Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Nomad Software: Spring 2012 Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
257 replies to this topic

#226 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,338 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 13 November 2012 - 12:56 PM

Got the update and now my nomads broken.

Everyone with nomad is temporarily having a usage issue...as it appears updates are also being made on the DirecTV nomad server end. I'm sure we'll get more info when it becomes available.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#227 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 410 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 16 November 2012 - 12:56 AM

iPhone 5 app?

#228 OFFLINE   R8ders2K

R8ders2K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 465 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2006

Posted 10 December 2012 - 04:52 PM

iPhone 5 app?


The current app works on my iPhone 5. Have you tried deleting the one already installed on your iPhone and reinstall from the App Store...?

And speaking of new versions, anyone heard anything about nomad 2? As I was talking with the nomad tech support and tech mentioned it. V2 is supposed to do streaming to devices, similar to Slingbox...(?)

That would nice. I could retire my Sony LocationFree setup.

Click this link for specifics on my setup. SWM 16 installed.

Setup Apple AirPort Extreme #1 for DIRECTV Network Services.

Setup Apple AirPort Extreme #2 for static IP addresses on your home network.

 

 

 

 

 

 


#229 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,117 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 11 December 2012 - 01:43 PM

The current app works on my iPhone 5. Have you tried deleting the one already installed on your iPhone and reinstall from the App Store...?

And speaking of new versions, anyone heard anything about nomad 2? As I was talking with the nomad tech support and tech mentioned it. V2 is supposed to do streaming to devices, similar to Slingbox...(?)

That would nice. I could retire my Sony LocationFree setup.


I believe he means update the Nomad app to take advantage of the bigger 16:9 screen on the iPhone 5. The Nomad app is still designed for the older iPhone screen size/shape. I agree with him and hope that DirecTV does it soon. But looking at how long we have gone without an Ipad app, I'm not going to be holding my breath for this to happen anytime soon.

As far as the Nomad 2 goes, I don't think I'd be listening to anything tech support/CSRs say over the phone. I just don't really see the need to be able to stream from your home, when they plan to have everything (or at least as much as they can) available for streaming On Demand through DirecTV Everywhere.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#230 OFFLINE   Lowpro

Lowpro

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2009

Posted 11 December 2012 - 07:12 PM

I believe he means update the Nomad app to take advantage of the bigger 16:9 screen on the iPhone 5. The Nomad app is still designed for the older iPhone screen size/shape. I agree with him and hope that DirecTV does it soon. But looking at how long we have gone without an Ipad app, I'm not going to be holding my breath for this to happen anytime soon.

As far as the Nomad 2 goes, I don't think I'd be listening to anything tech support/CSRs say over the phone. I just don't really see the need to be able to stream from your home, when they plan to have everything (or at least as much as they can) available for streaming On Demand through DirecTV Everywhere.

The only Internet access available to me at home is Verizon mobile broadband. The data packages offered are very cost prohibitive. As a result, there is no downloading of large files or streaming of video content from the web to speak of in my home. This makes the DirecTV Everywhere product a useless one for my family. Even so, we're not the least bit interested in watching live content anyway which includes commercials, much less streaming that live content from the Internet. Would be awesome if the Nomad or DirecTV app one day supported streaming local content from our DVR's to our mobile devices across our local network. That would be functionality we'd welcome with open arms and use and abuse daily.

Edited by Lowpro, 11 December 2012 - 07:24 PM.


#231 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,823 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 11 December 2012 - 08:23 PM

I believe he means update the Nomad app to take advantage of the bigger 16:9 screen on the iPhone 5. The Nomad app is still designed for the older iPhone screen size/shape. I agree with him and hope that DirecTV does it soon. But looking at how long we have gone without an Ipad app, I'm not going to be holding my breath for this to happen anytime soon.

As far as the Nomad 2 goes, I don't think I'd be listening to anything tech support/CSRs say over the phone. I just don't really see the need to be able to stream from your home, when they plan to have everything (or at least as much as they can) available for streaming On Demand through DirecTV Everywhere.


I find it far more important to be able to stream the things I have recorded on my DVR than on demand stuff.

#232 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,093 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 15 December 2012 - 03:54 PM

I agree with Ink. . . while I can always find something to watch from On Demand, HBO/go or Showtime anywhere, what's recorded on my DVRs is what I'd rather watch.

And there's lots not covered by On Demand . . . locals / major networks, including Sunday's NFL.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#233 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 15 December 2012 - 10:29 PM

I got the Nomad for sports, but I now have two Nets games "waiting to prepare." Can you not use this thing with sports? I've had no problem with shows, but I don't care about that, I want to watch hockey (whenever it returns) and basketball.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#234 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,093 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 16 December 2012 - 08:58 AM

Someone else will have to confirm, but since nomad won't transcode OTA or VOD, it's entirely possible that regional sports are flagged.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#235 OFFLINE   JAYPB

JAYPB

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: May 08, 2002

Posted 17 December 2012 - 08:50 AM

I got the Nomad for sports, but I now have two Nets games "waiting to prepare." Can you not use this thing with sports? I've had no problem with shows, but I don't care about that, I want to watch hockey (whenever it returns) and basketball.


Check the start/finish of your actual recording on your DVR---see if any of the "blue box" on screen graphics pop up in the bottom right hand corner of the screen--the ones that either say "721" or "not available in your area". What happens to me (think I mentioned it earlier in this thread) is that a game/pre-game/post-game/coches show will end--and then the DVR catches the start of the NEXT (or previous) show---which is "blacked out" for me (since I'm watching on an OOM regional sports network) and the nomad won't start/finish transcoding because it seems to "see" that flag of "721/out of market/blacked out" and doesn't complete/start the process.

Sounds convoluted and drawn out/verbose...but that's what I've noticed. Does it make sense?
D* sub
1 HR20/3 HR21's/1 HR22/1 AM21/3 R15's /5LNB/3LNB/single LNB dishes...and a large utility bill!!!

#236 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 19 December 2012 - 04:52 PM

Check the start/finish of your actual recording on your DVR---see if any of the "blue box" on screen graphics pop up in the bottom right hand corner of the screen--the ones that either say "721" or "not available in your area". What happens to me (think I mentioned it earlier in this thread) is that a game/pre-game/post-game/coches show will end--and then the DVR catches the start of the NEXT (or previous) show---which is "blacked out" for me (since I'm watching on an OOM regional sports network) and the nomad won't start/finish transcoding because it seems to "see" that flag of "721/out of market/blacked out" and doesn't complete/start the process.

Sounds convoluted and drawn out/verbose...but that's what I've noticed. Does it make sense?


Actually, that makes perfect sense. Unfortunately, I deleted the two games after watching them on the TV. I didn't see any of those issues, but then as soon as the games ended, I hit stop and then delete. I won't get a chance to test your theory any time soon. I only have NBA League Pass mobile (nice deal through Sprint), so I had recorded the games during the NBALP free trial. I recorded them off YES, but I probably should have recorded them off of the NBALP channels in the 700s. That would probably have stopped the flag from triggering (I was trying to avoid a 6 hour delay in encoding, since that blocks out 6 hours for recording the game). I am an NHLCI subscriber, but I can't test that until the NHL and NHLPA get their act together.

I'll remember to test this out when hockey is back, but in the meantime, if there is anyone else who has NBALP and a Nomad who can test this, I would appreciate the information.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#237 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,117 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 20 December 2012 - 08:45 AM

I agree with Ink. . . while I can always find something to watch from On Demand, HBO/go or Showtime anywhere, what's recorded on my DVRs is what I'd rather watch.

And there's lots not covered by On Demand . . . locals / major networks, including Sunday's NFL.


I agree right now On Demand is somewhat limited. But I think DirecTV hopes to severely cut down on those limits. I think they want to have pretty much every channel set up like HBO/Max Go, where almost every one of their shows, from every season are available all the time. I think they would also like to eventually have every station available to watch live inside and outside of your home like you currently can with Aud, AXS, Sony, Shorts, etc.

If/when DirecTV is able to get that, I think the demand to be able to stream from your home DVR, instead of just streaming from DirecTVs servers would be greatly diminished. For those still left wanting it at that time, there is always Slingbox, Monsoon Vulkano, etc.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#238 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,093 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 20 December 2012 - 10:14 AM

If/when DirecTV is able to get that, I think the demand to be able to stream from your home DVR, instead of just streaming from DirecTVs servers would be greatly diminished. For those still left wanting it at that time, there is always Slingbox, Monsoon Vulkano, etc.


And the other part you have to have with those options is a reasonably capable internet connection. While most hotels / motels / resorts have free wi-fi, I've found very few that will support streaming adequately. And there's watching time in airplanes, cars . . .

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#239 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 25 December 2012 - 06:49 PM

Nomad is driving me crazy. It works great for a while, then it starts showing no programs recorded, even though it sees both DVRs. I reboot the nomad and a few shows appear, one or two from each DVR. They never fill in. I reboot again, same thing. Sometimes, after enough reboots, all the programs appear. Then the problem comes back in a week or two.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#240 ONLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,432 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 25 December 2012 - 09:22 PM

Nomad is driving me crazy. It works great for a while, then it starts showing no programs recorded, even though it sees both DVRs. I reboot the nomad and a few shows appear, one or two from each DVR. They never fill in. I reboot again, same thing. Sometimes, after enough reboots, all the programs appear. Then the problem comes back in a week or two.



Can you share some things about your home network? Router, access points, extenders, cck etc?
How is Nomad connected and how are the DVR's connected?

#241 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 25 December 2012 - 10:41 PM

Can you share some things about your home network? Router, access points, extenders, cck etc?
How is Nomad connected and how are the DVR's connected?


HR20 to HR21 via Cat5, HR21 to router via wifi bridge. Nomad to router via Cat5. DirecTv2PC is functioning perfectly. I also have 7 PCs, 4 iPhones, 1 iPad, and 1 iPod on the network with no problems. All are using 802.11 N.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#242 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 25 December 2012 - 10:45 PM

I just deleted something from the HR20 and it spent 10 minutes "refreshing the playlist." When it finished, all the programs showed up in the Nomad. Any ideas how to trigger this in the DVR if it happens again?

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#243 ONLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,432 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 26 December 2012 - 07:49 AM

HR20 to HR21 via Cat5, HR21 to router via wifi bridge. Nomad to router via Cat5. DirecTv2PC is functioning perfectly. I also have 7 PCs, 4 iPhones, 1 iPad, and 1 iPod on the network with no problems. All are using 802.11 N.


I think I see two areas that are giving you Nomad problems.
First it reads as though your HR21 is utilizing both RJ45 ports. If so that's an issue. Only the HR34 can act as a bridge reliably. That's official from Directv.

Other issue that will contribute to less reliable connections is use of a Wi-Fi bridge. I've read many in this same thread report problems with Wi-Fi bridges. I found in my own home that with a Wi-Fi Extender serving clients (iPads or PCs) with Nomad that if the client is on the wireless router I get full connections. But if the client is on the Wi-Fi Extender I have issues.

In summary, you need to get the HR's on the same wired router or switch. Best is a supported solution such as DECA, if you can manage that.

#244 OFFLINE   JAYPB

JAYPB

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: May 08, 2002

Posted 26 December 2012 - 07:49 AM

Anyone investigate this in the recent past? Just noticed it as an item up on Amazon's "Lightning Deals" last week. I haven't had a chance to check out the reviews yet...just wondering how well it functions/works as a replacement/compliment to the Nomad.....

http://www.amazon.co..._pr_product_top
D* sub
1 HR20/3 HR21's/1 HR22/1 AM21/3 R15's /5LNB/3LNB/single LNB dishes...and a large utility bill!!!

#245 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 410 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 14 January 2013 - 12:09 AM

New firmware 1.4 on my nomad.

#246 OFFLINE   marabunta

marabunta

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2006

Posted 14 January 2013 - 02:07 PM

Updated here also, not sure when. FW now 1.4p38-64337S

#247 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 10:30 AM

I think I see two areas that are giving you Nomad problems.
First it reads as though your HR21 is utilizing both RJ45 ports. If so that's an issue. Only the HR34 can act as a bridge reliably. That's official from Directv.

Other issue that will contribute to less reliable connections is use of a Wi-Fi bridge. I've read many in this same thread report problems with Wi-Fi bridges. I found in my own home that with a Wi-Fi Extender serving clients (iPads or PCs) with Nomad that if the client is on the wireless router I get full connections. But if the client is on the Wi-Fi Extender I have issues.

In summary, you need to get the HR's on the same wired router or switch. Best is a supported solution such as DECA, if you can manage that.


I have a powerline kit arriving from Amazon today. I'll connect the HR20 to the powerline kit, and leave the HR21 on the WiFi access point. Hopefully, this will solve the problems. Thanks.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#248 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:37 PM

I have read here about people having success with the Nomad and NHLCI, which is why I bought the bloody thing, but I am currently 0 for 4 for Islanders games via Nomad and 0 for 3 for Nets games (NBA League Pass free trials). I have tried recording on MSG or YES, and I have tried recording on the NHL/NBA channels in the 700's. Neither have worked. The only difference is that the ones from the RSNs just did "waiting to prepare," whereas the ones from the 700s just keep preparing over and over. It shows 3 hours left, then 4 hours left, then 2 hours left, then 4 hours left, but it never finishes. I've left some for over 48 hours never to finish. This is ridiculous! I've tried several 3 second resets, 30 second resets, and 3 minute resets on the Nomad, no better. I've even connected my HR21 via powerline, in case the problem was WiFi, but no change. I'm on the verge of returning the brick!

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#249 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,126 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:52 PM

Not near my gear right now, but I'm not surprised some sports are x'ed out.
Conversely, can you record other stuff all right?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#250 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 27 January 2013 - 06:07 PM

Not near my gear right now, but I'm not surprised some sports are x'ed out.
Conversely, can you record other stuff all right?


Everything else works fine.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad





Protected By... spam firewall...And...