Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Hawaii D-TV Thread


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 May 2012 - 11:51 AM

I guess I am a bit confused as to where to go from here.

Can they off set the dish in the other direction to see if it will pick up the 99? Is there a way to see if he moved the dish back towards the road (and thus directly away from the hill) if that would help pick up the 99 by decreasing the angle off the horizon (without actually moving the dish to avoid more unecessary holes in my roof)?

I had been thinking about trying to mount a dish on a pole in a different part of the yard where the hill is not so high. I wouldn't be able to do a 1.2 m dish though- is there a way I could hook something up just to try to get at that 99?

Thanks again for all the help. I think that I am stuck as I sort of surmised.

GBR!

The location of the dish needs to be moved it looks like.
Part of the tools an installer should have is a tool to check the LOS "BEFORE" installing a dish.
Moving it higher may get you the LOS you need, but there isn't any "trick" tweaking the dish, other than moving it. If those trees/bushes on the hill are in line, then you should plan to have even more clearance as they'll grow.
A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 11 May 2012 - 12:16 PM

The guy that wanted to charge me $4-500 checked and said I had enough clearance to move the dish to that side of the house. The guy who actually did move the dish used some sort of device and said I had 2-3 degrees of clearance and that it should be ok. Unfortunately it appears that neither was right, in regards to the 99.

GBR!

#53 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 11 May 2012 - 12:17 PM

If you can get ahold of a camera tripod and a paper towel cardboard tube, just tape the tube on the tripod, stick an inclinometer on the tube and adjust it to the elevation of the 99 sat, and point it in the correct direction, then look through the tube. If you see anything except sky, move along to another location.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#54 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:11 PM

The guy that wanted to charge me $4-500 checked and said I had enough clearance to move the dish to that side of the house. The guy who actually did move the dish used some sort of device and said I had 2-3 degrees of clearance and that it should be ok. Unfortunately it appears that neither was right, in regards to the 99.

GBR!

It sounds like they were sighting off the 101, and not the 99, but even then 2-3 degrees isn't the "normal" clearance.

If you have an android phone: http://www.dishpoint...d-app-released/
Or iPhone: http://itunes.apple....=8&ign-mpt=uo=4

http://www.youtube.c...v=5AFtcgYRcu4#!
A.K.A VOS

#55 OFFLINE   Mauiguy

Mauiguy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 13 May 2012 - 09:36 AM

The guy that wanted to charge me $4-500 checked and said I had enough clearance to move the dish to that side of the house. The guy who actually did move the dish used some sort of device and said I had 2-3 degrees of clearance and that it should be ok. Unfortunately it appears that neither was right, in regards to the 99.

GBR!


In the original post you mentioned that the "Directv guy" told you that you have about two to three degrees and "that should be" enough.

"Should be" not the answer to accept from Directv. When he points the dish he is supposed to use the correct meter in order to verify the signal before he leaves the job. The correct meter for the job will tell him if the signals are of sufficient strength.

You stated that you went with the Directv guy as he was under the protection plan. If you call Directv and complain about the service it seems to me that at least you will get someone to come out and explain why you cannot receive the signal.

Many of us are speculating as to why you are not getting anything from the 99 sat. It could be a bad LNB, it could be a bad wiring job, or an alignment problem. And it could be a Line of sight problem.

I do not believe that you will be able to resolve the issue unless you can personally verify each area as being correct. I would therefore recommend again that you call Directv and get someone out there who is qualified.

#56 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 May 2012 - 10:27 AM

Many of us are speculating as to why you are not getting anything from the 99 sat. It could be a bad LNB, it could be a bad wiring job, or an alignment problem. And it could be a Line of sight problem.

While we are "speculating", there are a few valid pointers:

  • Yes, a bad LNB could be the cause.
  • Wiring looks not to be the case "as much", since it would need to be a problem with both the 13 & 18 volt coax, "and" the same coax is working for the 101 SAT.
  • Alignment seems unlikely too, because 101 & 103 are getting signals.
  • While it's not "for sure" the LOS is the problem, looking at the photo posted, does suggest it is the most likely cause.

A.K.A VOS

#57 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 14 May 2012 - 02:37 AM

Why dont u just call directv and have someone come out and resolve the issue instead of driving yourself nuts trying to figure out what is wrong. That's what they are there for.

#58 OFFLINE   Mauiguy

Mauiguy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 14 May 2012 - 09:30 AM

While we are "speculating", there are a few valid pointers:


[*]While it's not "for sure" the LOS is the problem, looking at the photo posted, does suggest it is the most likely cause.
[/LIST]


I believe I said that the Line of sight was a possibility.

So the OP has a choice. He can look at a picture and decide that the line on it tells him that there is no way he can get the signal from that position, or he can call Directv, which has been the point of my posts....

#59 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 May 2012 - 09:42 AM

I believe I said that the Line of sight was a possibility.

So the OP has a choice. He can look at a picture and decide that the line on it tells him that there is no way he can get the signal from that position, or he can call Directv, which has been the point of my posts....

I think we're all trying to help, and have offered a few options to look into.
It seems like one or more installers haven't been as helpful as they could have been, so I can understand why he may have been looking for help here.
A.K.A VOS

#60 OFFLINE   Mauiguy

Mauiguy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 14 May 2012 - 10:40 AM

Ok.

#61 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 14 May 2012 - 02:01 PM

Pretty much I knew this writing was on the wall before I started looking into this whole thing. The installer pretty much told me as much when he finished moving the dish- he would have to move the dish back to the spot on the peak of the roof to get back what I had. He replaced the LNB (that was working fine when I had the two dishes). He rewired everything. He replaced the SWM.

He was quite up front that if we wanted the dish in the new location that the reception would be the way that it was.

I was hoping that there may have been something he missed or that there would be something else that could be done to fix this. I am still half thinking about trekking up that hill to see how hard it would be to put a dish on the top of it. That area is called "preserve land" and the area behind our house is not ours after the lot line but we are allowed to change the land as long as we don't put anything permanent on it.

Obviously it would be nice if DTV would change the signals on their satellites so that the lesser watched channels would be ones that would be carried on a satellite that would be harder to get a site line on.

Again, thanks for all the input and insite on helping with this issue.

GBR!

#62 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 14 May 2012 - 02:28 PM

They make a non-penetrating mount which you sit on level ground, weigh down with concrete blocks. It has a mounting mast. You level it, slap blocks on it, put the dish on it, and run coax to your house. Should be legal under your "change with nothing permanent" rules.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#63 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,404 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 14 May 2012 - 03:14 PM

That seems a tad bit extreme. A moron with a smart phone could determine whether its a palm frond or the ridge line thats blocking the signal. It might just require some minor pruning.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#64 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 05 June 2012 - 11:41 AM

The solar panels are installed and it appears that I could move the dish back to the highest point on the roof but not quite to where the dish was previously- but closer to the side of the house more towards the slope of the hill that is lower.

Coupla questions then:

Will I be able to find an installer that would be willing to replace that dish above "habitable" area instead of the overhang- I realize that some may not be willing to do it "offiicially"?

The app for the android phone that was linked earlier in this thread- does it show the path of the 99 satellite that I am missing- aka would I be able to go up there with that app and figure out if it would be worth putting more holes in my roof without having to do trial and error?

Lastly nothing to do with this thread but reading the thread about the mentions of DTV and Dish merging: what is a hopper/harper and a joey?

Thanks!

GBR!

#65 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 June 2012 - 11:47 AM

The phone app should give you a good idea, which the video should show you.
A.K.A VOS

#66 OFFLINE   USDSM Huskerlover

USDSM Huskerlover

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2012

Posted 04 July 2012 - 02:08 PM

We are still waiting for the solar guys to finish and the city inspection to happen. We also can't monitor our system on the internet yet. I have been waiting for these things until I was going to start to see if I could move the dish back to the apex of the roof nearer to where the hill behind our house (see the pics earlier in the thread) to see if I could get those channels back.

Lo and behold I was screwing around this morning and we have a bunch of channels back. Foxnews HD, ESPN HD, TBS HD, and we even got the PBS and CBS local channels back. I have done nothing to make this happen.

Anyone have any ideas why I am all of a sudden getting a view on the 99 now and one transponder on the 99s that we weren't getting before, without having done anything? We haven't had a fire on the hill or anything that would lower the tree line.

GBR!

Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)

1-8 92 92 91 0 90 98 88 99
9-16 89 93 91 0 92 99 91 99
17-24 91 0 92 0 92 99 95 99
25-32 93 0 92 0 95 99 92 100

Satellite transponders 14 total at 99º©
1-8 0 23 22 27 22 26 26 27
9-16 24 29 27 23 24 40 NA NA

Satellite transponders 16 total at 99º(s)
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 0 0
17-24 0 28 0 0 0 0 0 0

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 0 0
17-24 100 100 0 0 0 0 0 0

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
9-16 73 80 85 77 75 77 73 79
17-24 74 75 76 75 79 77 79 82

Satellite transponders 14 total at 103º(cb)
[National HD channels beamed from D10 satellite]
1-8 79 77 74 79 76 76 76 74
9-16 77 73 79 77 76 91 NA NA
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (9 total at SWM)
[You'll only see this if you have a Single Wire Multiswitch (SWM) dish]
1-8 99 99 0 92 99 0 91 92
9-16 92 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

#67 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 July 2012 - 02:58 PM

Lo and behold I was screwing around this morning and we have a bunch of channels back.
Anyone have any ideas why I am all of a sudden getting a view on the 99 now and one transponder on the 99s that we weren't getting before, without having done anything? We haven't had a fire on the hill or anything that would lower the tree line.

Satellite transponders 14 total at 99º©
1-8 0 23 22 27 22 26 26 27
9-16 24 29 27 23 24 40 NA NA

Satellite transponders 16 total at 99º(s)
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 0 0
17-24 0 28 0 0 0 0 0 0

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca))
[National HD channels beamed from D12 satellite]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
9-16 73 80 85 77 75 77 73 79
17-24 74 75 76 75 79 77 79 82

Those 99 levels SUCK!
They're within a "I can get" range, but I'd bet you're looking through the bushes on the hill and they've dried out a bit, since water is the big attenuator of SAT signals.
A.K.A VOS

#68 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,404 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 04 July 2012 - 04:23 PM

Like VOS said, if it hasn't rained in a while...

Which also means that your likely right at the top of the shrubbery. A little diligent pruning might resolve your issue.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#69 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,102 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 05 July 2012 - 12:17 PM

You could also be just grazing the hill with the LOS to 99, and the satellites do wander a few fractions of a degree. The satellite might have moved enough to get a weak signal...in a day or two, possibly a week, it will likely go back to zero.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA





Protected By... spam firewall...And...