Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Missing functions on Hopper


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,775 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 20 May 2012 - 09:38 PM

DISH seems to handle markets with less than four networks. Add the PTA flags to PBS and CW in the markets where those channels are on the same transponder as the big four and it should work out. Then advertise the Hopper as recording eight channels at the same time. :)

It would be interesting to see if it were possible.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,186 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 21 May 2012 - 12:26 AM

Different software for different markets? You're asking for all sorts of trouble.


It wouldn't have to be different software. Just check the one transponder in that market and peel off any LiL that exists on that transponder regardless of whether it is 2 or 4 or 6. If they are doing what they say they are doing (recording the whole transponder) then they are already doing half of the work... just check in the DMA to see how many LiLs exist and break out that many recordings.

No reason why it would have to be special firmware in each DMA.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#28 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 623 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 21 May 2012 - 03:24 AM

Then advertise the Hopper as recording eight channels at the same time. :)


I think we could get well past 8. After all, if the Hopper can record an entire transponder, what's to stop it from doing that x3? The number of recording conflicts would have to drop.

But if just my idea was implemented, it would have to be an unadvertised (not undocumented) feature - because there would be many markets where they couldn't record more than the big 4 using PTAT.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...