Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Using DECA as MOCA


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   compnurd

compnurd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,143 posts
  • LocationEvans City PA
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 13 May 2012 - 01:35 PM

OK been experimenting with this. I dont have Direct TV anymore but am trying to find a good use for all of my old DECA equipment. I have a DECA Broadband adaptor which i am using to "inject" Ethernet into the coax.... As was standard when i had Direct TV. I cant use one of the ethernet coax adaptors on the other end as it does not power up off my cable box... Could i use another DECA broadband adaptor on the other end to "receive the signal"

I tried to use a Verizon MI424 as a MOCA bridge but it didnt appear to work

SWM-16
HR44
2-C-41
HR24
2-H25


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 13 May 2012 - 03:43 PM

Your problem is that the DECA frequencies will be a conflict on most any advanced cable system. Just like a MOCA device would be in the way of a satellite system the frequencies would conflict with those delivered by the LNB.

#3 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 259 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 13 May 2012 - 07:05 PM

Bottom line is NO to what you wish to do. Either install a wireless system or use (heaven forbid) power line adaptors.

#4 OFFLINE   compnurd

compnurd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,143 posts
  • LocationEvans City PA
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 13 May 2012 - 07:08 PM

Ok cool. i thought so

SWM-16
HR44
2-C-41
HR24
2-H25


#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 14 May 2012 - 07:48 AM

Actually there are MOCA adapters made by actiontec and others that will work with cable systems.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,054 posts
  • LocationTeays Valley, WV
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 14 May 2012 - 08:24 AM

One other thought is that if you have two coax cables running to the location, then one could be used as you wish.

#7 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 14 May 2012 - 11:51 AM

Actually there are MOCA adapters made by actiontec and others that will work with cable systems.


Exactly since the OP is on cable now you have to look for MOCA devices that operate over 1Ghz. By comparison to DECA devices especially the dropped off the truck ones on ebay, MOCA is way more expensive. Seems like devices I have seen run about $90-100 per device (DECAs are like $20 on ebay). I have found this method to be WAY more reliable and faster than WIFI at my place. Put one MOCA device at the router, then use a 2 way splitter (one line to MOCA other to TV/STB) at each coax drop you want ethernet at.

#8 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,063 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 14 May 2012 - 12:05 PM

Prior to DECA becoming available I used a pair of Actiontec MOCA adapters over my second (OTA) coax for MRV and it worked great. Prior to this I tried wifi and powerline ethernet adapters with poor results.

#9 OFFLINE   compnurd

compnurd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,143 posts
  • LocationEvans City PA
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 15 May 2012 - 03:23 PM

MOCA adapters are still crazy expensive. I was trying to re-purpose some of my old DECA equipment... I have purchased several Fios routers to re configure them

SWM-16
HR44
2-C-41
HR24
2-H25


#10 OFFLINE   bigglebowski

bigglebowski

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2010

Posted 15 May 2012 - 05:13 PM

MOCA adapters are still crazy expensive. I was trying to re-purpose some of my old DECA equipment... I have purchased several Fios routers to re configure them


I did find after i posted the other day that some netgears were being sold as pairs for like $120.

What is with the fios routers are they capable to being turned into moca bridges? Are they just none available now?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...