Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Nomad Software: Spring 2012 Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
257 replies to this topic

#76 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 22 July 2012 - 08:08 PM

It should say "Download Episode", right?


If you are referring to the end, it should be "deleted" episode. I corrected the spelling error.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#77 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 22 July 2012 - 10:36 PM

There needs to be a way to know if an episode has been transcoded or not when viewing via the nomad app. As I am not going to always have episodes downloading to my iPad and taking up space, I will download a few episodes here and there as I want them. Knowing which episodes have already been transcoded makes a huge difference in regards to how much time I need to transfer those episodes.

The nomad app needs a lot of work still in my opinion. C'mon DirecTV, I know you can do better.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#78 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 22 July 2012 - 10:55 PM

There is no way to refresh the list of shows on the DVR tab after something is deleted off of a DVR. In order to get the PlayList in nomad to refresh, I needed to go back to the Home screen and then relaunch the app.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#79 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,117 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 23 July 2012 - 02:04 PM

Wierd. I haven't run into transcoding stopping with the client closed. I typically do that with the PC and IOS clients.


No, I'm not talking about things that are transcoding stopping when the client is closed. I'm talking about new episodes starting to transcode. For example if I close the PC client app on Wednesday and then a bunch of shows get recorded on Thursday and Friday, when I open the app back up on Saturday those programs will not have transcoded because the Nomad unit didn't know it was supposed to. The app will then recognize those new recordings were made and ask you if you want to transcode/transfer them. You click yes, and then it starts transcoding them. If I just leave the PC app open all the time they begin transcoding/transferring right after they are finished recording, so when I sit down on Saturday and want to add them to my iPad they are already ready to go and I just have to download them to my iPad, I don't have to wait for them to transcode.

It seems the Nomad itself doesn't remember what programs it is supposed to transcode, it has to be told to do so by one of the apps, I would like the Nomad itself to be able to be set up to transcode stuff without having an app open telling it to do so.

There needs to be a way to know if an episode has been transcoded or not when viewing via the nomad app. As I am not going to always have episodes downloading to my iPad and taking up space, I will download a few episodes here and there as I want them. Knowing which episodes have already been transcoded makes a huge difference in regards to how much time I need to transfer those episodes.

The nomad app needs a lot of work still in my opinion. C'mon DirecTV, I know you can do better.

- Merg


Actually, I'm pretty sure there is a way to do this, but I can't remember off the top of my head and I'm at work. I think there's an option to show prepared content somewhere. I'll try to remember to look when I get home.

Edited by Beerstalker, 23 July 2012 - 02:10 PM.

Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#80 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 05:21 PM

No, I'm not talking about things that are transcoding stopping when the client is closed. I'm talking about new episodes starting to transcode. For example if I close the PC client app on Wednesday and then a bunch of shows get recorded on Thursday and Friday, when I open the app back up on Saturday those programs will not have transcoded because the Nomad unit didn't know it was supposed to. The app will then recognize those new recordings were made and ask you if you want to transcode/transfer them. You click yes, and then it starts transcoding them. If I just leave the PC app open all the time they begin transcoding/transferring right after they are finished recording, so when I sit down on Saturday and want to add them to my iPad they are already ready to go and I just have to download them to my iPad, I don't have to wait for them to transcode.

It seems the Nomad itself doesn't remember what programs it is supposed to transcode, it has to be told to do so by one of the apps, I would like the Nomad itself to be able to be set up to transcode stuff without having an app open telling it to do so.


I agree with that. I just loaded up the nomad PC client (where I have all my Auto-Downloads set) and it just started the transcoding of Damages from last Wed. My computer was off all week and turned on Saturday. Other shows appeared to transcode without issue when I opened the client on Sunday and saw that Fallen Skies and The Glades were transcoding about 20 minutes after those shows started.

You should be able to interact directly with the nomad and set what shows will automatically transcode without having to link a download to a specific device.

Actually, I'm pretty sure there is a way to do this, but I can't remember off the top of my head and I'm at work. I think there's an option to show prepared content somewhere. I'll try to remember to look when I get home.


If there is, they certainly don't make it easy to find it then. Like I said before, I did see how you can see if something is already downloaded on the device via the DVR tab as the record date/time is replaced with the expiration date.

And to add to the list...

1. On the nomad PC client, the title column needs to be able to be resizeable. Currently, if the title is too long, you need to hover over it to see the full title. I have a 23" widescreen monitor. I have plenty of space and would like to just resize the column so I can see the full title.

2. On the nomad PC client, if an episode is transcoding, it shows that it is preparing and the time left. If you hover your mouse over that episode, the text is replaced with a Cancel button. I'd like the text to still be there. There's no reason why it couldn't be.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#81 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,089 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 05:34 PM

The filter 'Ready to Download' shows content that's already transcoded and not on the client you're running. I've used it many times to replace expired content. If I remember correctly, there use to be a green 'Play' icon next to the transcoded programs in the playlist.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#82 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 07:07 PM

The filter 'Ready to Download' shows content that's already transcoded and not on the client you're running. I've used it many times to replace expired content. If I remember correctly, there use to be a green 'Play' icon next to the transcoded programs in the playlist.


Got it. Never noticed that Filter before. That does help. I think I had only clicked on the Filter button when viewing the iPad list. The Ready For Download filter only appears if you click on the Filter button while viewing the DVR list.

The green 'Play' icon is what appears when viewing the DVR list if a show is already on the device. That does not display for shows that are just transcoded.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#83 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 07:12 PM

And yet another one...

The Ready to Download pop-up window on the nomad PC client is not sorted in any particular way. It is not alphabetical or sorted by recording date and there is no way to tell it how to sort it. It makes it very unreadable when you open up the client and have a list of 20 things that it wants to download to your PC. This is the window that opens up when you launch the nomad PC client and it finds transcoded episodes that are part of your Auto-Downloads.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#84 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,426 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 07:46 PM

And yet another one...

The Ready to Download pop-up window on the nomad PC client is not sorted in any particular way. It is not alphabetical or sorted by recording date and there is no way to tell it how to sort it. It makes it very unreadable when you open up the client and have a list of 20 things that it wants to download to your PC. This is the window that opens up when you launch the nomad PC client and it finds transcoded episodes that are part of your Auto-Downloads.

- Merg


If you run into a time when you have a bunch to download here's your choices
-let them all go. even wireless, a 2hr movie downloads in 10 mins, so they d/l quick
-If theres a bunch, cancel all but one. Then that one goes first. Not too worry about cancelling the rest, just redo the download request and since the preparation is stored in Nomad, the rest aren't really lost. They go right back to the d/l queue.
-In my case, I just select a whole bunch of things I want, go to bed and they are done when I wake up.

#85 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 09:00 PM

If you run into a time when you have a bunch to download here's your choices
-let them all go. even wireless, a 2hr movie downloads in 10 mins, so they d/l quick
-If theres a bunch, cancel all but one. Then that one goes first. Not too worry about cancelling the rest, just redo the download request and since the preparation is stored in Nomad, the rest aren't really lost. They go right back to the d/l queue.
-In my case, I just select a whole bunch of things I want, go to bed and they are done when I wake up.


I do realize that. My point was that the list is pretty unorganized so finding what you want to download is not easy.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#86 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 12:36 AM

The delete program function doesn't seem to work at all on my iPad. I'm using iOS 6 beta 3, so that may have something to do with it, but I suspect that iOS 6 will be out soon - the beta 3 seems almost ready for primetime.

Also, as I have mentioned ad nauseum, the iP* nomad app needs to be a functional standalone app - and be able to tell the Nomad device when to transcode and/or download the next program - without remaining in the foreground and without relying on a PC to always have its Nomad program running to control the Nomad device - it should be usable and unintrusive as a standalone app - no PC required.

#87 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 24 July 2012 - 06:22 AM

The delete program function doesn't seem to work at all on my iPad. I'm using iOS 6 beta 3, so that may have something to do with it, but I suspect that iOS 6 will be out soon - the beta 3 seems almost ready for primetime.

Also, as I have mentioned ad nauseum, the iP* nomad app needs to be a functional standalone app - and be able to tell the Nomad device when to transcode and/or download the next program - without remaining in the foreground and without relying on a PC to always have its Nomad program running to control the Nomad device - it should be usable and unintrusive as a standalone app - no PC required.


If you tell a show to download via the iPad and it starts to transcode, is the transcoding stopping when you close out the app? I thought I tried that and the show transcoded, but it just did not download until I reopened the app a few hours later.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#88 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,089 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 24 July 2012 - 06:57 AM

Transcoding has not stopped for me when I close any client. The requesting client will pop up a 'do you want to download now' list when you re-open.

And those transcodes are available to download to any client.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#89 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 02:10 PM

If you tell a show to download via the iPad and it starts to transcode, is the transcoding stopping when you close out the app? I thought I tried that and the show transcoded, but it just did not download until I reopened the app a few hours later.

- Merg


I'm testing that right now. What does it mean when the "Status" light (the one on the left) is slowly pulsing blue?

#90 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,150 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 24 July 2012 - 02:56 PM

I'm testing that right now. What does it mean when the "Status" light (the one on the left) is slowly pulsing blue?


Slow blink means it's transcoding a program, fast blink means it's transfering a transcoded program to your client device.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#91 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:03 PM

OK, I figured out what the problem is - I had a movie that had transcoded and was ready to download - but I didn't have room because I can't delete anything that is on the iPad (as I said previously, that may have to do with the version of iOS that I'm using).

Each time I opened the iPad app, it showed that that movie was ready for download. Today I selected two episodes of a tv show, the first episode showed up as preparing. I closed the app, waited a couple of hours and then re-opened it.

What it shows now is the second episode preparing, but now it doesn't show the first episode that is ready for download and no longer shows the movie that was ready for download - they don't show up as ready for download unless I go back to the DVR tab and find them manually.

So, in essence, if you pick one episode or movie to transcode and download, it will show up as ready to download in the download tab after transcoding finishes, but if you select another item to transcode and download, the iP* app forgets about the first program that has finished transcoding and is ready to download - same thing happens if you pick two items to transcode - it will only display the last item you put in the queue once the first item finishes transcoding, and you have to go back to the DVR tab to select the item to download.

But it did seem to keep the queue on the Nomad transcode device itself, I didn't have to keep the app open (except to download).

And now, since I cannot delete any downloaded programs off of the iPad, it's full and I'll have to delete the Nomad app, wait 30 days and then re-add the app - or maybe not, I'm not sure if that is enforced or if that only matter if you delete the device from the list on directv.com (which, last I checked was not possible).

Edited by Fraaaak, 24 July 2012 - 04:09 PM.
clarity


#92 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:10 PM

Slow blink means it's transcoding a program, fast blink means it's transfering a transcoded program to your client device.


Then what does the "Activity" light indicate when it flashes?

#93 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:11 PM

OK, I figured out what the problem is - I had a movie that had transcoded and was ready to download - but I didn't have room because I can't delete anything that is on the iPad (as I said previously, that may have to do with the version of iOS that I'm using).

Each time I opened the iPad app, it showed that that movie was ready for download. Today I selected two episodes of a tv show, the first episode showed up as preparing. I closed the app, waited a couple of hours and then re-opened it.

What it shows now is the second episode preparing, but now it doesn't show the first episode that is ready for download and no longer shows the movie that was ready for download - they don't show up as ready for download unless I go back to the DVR tab and find them manually.

So, in essence, if you pick one episode or movie to transcode and download, it will show up as ready to download in the download tab after transcoding finishes, but if you select another item to transcode and download, the iP* app forgets about the first program that has finished transcoding and is ready to download - same thing happens if you pick two items to transcode - it will only display the last item you put in the queue once the first item finishes transcoding, and you have to go back to the DVR tab to select the item to download.

And now, since I cannot delete any downloaded programs off of the iPad, it's full and I'll have to delete the Nomad app, wait 30 days and then re-add the app - or maybe not, I'm not sure if that is enforced or if that only matter if you delete the device from the list on directv.com (which, last I checked was not possible).


While viewing the list of shows on the iPad, click on Filter and then select Ready to Download and see what it shows.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#94 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:17 PM

Wait, it gets weirder: as I was typing this, the bar that says "Downloading 1 of 1" (which is kind of misleading, because it is actually transcoding) with a progress bar and an up arrow on the right to open up that section changed after a bit, and said "One video ready to download" (or some such) and it opened and showed the movie that I was referring to previously.

When hit the "Close" button, it was back to showing "Downloading 1 of 1" (but it's actually transcoding 1 of 1) and now the movie doesn't show up unless I search the DVR tab for it.

#95 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:19 PM

While viewing the list of shows on the iPad, click on Filter and then select Ready to Download and see what it shows.

- Merg


It shows transcoded programs that are ready for download. But that option is on the DVR tab, not the iPad tab.

Edited by Fraaaak, 24 July 2012 - 04:30 PM.


#96 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:22 PM

I've clicked "Send Logs" - not sure to where, but they're sent.

#97 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,089 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:56 PM

I think some of the confusion is semantics. The client apps don't really use the word 'transcoding' - we just know that's Phase 1 of the 'Download' process.

It does show 'Preparing' for xxx client and the 'Ready to Download' filter or the 'Do you want to download these' screens are the indication that these programs are sitting on Nomad ready for download or ready to complete what that client requested.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#98 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 05:31 PM

It is semantics, I agree - but since other screens in app use "Preparing" and "Downloading", that does add to the confusion. Especially when it displays as it does on this remarkably clean iPad (picture attached). Note the downloading and preparing refer to the same item.


As to the "n Video(s) Pending Download" confusion I was having - it seems you only see that message when you start the Nomad app - once you click on that and then close it, you can never get back to that message unless you exit and restart the app.

Also, the problem I'm having with deleting items seems to be a problem with the nomad app handling any of these types of messages (second image attached) - not just the delete messages, but others, like the one shown. You click OK and nothing happens.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0244cropped.jpg
  • IMG_0246.jpg


#99 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,089 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 24 July 2012 - 06:53 PM

I'd say if you're using iOS 6 beta 3, all bets are off.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#100 OFFLINE   Fraaaak

Fraaaak

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:23 PM

I'd say if you're using iOS 6 beta 3, all bets are off.


Agreed. But release is supposedly not too far off: http://www.apple.com/ios/ios6/

Edited by Fraaaak, 24 July 2012 - 07:38 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...