Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

TIVO SW version 6.4


  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,085 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 14 May 2012 - 12:32 PM

litzdog - see my post above. Although DirecTV seems to believe this is in the stream, I have yet to see a post from ANYONE who has been successful downloading it.

#42 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,766 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 May 2012 - 01:23 PM

litzdog - see my post above. Although DirecTV seems to believe this is in the stream, I have yet to see a post from ANYONE who has been successful downloading it.


Duh ? That way by the wording ?
That's is hilarious.

Are they are sending the 6.4a or not ?

#43 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,085 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 14 May 2012 - 01:36 PM

Note litzdog's post. DirecTv is asking for information from people who can''t get the download.
QUOTE:OK ... finally some news from our DirecTV contacts. Hopefully this gets things moving in a positive direction. v6.4a software IS available via Tivo phone calls, so your boxes SHOULD be updating. DirecTV has requested that you provide the following information here to help them work with Tivo to troubleshoot why you're not getting the v6.4a update. UNQUOTE

So they think people should be able to get 6.4a (otherwise why ask?)

#44 OFFLINE   hrsala

hrsala

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2010

Posted 14 May 2012 - 02:21 PM

I have been exchanging emails with a DTV "Resolution Specialist" who really thougnt the forced call in and restart would help load 6.4. She has now informed me that she has now "escalated this to our engineering group for further review". For the first time i believe DTV is really trying to fix the problem.

#45 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,766 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 May 2012 - 02:49 PM

Note litzdog's post. DirecTv is asking for information from people who can''t get the download.

QUOTE:OK ... finally some news from our DirecTV contacts. Hopefully this gets things moving in a positive direction. v6.4a software IS available via Tivo phone calls, so your boxes SHOULD be updating. DirecTV has requested that you provide the following information here to help them work with Tivo to troubleshoot why you're not getting the v6.4a update. UNQUOTE


So they think people should be able to get 6.4a (otherwise why ask?)


I noted, questioned him ... for both of you - nothing is spooling.

BTW, you're quoting method is not accepted by local vB version - use it as above.

#46 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,570 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 15 May 2012 - 12:41 AM

Latest update from my DirecTV contacts ....

Here's what we know at this time.

1. Thanks to your help the issue has been identified. The download is in the stream but there is an authentication issue preventing some models from receiving it.
2. DirecTV is working with TiVo to resolve.
3. No official ETA but a fix is expected soon (can't commit a time frame yet)
4. Outside of the phone connection there should be no need for users to take additional steps.

So they claim that the software is available via phone calls, not necessarily in the satellite stream. Hopefully they'll get it fixed soon. Stay tuned.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#47 OFFLINE   wishbone4401

wishbone4401

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2012

Posted 15 May 2012 - 10:11 AM

Okay - the good news - I provided my DVR / TIVO information (HR10-250) to Litzdog911 and when I forced the phone call this morning, it lasted only a few seconds and the call status came back showing “pending restart” as opposed to “successful”. After forcing the restart, the system came back during the power up message saying a service update was in progress and may take up to an hour. It took about 15 minutes and when it came back up, the system information display showed the software version was now 6.4a. The bad news - not all of the local channels came back. Those that had been totally missing from the guide are back (in my case in Denver 6,12,31) Those that had been in the guide but produced a blank screen (4,7,9 - network channels) were not and a re-authorization did not solve the problem. The original guidance from Directv was that if this happened after the update, to wait 4 hours and then go to the “restart or reset system” menu and select the “clear program information and to do list” option which will require re-entering season pass information. Since I didn’t have season pass information on this receiver that I cared about, I went ahead and did it. It took about 2 hours for the receiver to complete the task and when it finished, all the local channels returned. Also, as near as I can tell, my season pass manager is still intact (the selections and to do list seem normal) but if it still works or not is another issue.

Regarding comments about hacked boxes having a flag set to not allow software updates, this receiver has a replacement hard drive from DVRupgrade that was on 6.3e and was always hooked up to a phone line. In this case, it didn’t have network connectivity (PTVnet was not installed) so I’m assuming the flag wasn’t set since the update worked.

#48 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,570 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 15 May 2012 - 10:23 AM

Excellent news, wishbone! Thanks for the update.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#49 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,766 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 May 2012 - 10:43 AM

Since there is no FW streaming from 101W tp27, that would mean - your TiVo has the slices from days of spooling (last year it was there to be DL to a drive for long enough time) and the phone authorization just triggered the upgrade process.

#50 OFFLINE   kencrane

kencrane

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2010

Posted 15 May 2012 - 01:28 PM

NO good news for me - forced a phone call & rebooted my 6.3.e SAMSUNG SIR-S4080R & got NO MESSAGE re a service update - just the same old reloading channels to 84% with no local or PBS channels.

#51 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,766 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 May 2012 - 01:36 PM

NO good news for me - forced a phone call & rebooted my 6.3.e SAMSUNG SIR-S4080R & got NO MESSAGE re a service update - just the same old reloading channels to 84% with no local or PBS channels.


Can you check your box, if these 6.4a slices stored on a drive ?

If not, then no way to upgrade your TiVo without spooling SW from sat.

#52 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 847 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 15 May 2012 - 01:43 PM

There is no way for an unhacked TiVo to be able to tell. If you can use TiVoWeb+, you can look at the MFS database under swsystem.

Steve

My Setup


#53 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,766 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 May 2012 - 02:09 PM

Perhaps take the drive out and use Linux or MFSLive or like that ?

#54 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,816 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 15 May 2012 - 06:13 PM

If your DirecTiVo was active and operating in the 2008 timeframe, you SHOULD have the 6.4a slices on your harddrive. If your box was offline between 2007 and 2009, you might have nothing later than 6.3.

If you have a hacked box (e.g. you have MRV working) then installing the 6.4 slices (however it is done, whether by the Slicer or any other means) WILL install the stock TivoApp which will undo hacks like MRV enablement, longer buffers, backdoors, etc. The good news is that TivoApp did not change in 6.4a, so the existing versions of superpatch will work fine. The version number tests will need to be changed to test for version 6.3 or higher instead of just 6.3 (change the '==' to '>='). For example:
if { [string range $SwVer 0 2] == "6.3" }
becomes
if { [string range $SwVer 0 2] >= "6.3" }

Several 6.4a compatible (already edited) versions of superpatch are also floating around the internet (Google is your friend).

As noted above, if you have TivoWebPlus running on your Tivo, it is easy to see what slices you have by looking under swsystem in the MFS database.

For unhacked boxes, the only option is to get the call to work, since any of the manual methods will require at least telnet access, and ftp as well in many cases.

Edited by Diana C, 15 May 2012 - 06:26 PM.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#55 OFFLINE   wishbone4401

wishbone4401

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2012

Posted 15 May 2012 - 06:50 PM

Also, as near as I can tell, my season pass manager is still intact (the selections and to do list seem normal) but if it still works or not is another issue.


Now that my receiver has had a chance to download part of the guide, it appears all the season passes will have to be re-entered. The to do list and season pass lists look normal but they are not finding the programs to record. At least the season passes can be re-entered and deleted one at a time without having to work from a written list, screen photographs or memory.

#56 OFFLINE   hrsala

hrsala

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2010

Posted 16 May 2012 - 09:58 AM

Starting to get an uneasy feeling. Glad to hear some downloads of 6.4 are working. However my R10 still is stuck on 6.3 even after forced call in's twice a day. More disturbing is during the call in, it blasts by the "receiving info" without a hint of anything downloading and nothing "loads". Still waiting on engineering help as promised by the Conflict Resolution Specialist at DTV.

#57 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,816 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:49 AM

Now that my receiver has had a chance to download part of the guide, it appears all the season passes will have to be re-entered. The to do list and season pass lists look normal but they are not finding the programs to record. At least the season passes can be re-entered and deleted one at a time without having to work from a written list, screen photographs or memory.


It seems one of the changes in 6.4a was how the local chanel number remapping is handled (your locals are actually delivered on high channel numbers, and then the software remaps them down to the local numbers). As a result, the mapping table needs to be rebuilt, which is what the "Clear program infomation..." does. As a result, once the new map is in place, all your season passes need to be recreated so they will use it. This is also why some channels, prior to the rebuild, are black screens - the "map" points to an invalid program ID.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#58 OFFLINE   Sunner73

Sunner73

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 69 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2012

Posted 17 May 2012 - 01:38 AM

It's been a week now and ONLY 2 of my 5 Tivos have lost the locals... not sure why I haven't lost the other 3 units but hey I'm not going to rock the boat on those 3 as it could be any day now, sigh........

Anyway, I've changed 1 of the 2 Tivos so it now connects via the "network" to DTV and have verified that it can. I've initiated the "Connect to the DVR service now" multiple times and it goes through the processes but nothing downloads.

I've verified that the only SW is my old 6.2a. TWP also confirms it. Any idea when I might expect to get the download?

P.S. As my signature indicates I'm MRV'ed.
Directv customer since 2001
1 HR34-50" Projection TV
2 HR24-27" HDTV/Monitor & 27" CRT
2 DSR704 DTivo's (no locals)-32" CRTs
1 DSR7000 DTivo-27" CRT
Only the 2 DSR704's MRV'ed

Upgraded to AU9 Slimline w/SWM16 w/uS575 stacker feeding a LAL20a amp supplying single coax to each of the 3 DSR's w/dual destackers.

#59 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 847 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 17 May 2012 - 09:09 AM

Have you changed your bootp parameters to disable software installs? Usually those who have hacked their TiVos do this.

Steve

My Setup


#60 OFFLINE   Sunner73

Sunner73

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 69 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2012

Posted 17 May 2012 - 12:08 PM

Have you changed your bootp parameters to disable software installs? Usually those who have hacked their TiVos do this.


I don't know what file you're referring to.... I read the rc....author file but I didn't see anything there.

So...I've gone the route of wget from dvrupgr... to get 6.4a;

TivoWebPlus
V2.1.B3
[192.168.1.59]
UI More System Logs Restart HackMan NPL-Q FileUtilities Info Folderize
Directory listing of /SwSystem
NAME TYPE ID DATE TIME SIZE
6.2a-01-2-301 tyDb 4808 03/07/07 11:28 724
6.4a-01-2-101 tyDb 6037402 05/17/12 10:37 780
ACTIVE tyDb 4808 03/07/07 11:28 724

So Thanks for your response, I will install asap after transferring the final recordings

Edited by Sunner73, 28 October 2012 - 09:06 AM.

Directv customer since 2001
1 HR34-50" Projection TV
2 HR24-27" HDTV/Monitor & 27" CRT
2 DSR704 DTivo's (no locals)-32" CRTs
1 DSR7000 DTivo-27" CRT
Only the 2 DSR704's MRV'ed

Upgraded to AU9 Slimline w/SWM16 w/uS575 stacker feeding a LAL20a amp supplying single coax to each of the 3 DSR's w/dual destackers.




spam firewall