Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

TIVO SW version 6.4


  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#61 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,826 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 18 May 2012 - 06:09 AM

I've don't know what file you're referring to.... I read the rc....author file but I didn't see anything there.

So...I've gone the route of wget from dvrupgr... to get 6.4a;


If you followed any of the popular hacking guides, or used a packaged script, you probably ran a command that set a flag instructing the TiVo to not install any upgrades. Basically, the upgrade process installs the new software on an alternate boot partition and then switches that partition to be the primary. The program used to set the boot partition and parameters is bootp. This command is run only once, while the drive is being hacked, so it doesn't appear in the init file.

Just remember that MRV will be disabled in 6.4a until you rerun superpatch.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#62 OFFLINE   Sunner73

Sunner73

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2012

Posted 18 May 2012 - 02:23 PM

If you followed any of the popular hacking guides, or used a packaged script, you probably ran a command that set a flag instructing the TiVo to not install any upgrades. Basically, the upgrade process installs the new software on an alternate boot partition and then switches that partition to be the primary. The program used to set the boot partition and parameters is bootp. This command is run only once, while the drive is being hacked, so it doesn't appear in the init file.

Just remember that MRV will be disabled in 6.4a until you rerun superpatch.


Memory.... if you don't use it you lose it..... it's been 4 yrs since I've had to do anything to the 5 units.... lucky I guess. It's just a matter of time before they will start failing. So I'm going to order my drives then swap them out for the newer ones.

Thanks for the kick start.....
Directv customer since 2001
1 HR34-50" Projection TV
2 HR24-27" HDTV/Monitor & 27" CRT
2 DSR704 DTivo's (no locals)-32" CRTs
1 DSR7000 DTivo-27" CRT
Only the 2 DSR704's MRV'ed

Upgraded to AU9 Slimline w/SWM16 w/uS575 stacker feeding a LAL20a amp supplying single coax to each of the 3 DSR's w/dual destackers.

#63 OFFLINE   Sunner73

Sunner73

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2012

Posted 20 May 2012 - 02:05 AM

Just remember that MRV will be disabled in 6.4a until you rerun superpatch.


I was under the impression that MRV was not possible even with superpatch..... has that changed?
Directv customer since 2001
1 HR34-50" Projection TV
2 HR24-27" HDTV/Monitor & 27" CRT
2 DSR704 DTivo's (no locals)-32" CRTs
1 DSR7000 DTivo-27" CRT
Only the 2 DSR704's MRV'ed

Upgraded to AU9 Slimline w/SWM16 w/uS575 stacker feeding a LAL20a amp supplying single coax to each of the 3 DSR's w/dual destackers.

#64 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,826 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 20 May 2012 - 07:31 AM

I have not tried it myself, since I only have one TiVo left active, but lots of people have had MRV on 6.4 for years.

Edit: It should be said that you can get the functionality on 6.4a, but it is with add on software, not from the "Now Playing" list.

Edited by Diana C, 21 May 2012 - 03:46 PM.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#65 OFFLINE   Sunner73

Sunner73

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2012

Posted 23 May 2012 - 12:21 AM

I have not tried it myself, since I only have one TiVo left active, but lots of people have had MRV on 6.4 for years.

Edit: It should be said that you can get the functionality on 6.4a, but it is with add on software, not from the "Now Playing" list.


That seems to be what I have been noticing while reading many threads @ different sites.

Because I'm not interested in downloading shows (to computer) or things like that ALL I was hoping was to have a similar process of sharing shows.... my mother (80 now) has one and we all want to be able to simply do a transfer for one DTivo to another.

I do enjoy TWP and some of the other utilities but that's just me, as I'm the only computer person in this house.
Directv customer since 2001
1 HR34-50" Projection TV
2 HR24-27" HDTV/Monitor & 27" CRT
2 DSR704 DTivo's (no locals)-32" CRTs
1 DSR7000 DTivo-27" CRT
Only the 2 DSR704's MRV'ed

Upgraded to AU9 Slimline w/SWM16 w/uS575 stacker feeding a LAL20a amp supplying single coax to each of the 3 DSR's w/dual destackers.

#66 OFFLINE   kencrane

kencrane

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2010

Posted 24 May 2012 - 01:31 AM

I am pessimistic that DTV/TIVO will ever fix the problem of the missing local channels. Jump back to 2008/2009 - my phone was permanently connected & calling in successfully when the 6.4 software came available & it didn’t upgrade then. Also in this time frame the daily telephone call stopped being able to connect not only for me but most if not all Tivos. There are threads one can search if interested re this on DBS Talk & Tivo community. DTV could not or couldn’t be bothered to apparently fix this daily connect in 2008/2009 so I disconnected the phone. Jump to the present: 2012: DTV upgrades something in their system & people with Standard definition Tivos lose local channels. DTV has now ‘miraculously’ fixed the phone ‘call in’ connect problem & I have been able to connect every day for the last 7 weeks but have not received the 6.4 software upgrade. Could DTV/TIVO fix this problem? – I have no doubt if it was system wide affecting thousands of customers it would be fixed by now.
My receiver/TV details are:
· Tivo model number - SAMSUNG SIR-S4080R
· Tivo current software version - 6.3e – 01—2-381
· Tivo Service Number - 381-0000-EO5D-BF78
· My Tivo does NOT have any "modifications" to its original software
· TV brand & model number? SONY – KV-32XBR48
· My Tivo is connected to my TV via – COAX



Starting to get an uneasy feeling. Glad to hear some downloads of 6.4 are working. However my R10 still is stuck on 6.3 even after forced call in's twice a day. More disturbing is during the call in, it blasts by the "receiving info" without a hint of anything downloading and nothing "loads". Still waiting on engineering help as promised by the Conflict Resolution Specialist at DTV.



#67 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,852 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 May 2012 - 08:58 AM

I am pessimistic that DTV/TIVO will ever fix the problem of the missing local channels. Jump back to 2008/2009 - my phone was permanently connected & calling in successfully when the 6.4 software came available & it didn’t upgrade then. Also in this time frame the daily telephone call stopped being able to connect not only for me but most if not all Tivos. There are threads one can search if interested re this on DBS Talk & Tivo community. DTV could not or couldn’t be bothered to apparently fix this daily connect in 2008/2009 so I disconnected the phone. Jump to the present: 2012: DTV upgrades something in their system & people with Standard definition Tivos lose local channels. DTV has now ‘miraculously’ fixed the phone ‘call in’ connect problem & I have been able to connect every day for the last 7 weeks but have not received the 6.4 software upgrade. Could DTV/TIVO fix this problem? – I have no doubt if it was system wide affecting thousands of customers it would be fixed by now.
My receiver/TV details are:
· Tivo model number - SAMSUNG SIR-S4080R
· Tivo current software version - 6.3e – 01—2-381
· Tivo Service Number - 381-0000-EO5D-BF78
· My Tivo does NOT have any "modifications" to its original software
· TV brand & model number? SONY – KV-32XBR48
· My Tivo is connected to my TV via – COAX

If 6.4a is not placed on second boot partition (could you check if it there ?) then you've no luck - DTV did stop spooling it last year.

For reference - in gct's channel's tables you can find special (TiVo dedicated) network [40962] where listed TiVo FW spool's location for SD and HD models.
I recall it was at 101W tp27 PIDs: 3f1, 3f2, 3f3, 3f4.
Found it:
Name Number Net TP PID Description
TIVOS 102 40962 27 03F3 TiVo Software Download Channel.
TIVOSHD 103 40962 27 03F4 TiVo HD Software Download Channel.
TIVOR 100 40962 27 03F2 TiVo Test Channel.
TIVOD 101 40962 27 03F2 TiVo Test Channel.

Edited by P Smith, 24 May 2012 - 09:11 AM.


#68 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,592 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 24 May 2012 - 11:43 PM

If 6.4a is not placed on second boot partition (could you check if it there ?) then you've no luck - DTV did stop spooling it last year.

For reference - in gct's channel's tables you can find special (TiVo dedicated) network [40962] where listed TiVo FW spool's location for SD and HD models.
I recall it was at 101W tp27 PIDs: 3f1, 3f2, 3f3, 3f4.
Found it:

Name Number Net TP PID Description
TIVOS 102 40962 27 03F3 TiVo Software Download Channel.
TIVOSHD 103 40962 27 03F4 TiVo HD Software Download Channel.
TIVOR 100 40962 27 03F2 TiVo Test Channel.
TIVOD 101 40962 27 03F2 TiVo Test Channel.


You won't find it on any satellite transponders. The v6.4a update is supposed to be downloading via phone line. But it's still not working for most folks. DirecTV says that Tivo is working on the problem using information that some of you have provided.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#69 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,852 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 May 2012 - 12:00 AM

You won't find it on any satellite transponders. The v6.4a update is supposed to be downloading via phone line. But it's still not working for most folks. DirecTV says that Tivo is working on the problem using information that some of you have provided.

1) I've seen it and had logs, plus I just did show you system info what you quoted;
2) do you know total size of these slices ?
3) it would take years to DL it via phone line.

Forget the statement "The v6.4a update is supposed to be downloading via phone line" as huge mistake, if you really want to bring something valuable here.

#70 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 25 May 2012 - 05:48 PM

Forget the statement "The v6.4a update is supposed to be downloading via phone line" as huge mistake, if you really want to bring something valuable here


Why? Litzdog is very knowlegable and in line with things that are happening....he usually knows whats going on and has helped several people resolve this issue...
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#71 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,852 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:16 PM

I'm not against his generosity to help; it just unfortunate for him to pass someone's words what have no meaning.

#72 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:40 PM

I'm not against his generosity to help; it just unfortunate for him to pass someone's words what have no meaning.


Software/firmware for any of the legacy DTivos hasn't been streamed via sat in quite some time. So Litzdog is correct.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#73 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:45 PM

Actually Litz has helped several people get this issue resolved...go back and follow his instructions he posted
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#74 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,101 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 25 May 2012 - 07:01 PM

OK, more info. TiVo had apparently said that the update would be downloaded via the phone line, seemed unbelieveable at the time and now they are changing their mind. It will be downloaded the same way it always was, a phone call to set it up and then via the satellite stream. The current message from TiVo (via DirecTV) is that they have found the problem and are cleaning up their database so people should be able to download "soon". Whatever "soon" means in TiVospeak....

#75 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,852 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 May 2012 - 07:56 PM

At 7pm PDT, 101W tp27 doesn't have any TiVo FW PID active.

#76 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,826 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 25 May 2012 - 07:58 PM

I suspect a lot of the confusion regarding how 6.4 is delivered comes from imprecise use of the word "upgrade." The components of the update (a.k.a. "the slices") are delivered via satellite download. However, unless you have access to the internal database of the TiVo software there is no way for you to known they are in place. Once they are, then a phone call is required to invoke a script that installs the new software onto the current alternate boot partition, swaps the boot partitions in the boot configuration, and then schedules a restart (which when the "upgrade" actually happens). It is the second part of this two stage process that has been problematic for many, since the DirecTIVos were failing to negotiate a connection to the TiVo servers. So again, unless you had access to the Linux command prompt on the TiVo, the fact that the software may be on your drive is irrelevant since you couldn't do anything with it.

Bottom line, the software code downloads via satellite, but the install process is executed during a phone call. Which is the "upgrade" - the download or the install? Most users would, I suspect, answer the install. So the "upgrade" does happen during the call, just using software downloaded via satellite.

This is further complicated by some users apparently not getting the satelliete download, for whatever reason, without which a phone call will do no good.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#77 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,852 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 May 2012 - 08:38 PM

the fact that the software may be on your drive is irrelevant since you couldn't do anything with it.

I think you use a word "irrelevant" incorrectly.
Actually in opposite meaning.

It's relevant and pertinent. As a phone connection to activate those script and use the slices.

#78 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,826 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 26 May 2012 - 04:34 PM

In the lead up to the words you quote, I established that I was talking about someone who could not get a successful phone connection and had no Linux command prompt access.

I have been unable to get a phone connection, but I had telnet and FTP access to my TiVo so I was able to launch the upgrade by hand.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#79 OFFLINE   Dhoops

Dhoops

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: May 29, 2012

Posted 06 June 2012 - 04:58 PM

Can anyone verify if the 6.4a slices are currently in the stream? As experienced by others my daily downloads ceased on 5/2 and have resumed on 6/2. However, it had been 1700 days since my R10 had been in the garage and been allowed to make a daily call. Roughly the 2nd week of May I lost my locals, so I brought it in and allowed it to call. Evidently 6.3e was sitting on my drive waiting and that update did happen. Now, I just need 6.4a to get locals back and while I've forced about a hundred daily calls in the last three weeks as yet nothing. Thanks in advance... (and thanks for being here, I've learned most of what I know about what's happened and why reading threads here in the last three weeks)

#80 OFFLINE   Dhoops

Dhoops

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: May 29, 2012

Posted 06 June 2012 - 05:31 PM

As per Litzdog's instruction...

R10
Mfg 100
Series2
IRD Model * * * * * * *R52180
IRD Receiver ID * * * 0003-6033-8834
Software Version * 6.3e-01-2-521
Service # * * * * 521-0001-9104-7B4D
IR Controller Version: TIVO!
Service Map * *22:TIVOPVR SpigotMap

Unsure if you need all the above and I didn't include the serial number but can if desired.
Connected to a Philips 27PT643R37A tv via s-video. No modifications whatsoever.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...