Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Nomad Software: Spring 2012 Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
257 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 410 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 18 September 2012 - 11:56 PM

Not yet. I got a call from a CSR that the update had been delayed until August 31. When that didn't happen I got another call a few days later that the update is now scheduled for October 2.


It's kind of ticking me off. They never told me when there would be an update but that all my issues are "known" and they kept calling me I was telling them I don't have anymore information and that they could just close the case. I have a phantom missing recordings on the nomad and directv ipad apps.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,384 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 19 September 2012 - 04:48 AM

It's kind of ticking me off. They never told me when there would be an update but that all my issues are "known" and they kept calling me I was telling them I don't have anymore information and that they could just close the case. I have a phantom missing recordings on the nomad and DirecTV ipad apps.

I suspect an update will still happen in the near future sometime, and don't assume the CSR's always have the correct and latest information (dates) on these kinds of things.

They communicate what they are told, and things like updates change as they are completed and rolled out. We've seen this happen before on various services.

Hang tight just a little longer...I suspect you'll be rewarded with an improved nomad user experience.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#153 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,384 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 19 September 2012 - 04:53 AM

Is 2 1/2 hours the normal time to transcode a 1/2 hour HD show?

No. A half-hour show takes about 30 minutes to transcode.

trh's response is pretty much on target.

The process to migrate content from nomad to your mobile device(s) is a 2-step process - the first transcodes at a rate of about 1:1. This means an hour show takes about an hour to create the recording file. The second step is much faster - downloading it to the mobile device. I had a 4-hour recording download in about 17.5 minutes (subject to WIFI router speed).

For a quick migration of a single program 1 hour or less to a mobile device...it's quite painless. For moving over a list of programming, it's recommended as an overnight scheduled activity.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#154 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 19 September 2012 - 07:54 AM

trh's response is pretty much on target.

The process to migrate content from nomad to your mobile device(s) is a 2-step process - the first transcodes at a rate of about 1:1. This means an hour show takes about an hour to create the recording file. The second step is much faster - downloading it to the mobile device. I had a 4-hour recording download in about 17.5 minutes (subject to WIFI router speed).

For a quick migration of a single program 1 hour or less to a mobile device...it's quite painless. For moving over a list of programming, it's recommended as an overnight scheduled activity.


And to add to that... If you are transcoding a show from a DVR and then decide to watch a program remotely from that same DVR, the transcoding appears to pause since the DVR can only output one stream at a time. I've seen this happen a few times to me.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#155 OFFLINE   Lowpro

Lowpro

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2009

Posted 23 September 2012 - 09:45 AM

I have a message for DIRECTV. Click here. This is what I want my Nomad to do. Match feature for feature and integrate into the existing DIRECTV iPad/iPhone apps. Thank you. :-)

#156 OFFLINE   Howie

Howie

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 285 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 25 September 2012 - 12:01 PM

Since I went to iOS 6 on my iPad and iPhone, I can't get Nomad to even recognize the devices. It tells me that I am missing some components. Anyone else have this problem? I deleted and reinstalled the app on both, but no love. The devices show up on network scans and such.

#157 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,208 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 September 2012 - 02:35 PM

No problem with IOS 6 on iPhone 4S or 5 or iPad 2 or 3.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#158 OFFLINE   JAYPB

JAYPB

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: May 08, 2002

Posted 25 September 2012 - 03:10 PM

So yesterday AM before I leave for work I check my nomad app on the iphone and see the screen cap below regarding my "...DIRECTV account has been disabled. There is a problem with your directv account".

When I get home I deleted the app (knowing full well I'm going to lose the stuff I had on it waiting to view) and when I reopen it won't open--I believe I was getting messages telling me it couldn't find the nomad--so I kept hitting "Try again"--and it finally loaded up content, checked for updates, etc...

This AM--I check the iphone---and again, I have the message that "Your directv account has been disabled". Awesome

I then check my ipod touch...and my wife's iphone---both are fine, downloading content, operating properly.

I then check my netbook (with Windows XP OS) and lo and behold the 2 screen caps below show up regarding a problem with the directv account--and the system error. I have 5 3 hours baseball games on the netbook and if I have to reinstall the app on there I'm going to be extremely annoyed as I"m not even sure if the games are still on the nomad.

I have 7.5 GB of space left on the nomad according to the "?" on my ipod touch.

WTF?

I tried calling D*'s 800# at 6am before I left for work...and they apparently have an 8-10pm window for phone service. Not sure when those hours went into effect because I know I've been on the phone with them in the wee hours of the AM/PM....

VERY Frustrated right now. VERY......


Well, for me, the above has once again reared it's ugly head!!! On my Iphone 4s, my wife's iphone 4 and my ipod touch. Haven't gotten a chance to check the Acer Netbook yet....but again, I get the message about "Your Directv account has been disabled"....to which I angrily checked to make sure the nomad was accessible and on the wireless network. I even rebooted the nomad and router, turned off all iphods/iphones and then restarted one at a time to see if it "fixed" anything (as one poster either on here or on the directv.com forums said was a "fix"). I then deleted the app on my iphone 4s---and my iphone had the message of being "Unable to add your device (AR/1001)".

So now I can't wait to go home and call D*'s case management team.

Like I said earlier, the nomad is just so damn frustrating. For me, it was about 45 days of *somewhat* "joy"...and then, WHAM, no joy ! :mad:
D* sub
1 HR20/3 HR21's/1 HR22/1 AM21/3 R15's /5LNB/3LNB/single LNB dishes...and a large utility bill!!!

#159 OFFLINE   Lowpro

Lowpro

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2009

Posted 25 September 2012 - 04:20 PM

Well, for me, the above has once again reared it's ugly head!!! On my Iphone 4s, my wife's iphone 4 and my ipod touch. Haven't gotten a chance to check the Acer Netbook yet....but again, I get the message about "Your Directv account has been disabled"....to which I angrily checked to make sure the nomad was accessible and on the wireless network. I even rebooted the nomad and router, turned off all iphods/iphones and then restarted one at a time to see if it "fixed" anything (as one poster either on here or on the directv.com forums said was a "fix"). I then deleted the app on my iphone 4s---and my iphone had the message of being "Unable to add your device (AR/1001)".

So now I can't wait to go home and call D*'s case management team.

Like I said earlier, the nomad is just so damn frustrating. For me, it was about 45 days of *somewhat* "joy"...and then, WHAM, no joy ! :mad:


See here.

#160 OFFLINE   JAYPB

JAYPB

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: May 08, 2002

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:39 AM

See here.


Not sure how I didn't see that thread when I logged in yesterday AM! Suffice to say at 7pm when I got home every device I have was able to access the nomad...but again, we uninstalled and reinstalled the app on each device so I'm not sure if standing pat would've allowed everything to work properly without having to uninstall/reinstall.

Luckily I didn't have any recordings of consequence that I couldn't retranscode/download off the nomad again (i.e. I hadn't deleted them off the HD-DVR in the interim). That wasn't the case the last time this happened.
D* sub
1 HR20/3 HR21's/1 HR22/1 AM21/3 R15's /5LNB/3LNB/single LNB dishes...and a large utility bill!!!

#161 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:15 PM

I don't yet have Nomad, but I'm wondering about what this thing can do. I've got a couple old HR20-700s that have some important recordings. When those receivers go, the recordings will die with them. So, I was wondering if Nomad would allow me to download the recordings I wish to save, then if I'd be able to burn these recordings to a DVD to keep indefinitely.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#162 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,347 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:23 PM

I don't yet have Nomad, but I'm wondering about what this thing can do. I've got a couple old HR20-700s that have some important recordings. When those receivers go, the recordings will die with them. So, I was wondering if Nomad would allow me to download the recordings I wish to save, then if I'd be able to burn these recordings to a DVD to keep indefinitely.


I believe it only stores the recording 30 days.

First Look: http://www.dbstalk.c...656#post2861656
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#163 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:24 PM

Hmmm. So would it let me download to my PC then burn that download to a DVD for indefinite keeping?

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#164 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,347 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:39 PM

Hmmm. So would it let me download to my PC then burn that download to a DVD for indefinite keeping?

No. You'll need a product like this: http://www.hauppauge...data_hdpvr.html
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#165 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 29 September 2012 - 05:12 PM

OK, thanks. So I guess forget Nomad and try that.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#166 OFFLINE   Lowpro

Lowpro

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2009

Posted 30 September 2012 - 06:27 AM

While this native iPhone app will run on the iPad it's just ridiculous how blocky the video is when viewing at 2x. Whether DIRECTV ever delivers on an iPad app or not they need in my opinion to offer a quality option when preparing a program. Seriously. It's not rocket science. I select a program to prepare. I'm prompted to choose the quality I want, "medium" or "high". If a given program takes twice the space so be it. At least give us the option.

Edited by Lowpro, 30 September 2012 - 08:26 AM.


#167 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,397 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:29 PM

While this native iPhone app will run on the iPad it's just ridiculous how blocky the video is when viewing at 2x. Whether DIRECTV ever delivers on an iPad app or not they need in my opinion to offer a quality option when preparing a program. Seriously. It's not rocket science. I select a program to prepare. I'm prompted to choose the quality I want, "medium" or "high". If a given program takes twice the space so be it. At least give us the option.


Interesting, as your the first person I have seen complain about the video quality n an ipad. And you should not even need to Zoom to get the video to fill an iPad. Which iPad do you have?

#168 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,250 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:55 AM

The video on the iPad from nomad is as good or better than any other dvd copies or streaming like HBO-GO, ESPN, CNN, or Netflix.

Perhaps it transcoded a poorly recorded program?

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#169 OFFLINE   Lowpro

Lowpro

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2009

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:28 AM

The video on the iPad from nomad is as good or better than any other dvd copies or streaming like HBO-GO, ESPN, CNN, or Netflix.

Perhaps it transcoded a poorly recorded program?

You've got to be kidding right? I've had the Nomad since launch day and no recording I've downloaded from my Nomad has even come close to approaching the quality you describe when viewed on my iPad at 2x. It's also never been an issue of a poorly recorded program. It's not exactly hard to play the same program still on my DIRECTV HD DVR to confirm if there's an issue with the recording. Also, I stopped watching SD content years ago and that even includes SD content carried on HD channels. That being said, I'm still glad I purchased the Nomad and still recommend it for what it does. I use the Nomad to ingest content on-the-go that otherwise I would only be able to enjoy at home. It does this well, but I've never considered it a quality viewing experience on the iPad at 2x or on the PC for that matter which is even worse. Perhaps I'm the only one, but to me the Nomad was clearly only intended for viewing on the iPhone due to the small size of the screen. Seriously. Why would anyone not welcome what I suggested in my earlier reply? You select a program to prepare. You're then given the option to transcode the program at the current quality (medium) or to transcode the program at twice the quality (high) which would be far more suitable for viewing on larger displays such as the iPad at 2x or on the PC. Having such an option only enhances the product. So instead of offering up opinions on my idea I get replies that completely ignore the premise, because the Nomad already does such a great job. I just don't get it.

#170 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,384 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:38 AM

You've got to be kidding right? I've had the Nomad since launch day and no recording I've downloaded from my Nomad has even come close to approaching the quality you describe when viewed on my iPad at 2x.

Having seen hundreds of nomad transcoded recordings played back on multiple mobile devices, I'd respectfully have to disagree with you and instead agree with dennis00 on that issue. It's even better quality playback on an HD-screen resolution device like the newer iPad.

I'd anticipate that the "Fall 2012" update will reflect improvements on several fronts, so perhaps things will improve for you as well.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#171 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,219 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:34 AM

While I agree that the quality of the Nomad transcoded items aren't as good as stuff like movies and shows downloaded directly from the iTunes store or movies you transcode yourself, I do think that it is pretty close in quality to the streamed stuff like HBO-GO, etc. This isn't a big suprise though either. It's all about the encoding time. People are already complaining about the amount of time it takes to get a recording onto the Nomad, if they were to increase the quality that time is just going to have to go up as they would do more passes etc.

I have to say though, I don't think we will ever get HD versions, I think 850x480, or whatever SD resolution they are using is probably the highest we are ever going to get. The channel providers, movie studios, etc. don't want you to be able to get a high quality copy of their stuff for free. They want you to go out and buy it, or at the very least rent it. I mean even the free digital copies that come with Blu-Rays are almost always just a standard def version of the movie only recently have a couple movies come with an HD Digital Copy (Hunger Games I believe was one).

Having seen hundreds of nomad transcoded recordings played back on multiple mobile devices, I'd respectfully have to disagree with you and instead agree with dennis00 on that issue. It's even better quality playback on an HD-screen resolution device like the newer iPad.

I'd anticipate that the "Fall 2012" update will reflect improvements on several fronts, so perhaps things will improve for you as well.


I have to disagree with you here. The Nomad transcodings don't look all that great on my 3rd Gen iPad. I am looking at an episode of Alphas right now, and there are definitely issues with pixelization/macroblocking, that are worse than in the original recording I watched on my TV last night. The video quality also isn't nearly as good as the digital copy movies I have on my iPad right now like The Hangover, and A-Team. If I swich the iPad back to 1X mode and watch the video in the small window the pixelization/macroblocking is much less noticeable. Same with watching on my iPhone.

While it is certainly passable, and not something I'm upset about, I wouldn't call it high quality. Fact is if I'm watching something on my iPad or iPhone I'm obviously not all that worried about picture quality, I'm most likely just killing time, or trying to catch up on shows I like, but don't necessarily love. For example I don't mind cathcing up on Alphas, or House Hunters on my iPad, but I'm definitely not going to watch a new episode of Sons of Anarchy, or Homeland on it, those I will wait until I get home and watch on the bigscreen (although I may watch them a second or third time on my iPad, but the first viewing is always going to be on my TV).

Edited by Beerstalker, 02 October 2012 - 09:42 AM.

Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#172 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,384 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:40 AM

I have to say though, I don't think we will ever get HD versions, I think 850x480, or whatever SD resolution they are using is probably the highest we are ever going to get.

Somebody once taught me never to say never. ;)

Oops...there it was twice right there. :D
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#173 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,219 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:54 AM

Somebody once taught me never to say never. ;)

Oops...there it was twice right there. :D


Actually, I think you need to check you vision, the word never was not in my post at all.:lol:

Don't get me wrong, I would love to see HD quality versions, but my opinion is it most likely will not happen, at least not in the near future. I don't even really think it's feasible with the current hardware. I mean doesn't the Nomad only have like 16Gb of storage, how many hours of HD would that hold 3 or 4. And I'm not sure what would happen with transcode times. They wouldn't have to change resolution so that might save some time, but I believe they would still have to change the framerate (I belive apple stuff only supports 30fps or is that just the AppleTV?). And they have to add whatever copy protection/expiration date info they are using. So I don't know if they would be able to get away with only 3 or 4 hours able to store on the device at a time, because you would always have to be waiting on stuff to transcode before you could transfer it.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#174 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,384 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:59 AM

Don't get me wrong, I would love to see HD quality versions, but my opinion is it most likely will not happen, at least not in the near future. I don't even really think it's feasible with the current hardware.

You could be half right anyway.... ;)

Ironically....I use my nomad alot....alot. Especially while traveling for work all over the country.

If I had a nickel for every person who peeked to see what I was watching and then asked how I could see HD video on my tablet...I could retire. The video quality is that good on my 1080p resolution tablet.

The video quality presentation is only as good as the device graphics video resolution on which it is being shown. Some of the older tablets and laptops simply have graphics technology in them that shows its age.

All that said...yes...an HD version would be nice. It would also expand the transcoding process timeframe exponentially. It makes one wonder how many potential users would accept that aspect of moving to HD.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#175 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,430 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 10:54 AM

No. You'll need a product like this: http://www.hauppauge...data_hdpvr.html


I've been thinking of trying out this thing. If I read it correctly, burning an HD recording from my HR20-700 via this device would take up a lot of space on a DVD, correct? I'm guessing that a standard 4.7GB DVD might not be able to fit a recording such as a sporting event. In that case, what's the best choice: a dual layer DVD or a Blu-Ray DVD? If the latter, wouldn't I need a Blu-Ray burner?

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...