6 Quad Thomas & Betts fittings. Samsung 55" 7100 LED, Sony PS3, Sunfire TGA-5400 Amp, Sunfire TGP-5 Preamp, Magnepan MG 3.6 front, Boston Acoustic CR8's rear, Thiel SmartSub SS1. CyberPower CP1350 UPS. Cisco E4200 Network.

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 May 2012 - 11:14 PM

Well, they want the BB@Home push out the door. What the DNLA give them in monetary aspect ?

#11 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,613 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 03 May 2012 - 01:05 AM

Right off the BAT... Home Media (DLNA) broken. Black screen of death with a cursor in the middle of it. That means no Pandora, No Netfllix, No Hulu and no anything DLNA via PlayOn / Media Mall (a DLNA transport via PC/laptop), Microsoft Media Player, etc... Simply Brilliant Dish.


Was DLNA working in S116? I ask because, while I remember trying it out earlier... the PC I was using was quite slow and gave poor results so I stopped using it. I was considering running something on my iMac but hadn't actually tried yet.

IF it was still working in S116, maybe it was something simple that they broke and maybe it can be fixed quickly once they know. Somehow I always get the impression that there aren't that many people using DLNA on the 922.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#12 OFFLINE   SandyG3

SandyG3

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2002

Posted 03 May 2012 - 08:02 AM

Same here; home media is broken (black screen with cursor). However good news is blockbuster streaming works great. Watched a HiDef movie (which streamed while I was watching it, it only buffered for about 10 seconds before starting) and also downloaded 3 other movies last night. They all showed up in my rental queue this morning. So far I'm happy!!!

#13 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 03 May 2012 - 08:16 AM

So it takes 7 months to get a working BBMP and they didnt get the bugs worked out?

I guess when in comes down to anything on the 922 it is always a disaster when it starts out!!!

#14 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 May 2012 - 08:22 AM

I would assign "half baked" status to the BB@H addition:
- scheduled download all 4 free movies (2xHD, 2xSD)
- didn't watch anything from start (in my case waiting period wasn't 10 sec, more then 5 min for sure)
- morning time found all four finish downloading
- only 2 HD are normal movies (at full full length and right content)
- rest 2 SD are 5 mins trailers :( while description telling its full time recordings :(

#15 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 May 2012 - 11:06 AM

Latest news: BB@HOME icon is GONE !

I saw 922's lights was on a few minutes ago, turned TV - 922 did reboot and after that BB@H ICON is gone. WTF ?

Edit: I found BB@H item under OnDemand icon in pull down list ... But the icon.

Also: that two SD 'movies' (actually short trailers) gone too.

Well, it become messy ...
In MyRentals and BB@H it display differently: BB@H doesn't have these two free SD movies now; MyRentals do shows all four, but with new twist - "Martha ..." still has only a few minutes of its trailer while "My Week .." disabled totally - do not play at all and in a description it's not free and has two variants SD and HD.

Edited by P Smith, 03 May 2012 - 11:21 AM.


#16 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 May 2012 - 12:16 PM

Good news: S1.18 start spooling at 129W... now covering 300+ boxes.

#17 OFFLINE   Marcus S

Marcus S

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 706 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 03 May 2012 - 02:22 PM

Was DLNA working in S116? I ask because, while I remember trying it out earlier... the PC I was using was quite slow and gave poor results so I stopped using it. I was considering running something on my iMac but hadn't actually tried yet.

IF it was still working in S116, maybe it was something simple that they broke and maybe it can be fixed quickly once they know. Somehow I always get the impression that there aren't that many people using DLNA on the 922.


Yes it was working on 116 and fairly well. Sometimes I had to push reset on the 922 to see the DLNA devices on my network. I use it for Netflix, Hulu & Pandora quite frequently but with Playon / Media Mall you can stream 50 other channels as well. There was another problem when Dish COMM was enabled BUT not connected and wired ethernet was plugged into the 922 directly, the 922 would loose broadband connectivity after a while or streaming would freeze frame allot. Disabling Dish COMM fixes that issue.

Edited by Marcus S, 04 May 2012 - 09:16 PM.

VIP922, 1000.4 Western Arc Dish, Ronard Ultra Duty 3 Foot Satellite Tripod, RG6 Quad Thomas & Betts fittings. Samsung 55" 7100 LED, Sony PS3, Sunfire TGA-5400 Amp, Sunfire TGP-5 Preamp, Magnepan MG 3.6 front, Boston Acoustic CR8's rear, Thiel SmartSub SS1. CyberPower CP1350 UPS. Cisco E4200 Network.

#18 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 360 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 03 May 2012 - 09:27 PM

Yes it was working on 116 and fairly well. Sometimes I had to push reset on the 922 to see the DLNA devices on my network. I use it for Netflix, Hulu & Pandora quite frequently but with Playon / Media Mall you can stream 50 other channels as well. There was another problem when Home Link was enabled BUT not connected and wired ethernet was plugged into the 922 directly, the 922 would loose broadband connectivity after a while or streaming would freeze frame allot. Disabling Home Link fixes that issue.


If you would like me to report the DLNA issue with the upgrade, can you please send me your account number or phone number in a PM and I will have them take a look at this. This is the first report we have recieved about this issue. Thank you!

***If sending information for me to report this issue. please include the bootstrap verison from the System Info screen. (Menu twice on the remote) Thank you!

Edited by MaryB@DishNetwork, 04 May 2012 - 06:00 PM.
Additional information needed!

Mary Catherine Brady
Team Lead- Dish Internet Response Team

Sunday-Wednesday 2:30pm-11:00pm, Thursday 1:30pm-10:00pm (MST)

 


#19 OFFLINE   garygaryj

garygaryj

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2007

Posted 03 May 2012 - 10:14 PM

Two bugs so far detected on S117 (on my 922, anyway):

1. Earlier today, was checking out Blockbuster feature and filtering, etc., and also flipping around to different channels as well. At some point, the entire picture was black except the upper left rectangle mini-screen, which stayed functional, even for Channel up and down. But no way to get out of the black mode. No auto-return to normal screen. On/off worked, but when back on, back to all black with the small mini-screen working. Had to soft-reset, which took at least 15 min. to reset. Finally came back after about 14 or more of those Starting up screens on & off.

2. My iMac can no longer display the contents of my DVR, or my Timers, or Rentals, even though connecting to the DVR. Can display Live TV. But no DVR contents at all. However, went back to the old Dish Remote Access, and the contents came up right away.

NOTES ADDED ON 5/4/2012:

On # 2. -- After a lengthy chat session with DishOnline Chat - I went through all the usual things, and they wrote up a ticket finally. About 5 min. later they must have reset my Dish DVR satellite connection - got the whole reboot/update scenario. Came back up, and now my Dish Slinging is working again. (I have an iMac with latest Safari software.) So, whatever it was, it is fixable from DishOnline. Chat did say I wasn't the only one who reported this problem.

NOTE ADDED ON 5/5/2012:

On #2. -- Back to where I was before on dishonline DVR contents - can't see any.

Edited by garygaryj, 05 May 2012 - 05:20 PM.
news next day


#20 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 May 2012 - 12:13 PM

Continue testing BB@H ...

- the BB@H icon is back
- "My week with Marilyn" [free SD] is back; start downloading again ...
- as soon the DL started, all functioning of BB@H went to drain - they can't share the Internet connection between DL process and getting BB@H regular requests.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...