Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Hawaii D-TV Thread


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 10 May 2012 - 06:16 AM

Service call time.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Mauiguy

Mauiguy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 10 May 2012 - 09:54 AM

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
9-16 73 80 85 77 75 77 73 79
17-24 74 75 76 75 79 77 79 82


"Tuner 2" had the exact same readings.

I assume from the above that this is not a coax problem- I am not seeing the 99 sat at all and weakly seeing the 103.

GBR![/QUOTE]

FYI, my readings on 103 (ca) and (cb) are comparable to yours. Should not be the problem. BUt your 99 (s) and © are not good.

On my 99(s) only tps 17 and 18 are showing quality and they are both at 100.

On 99 © TPs 1-8 and 9-14 I show 76 to 86.

On 101 I get the same readings as you within one point or so.

I could speculate what the problem is but do not want to confuse the issue. I'll let the techs take the shot at that.

I only offer this information so that you have strength numbers from Hawaii to compare....

You need to get a technician who knows what he is doing.

#28 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,445 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 10 May 2012 - 09:58 AM

Service call time.


Or if you wish to troubleshoot it yourself, we'll need a more detailed description of your setup. Particularly what type of "new LNB" that installer used, lines from it, and type of multiswitch used.

#29 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,054 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 May 2012 - 10:00 AM

Or if you wish to troubleshoot it yourself, we'll need a more detailed description of your setup. Particularly what type of "new LNB" that installer used, lines from it, and type of multiswitch used.

It does sort of look like a defective LNB.
A.K.A VOS

#30 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,445 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 10 May 2012 - 11:03 AM

It does sort of look like a defective LNB.


I'm trying to figure out why the installer swapped the original LNB to begin with, and to what?

Is it possible to mistakenly place a regular Slimline LNB on the support arm of the Al/HI 99,101,103 dish?

That would make the focal points incorrect thus throwing off the Ka signals.

EDIT: Well come to think of it, why would an installer in Hawaii be carrying regular Slimline LNBs, so perhaps not ...

#31 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 10 May 2012 - 11:07 AM

The multi-switch would normally be under the house (where the satellite cables enter and then are split to the various rooms) or would be up near the satellite dish?

I can't remember if he changed out the giant splitter under the house. Part of me thinks that he did not since it was working fine when we had the two satellite dishes.

I can't believe that this would have anything to do with this but does the "run" have anything to do with it? Our satellites are on the opposite side of the house from where the coax enters and aforementioned splitter are. There is easily 60-70 yards of run and also 3 floors drop between the two.

Thanks again for all the help.

GBR!

#32 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,445 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 10 May 2012 - 11:31 AM

The multi-switch would normally be under the house (where the satellite cables enter and then are split to the various rooms) or would be up near the satellite dish?


Assuming you have a SWiM mutiswitch, it's weatherproof and can be located at either position. But since you mention "satellite cables"entering the house, the switch must be under it then.

... I can't believe that this would have anything to do with this but does the "run" have anything to do with it? Our satellites are on the opposite side of the house from where the coax enters and aforementioned splitter are. There is easily 60-70 yards of run and also 3 floors drop between the two.

Thanks again for all the help.

GBR!


Doubt it, since you have levels, though not great, on 103ca which uses a higher frequency band that 99c of which you have zero.

The LNB seems to be the likely culprit at this point. You need to take a close look at it.

#33 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,054 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 May 2012 - 11:51 AM

The multi-switch would normally be under the house (where the satellite cables enter and then are split to the various rooms) or would be up near the satellite dish?

I can't remember if he changed out the giant splitter under the house. Part of me thinks that he did not since it was working fine when we had the two satellite dishes.

GBR!

"We're thinking" you have a SWM8 which looks like this:

Posted Image
A.K.A VOS

#34 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:19 AM

Ok here we go: going to post a buncha pictures of the set-up as it is right now.

First is the splitter under the house. You can imagine my suprise when this was what I found and the SWM thing that is still under there was not hooked up at all.

The white line is coming down from the satellite dish.

Attached Thumbnails

  • P5100446.JPG

Edited by USDSM Huskerlover, 11 May 2012 - 01:33 AM.


#35 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:41 AM

Sorry about the fingernails- I am not entirely sure how to post in the larger embedded size.

Here is the dish general set up on the roof.

Attached Thumbnails

  • P5100447.JPG


#36 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:45 AM

Here is the SWM8- it appears to be the same or similar to the one that was posted above.

Zinwell 8 Channel Single Wire Multi-switch. SWM8R2-03

Attached Thumbnails

  • P5100452.JPG


#37 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:54 AM

Here is the LNB

Attached Thumbnails

  • P5100449.JPG
  • P5100451.JPG


#38 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:57 AM

Here is what the horizon looks like. The rock walls are obviously level. The hill and the trees are the SE direction where we need to point.

Attached Thumbnails

  • P5100453.JPG


#39 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 02:02 AM

Last but not least the power source. This is on the white line that comes out of the 4 way splitter that was in the first picture.

Attached Thumbnails

  • P5100456.JPG


#40 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 May 2012 - 02:04 AM

Trace your cables if you can. We can see that there's 4 going from the LNB to the SWM. That's good. Where does the cable go that leaves the SWM? Does it go into a splitter? How many and what type of receivers are you running? You running more than 8 tuners?
Another thing you can try-go into the receivers' menu and reset the satellite configuration. Hit Menu on the remote, go the Settings and Help, Settings, Sat/Satellite, Repeat Satellite Setup. Make sure SL3 99/101/103 is selected, and NOT 119/110. Also, make sure SWM is selected for multiswitch. After it goes through all the checking any everything, do a menu reset, and let it start back up. See if that clears it up.

#41 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,331 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 11 May 2012 - 02:19 AM

Yuck! That all looks so used. My moneys on line of site, pick up one of these apps for your smart phone and start there.



http://www.dishpointer.com/
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#42 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,054 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 May 2012 - 06:37 AM

My moneys on line of site, pick up one of these apps for your smart phone and start there.

http://www.dishpointer.com/


I got the same feeling looking at this:

HALOS.jpg

The LNB on the left is for 103, which has an EL of 26.9°
The center is for 101, with an EL of 25.1°
The one on the right is for 99, with an EL of 23.4°, but is also pointing where the ridge is the highest.

Edited by veryoldschool, 11 May 2012 - 07:04 AM.

A.K.A VOS

#43 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,445 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 11 May 2012 - 09:04 AM

I got the same feeling looking at this:

[ATTACH]29128[/ATTACH]

The LNB on the left is for 103, which has an EL of 26.9°
The center is for 101, with an EL of 25.1°
The one on the right is for 99, with an EL of 23.4°, but is also pointing where the ridge is the highest.


Given that it is an offset dish though, with a typical bounce angle of between 22-25 degrees to the dish face. Wouldn't the dish actually be receiving at some point higher and to the left (or diagonally due to high tilt angle) of what it appears to be pointed to in the photo?

EDIT: Never mind, I just noticed your red line in the photo appears to be accounting for the offset angle.

#44 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,054 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 May 2012 - 09:07 AM

Given that it is an offset dish though, with a typical bounce angle of between 22-25 degrees to the dish face. Wouldn't the dish actually be receiving at some point higher and to the left (or diagonally due to high tilt angle) of what it appears to be pointed to in the photo?

It was merely a guess on my part with that red line to where the arc of the SATs actually is, but even if it's off by a few degrees, that ridge line still looks to be the problem with the 99 LOS.
A.K.A VOS

#45 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,445 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 11 May 2012 - 09:15 AM

It was merely a guess on my part with that red line to where the arc of the SATs actually is, but even if it's off by a few degrees, that ridge line still looks to be the problem with the 99 LOS.


Correct, just noticed your inclusion of the red line and tried to edit my original post. Still wiping the sleep from my eyes here. :)

Better go for the coffee ... :coffee

#46 OFFLINE   dod1450

dod1450

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2009

Posted 11 May 2012 - 09:19 AM

No Hablar Espanol :)



Kekkuo Desu

#47 OFFLINE   Mauiguy

Mauiguy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 11 May 2012 - 09:59 AM

Pictures are a funny thing. Even funnier is when I go out into the back yard to loook at my dish as a result of those pictures. If I took a photo and posted it here, I am sure most folks would think I could not see the 99 bird. I even questioned the original installer because I am familiar with big dish operations and installations and did not think we could get LOS on it. from the location of the dish and mount. The bottom line is that it works.

There has been much speculation here about what is wrong with the OP's setup. The only way he is going to find out is to get a "decent qualified" installer to check the lines, LNB, dish alignment etc..

There is no substitute for a technician on the scene to correct the problem or to give him the death certificate for his set up. So I again urge the OP to call Directv and get one out there.... maybe even a supervisor????

Edited by Mauiguy, 11 May 2012 - 10:01 AM.
fix errors


#48 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,054 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 May 2012 - 10:04 AM

Pictures are a funny thing. Even funnier is when I go out into the back yard to loook at my dish as a result of those pictures. If I took a photo and posted it here, I am sure most folks would think I could not see the 99 bird. I even questioned the original installer because I am familiar with big dish operations and installations and did not think we could get LOS on it. from the location of the dish and mount. The bottom line is that it works.

There has been much speculation here about what is wrong with the OP's setup. The only way he is going to find out is to get a "decent qualified" installer to check the lines, LNB, dish alignment etc..

There is no substitute for a technician on the scene to correct the problem or to give him the death certificate for his set up. So I again urge the OP to call Directv and get one out there.... maybe even a supervisor????

Would guess the "last guy" had a meter that would only read the Ku SAT.
A.K.A VOS

#49 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,445 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 11 May 2012 - 10:46 AM

Particularly telling is that his spotbeam locals for HI. on 99(s) Tp. 17 and 18 which are normally very hot signals at 100 are 0.

The OP is getting nothing at all from DIRECTV-11.

#50 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 11:34 AM

I guess I am a bit confused as to where to go from here.

Can they off set the dish in the other direction to see if it will pick up the 99? Is there a way to see if he moved the dish back towards the road (and thus directly away from the hill) if that would help pick up the 99 by decreasing the angle off the horizon (without actually moving the dish to avoid more unecessary holes in my roof)?

I had been thinking about trying to mount a dish on a pole in a different part of the yard where the hill is not so high. I wouldn't be able to do a 1.2 m dish though- is there a way I could hook something up just to try to get at that 99?

Thanks again for all the help. I think that I am stuck as I sort of surmised.

GBR!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...