Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Installer here, HR34 and CCK HELP !!!


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   aleicgrant

aleicgrant

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 246 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 05 May 2012 - 06:24 AM

My installer just arrived and we are talking about adding an HR34 to my set up.

I currently have the cck set up via wireless. I have asked him to run an ethernet to my router so I can plug it into the HR34 and have it provide internet to my other boxes.

He is telling me in order to do that, I need a deca that is smaller than the wireless one I have.

I thought the HR34 alone was enough to run on demand and whole home with just the ethernet and coax

HELP HELP

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,264 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 May 2012 - 08:02 AM

Sorry no one responded to your post until now. And while its probably academic by now as the tech. has likely left.

FWIW, the HR34 can, but many if not most techs. are not aware of this fact that it can act as a DECA crossover bridge from coax to ethernet and are instructed to always use a dedicated CCK.

If he persist then you will have to just let him set it up the way he thinks is correct and then run the ethernet cabling yourself later.

And his claim about the HR34 needing a separate small DECA to do this is ridiculous.

#3 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,987 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 May 2012 - 08:09 AM

My installer just arrived and ... I have asked him to run an ethernet to my router.

I doubt installers have ethernet cables.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   aleicgrant

aleicgrant

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 246 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 05 May 2012 - 09:25 AM

I doubt installers have ethernet cables.


I have cat 6. He is gone and pulled the cat 6 for me..I am going to try a vod with wireless then wired and see if there is a major difference. One less power draw and connection to me is most ideal but others are stating the direct connect to the 34 causes freezing and stuttering

#5 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,987 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 May 2012 - 10:02 AM

I have cat 6. He is gone and pulled the cat 6 for me..I am going to try a vod with wireless then wired and see if there is a major difference. One less power draw and connection to me is most ideal but others are stating the direct connect to the 34 causes freezing and stuttering

All good tests to run.
It would be good to get another data point about the "odd" postings about the 34 and VOD.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   jburns

jburns

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: May 11, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 03:16 PM

Sorry no one responded to your post until now. And while its probably academic by now as the tech. has likely left.

FWIW, the HR34 can, but many if not most techs. are not aware of this fact that it can act as a DECA crossover bridge from coax to ethernet and are instructed to always use a dedicated CCK.

If he persist then you will have to just let him set it up the way he thinks is correct and then run the ethernet cabling yourself later.

And his claim about the HR34 needing a separate small DECA to do this is ridiculous.


I just got mine installed today and the installer insisted on installing a CCK even though I had an ethernet cable ready to plug in to the Hr34. He plugged the cable into the CCK and then connected to the HR34 with coaxial. Things seem to be working as I am watching a VOD as I type this and it has been perfect for the first 50 min. I'll probably run into something else because I definitely remember reading something a day or two ago about the way mine is set up causing some problems. I didn't make big deal over it because he was leaving me something I might not need rather than the reverse.

On the bright side I got the HR34 and three H25s so no old equipment here. The HR34 downloaded the new HD interface in just a few minutes and the guide seems to be already fully populated including all the VOD channels. tickled to death so far with picture quality and speed of the HR34.

#7 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,987 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 May 2012 - 03:47 PM

I just got mine installed today and the installer insisted on installing a CCK even though I had an ethernet cable ready to plug in to the Hr34.

They don't get fully paid without installing one. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 11 May 2012 - 03:56 PM

The system as it stands now is based to run off of a CCK ....that being said the 34 will introduce the internet into the swm system, but will be unsupported. The BB Deca if you can get it installed is the best way to go...keep in mind future use
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#9 OFFLINE   jburns

jburns

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: May 11, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 05:25 PM

They don't get fully paid without installing one. ;)


Well I do want him to get paid since he was a nice guy and did a thorough professional job. Continued to fine tune the dish even after he got the pass code. All sats are between 96-98. I'm hoping that will give me a bit more resistance to rain fade.

#10 OFFLINE   liltalkm

liltalkm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2007

Posted 15 May 2012 - 11:46 AM

The system as it stands now is based to run off of a CCK ....that being said the 34 will introduce the internet into the swm system, but will be unsupported. The BB Deca if you can get it installed is the best way to go...keep in mind future use


Will it be supported in the future?

I am installing my HR34 tonight after work and am thinking that it may be nice to take the BB Deca out of the mix if it is no longer needed.

#11 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,987 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 May 2012 - 12:17 PM

Will it be supported in the future?

I am installing my HR34 tonight after work and am thinking that it may be nice to take the BB Deca out of the mix if it is no longer needed.

I've had this question asked directly to DirecTV and the current answer is: It's supported now.
Installers get paid more for installing a CCK, so they will continue to install them.
A.K.A VOS

#12 OFFLINE   liltalkm

liltalkm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2007

Posted 15 May 2012 - 12:22 PM

I've had this question asked directly to DirecTV and the current answer is: It's supported now.
Installers get paid more for installing a CCK, so they will continue to install them.


Thanks VOS!

#13 OFFLINE   T-Mac

T-Mac

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2012

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:35 AM

I'm one of the HR34 owners who has experienced problems with VOD. The first few movies I downloaded were problem-free (using a wired cck connected to a netgear powerline hub).

Now, no matter if I connect my netgear powerline directly to the 34 or the cck, I get periods during playback where the movie freezes for several seconds then skips ahead. I have recently added an ooma voip to my network. Could that be corrupting the VOD downloads?

I wish I had a wireless cck to test, but at this point VOD is useless for me.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...