Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

NHLCI v. GameCenter


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   stoutman

stoutman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 438 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2003

Posted 18 May 2012 - 07:23 PM

No. Also, no intermission chatter.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   cnmurray8

cnmurray8

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2008

Posted 19 May 2012 - 08:50 AM

I had gamecenter this year and through the season some networks started to show commercials and intermissions. Most notable was MSG.

#23 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,633 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 22 January 2013 - 05:09 PM

Depending on the games you want to watch, you might want to hold off on that. I was unable to transfer a single NHLCI game to my iPad last season. I could transfer games from NBC, NBSPN, NHLN and my RSNs. But not the CI games. The issue was elevated to the engineers and they stated that NHLCI games are coded so they couldn't be transferred to the nomad (like VOD). They stated they were going to change this, but we won't know until the season starts.



Have you heard anything on them having fixed this? So far, I tried to transfer the Isles v. Devils game on Saturady to my laptop, but it has been trying to prepare it since Saturday night. It gets to where it says there are, say, 20 minutes left in preparing, then I come back later and it is at 2 hours left preparing. Later it will be 30 minutes, then later back up to 3 hours. It never finishes preparing.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#24 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,107 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 22 January 2013 - 05:35 PM

Have you heard anything on them having fixed this? So far, I tried to transfer the Isles v. Devils game on Saturady to my laptop, but it has been trying to prepare it since Saturday night. It gets to where it says there are, say, 20 minutes left in preparing, then I come back later and it is at 2 hours left preparing. Later it will be 30 minutes, then later back up to 3 hours. It never finishes preparing.

I've successfully recorded and transferred to my nomad 2 (of 3) NHL CI games since Sunday. The third one I tried didn't work because it was 6.5 hours (6 hours plus I selected the 'add 30 mins for live event' to test it). When I went to transcode that event, it said it was to long.

Did your game record OK on your DVR?

Your problem sounds exactly like the one I was having last season. The only thing I've done since last season was reload my iPad and PC with the client software after there were a couple of glitches on two Tuesday mornings.

#25 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,633 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 10:26 AM

I've successfully recorded and transferred to my nomad 2 (of 3) NHL CI games since Sunday. The third one I tried didn't work because it was 6.5 hours (6 hours plus I selected the 'add 30 mins for live event' to test it). When I went to transcode that event, it said it was to long.

Did your game record OK on your DVR?

Your problem sounds exactly like the one I was having last season. The only thing I've done since last season was reload my iPad and PC with the client software after there were a couple of glitches on two Tuesday mornings.


Yes. As it turns out, I watched both Isles games already on the DVR, but I still tried to move them to my PC and iPhone via the Nomad as an experiment. Neither has worked so far. Just wondering, did you record off the NHLCI channels in the 700s or did you record off the RSN directly? I did both of mine from MSG, so that may be my issue. Of course, I also recorded the Nets v. Knicks game on Monday on NBATV, and that one is still "waiting to prepare" for nearly 48 hours now! (note, this came after I gave up on getting the two Isles games onto the Nomad and deleted them. There is nothing ahead of the Nets game waiting to be transfered, but it is still "waiting to prepare.")

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#26 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,633 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 08:52 PM

Yes. As it turns out, I watched both Isles games already on the DVR, but I still tried to move them to my PC and iPhone via the Nomad as an experiment. Neither has worked so far. Just wondering, did you record off the NHLCI channels in the 700s or did you record off the RSN directly? I did both of mine from MSG, so that may be my issue. Of course, I also recorded the Nets v. Knicks game on Monday on NBATV, and that one is still "waiting to prepare" for nearly 48 hours now! (note, this came after I gave up on getting the two Isles games onto the Nomad and deleted them. There is nothing ahead of the Nets game waiting to be transfered, but it is still "waiting to prepare.")


Well, now I'm 0 for 3 for NHLCI games on the Nomad. All I can get is either an endless "waiting to prepare" or a progress meter that goes up and down without ever completing. Frustrating. I got the Nomad for hockey, and now it appears that hockey is the only thing it doesn't work with!

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#27 OFFLINE   charlie460

charlie460

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 377 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 09:39 PM

GCL has all feeds, including Canadian HD, but it's half the framerate and not broadcast HD quality like DirecTV has. GCL also lets you watch on your mobile device.

#28 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,633 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 26 January 2013 - 11:16 AM

Well, now I'm 0 for 3 for NHLCI games on the Nomad. All I can get is either an endless "waiting to prepare" or a progress meter that goes up and down without ever completing. Frustrating. I got the Nomad for hockey, and now it appears that hockey is the only thing it doesn't work with!


Now I have 4 hours left "preparing" last night's Isles v Bruins game, but then, it was 3:29 left when I went to bed, so not holding out much hope.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#29 OFFLINE   fireponcoal

fireponcoal

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 695 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2009

Posted 26 January 2013 - 08:26 PM

GCL has all feeds, including Canadian HD, but it's half the framerate and not broadcast HD quality like DirecTV has. GCL also lets you watch on your mobile device.


Not half frame rate on my computer. I do notice that happens when watching wirelessly though.. I also hate when it occurs.

Edited by fireponcoal, 26 January 2013 - 09:18 PM.


#30 OFFLINE   charlie460

charlie460

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 377 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2009

Posted 26 January 2013 - 10:30 PM

Not half frame rate on my computer. I do notice that happens when watching wirelessly though.. I also hate when it occurs.

Well, yes, it is half the framerate, whether you notice it or not is another story ;) You have to have an eye for it.

GCL streams (Live ones, anyway) stream at 3000k/29.97 fps max. HDTV broadcasts are 720p/60 fps or 1080i/30 which is deinterlaced to 60 fps.

#31 OFFLINE   lokar

lokar

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 28 January 2013 - 10:27 AM

A cord cutting friend of mine bought GCL this year so I watched Saturday's late CBC game at his house. He has a great connection but the game was definitely half the frame rate and didn't look near as good as CI.

#32 OFFLINE   espaeth

espaeth

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:22 AM

Video quality ranks as follows:

Center Ice HD > GameCenter Live (mythical perfect stream) > Center Ice SD > GameCenter Live (all too frequent choppy stream)

I used to have a subscription to ShawDirect (StarChoice) in addition to DirecTV to get the Canadian game broadcasts in HD. In recent years I went the Roku/GCL route to replace ShawDirect; for the cost savings it's good enough for the handful of games I watch that are covered in HD on Canadian broadcast networks only.

GCL is decent, but if you think it's as good as CI, you're probably also the type of person that can convince yourself the Blue Jackets could win the cup this year. ;)

#33 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 820 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 28 January 2013 - 09:06 PM

What I've noticed so far with Gamecenter is the choppy stream tends to be the "popular" stream for the game. Like they don't have enough bandwidth to support the amount of people on it.

Most of the time it is the Home stream because that is what the app tends to defaut to when it prompts you. Although in games with the Rangers and some other popular teams, their team's streams tend to be choppy(I'm guessing cause it's a busy stream).

Usually one of the two streams is smooth for me.

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#34 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,665 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 28 January 2013 - 09:43 PM

FYI, the PS3 app is now available.

#35 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 820 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:14 PM

FYI, the PS3 app is now available.


Wow, that must have JUST happened. I tried earlier tonight and it was still the old one. About time

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#36 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 820 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 29 January 2013 - 06:31 AM

Wow, I like the PS3 app. Has some really nice features that other devices don't.

Anyone know if you have a regular Sony BluRay player, if the app is the same as the PS3 one or is it more limited? I ask because I need to cover one more TV and there is a lower end Sony BluRay player that is a good price, that I know supports Gamecenter but I am wondering if the app has the same functions.

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#37 OFFLINE   Peter305

Peter305

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,135 posts
Joined: May 24, 2006

Posted 29 January 2013 - 08:17 AM

Wow, I like the PS3 app. Has some really nice features that other devices don't.

Anyone know if you have a regular Sony BluRay player, if the app is the same as the PS3 one or is it more limited? I ask because I need to cover one more TV and there is a lower end Sony BluRay player that is a good price, that I know supports Gamecenter but I am wondering if the app has the same functions.


My Sony Blue Ray purchased a couple of years ago only has the NHL Vault but not Game Center.

#38 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 820 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 29 January 2013 - 10:42 AM

My Sony Blue Ray purchased a couple of years ago only has the NHL Vault but not Game Center.


Yea, that's what I'm seeing. At NHL.com they say "select" bravia enables devices. It would be nice to see a list.

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#39 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 820 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 31 January 2013 - 07:34 AM

Ok, so I picked up an Apple TV to see what it's app was like and it's definitely one of the best I have tried. The games seemed a lot more fluid and smooth to me on the Apple TV. Plus it has DVR like funtions(albeit a bit clunky), which my Boxee does not.

However, with that said, I tried viewing Gamecenter using my Old Google TV unit in the browser, just to see and I was pretty surprised at how good it looked. It also allows for the split screens and other PC based options, that the players like the PS3 and Apple TV don't. If I can figure out how to get the black options bar off the bottom of the screen, when in full screen mode, I may just use that to view and return the Apple TV.

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#40 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 820 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 03 February 2013 - 02:24 PM

So... I got a chance to use the XBox version of Gamecenter and all I can say is WOW! This is the way they all should be.

When it first starts, if your team is playing, it shows your team's game in an upper left small window and lists other games being played. If you highlight the small window of your team's game and select it, it blows it up to full screen.

If you hit the Blue X, it SPLIT SCREENS and you can watch a second game at the same time, easily and instantaneously swap between the two or full screen one.

It also had full DVR functionality(albeit clunky movement which they all seem to have). The streaming seems great and smooth, although you are at the mercy of the stream itself.

About the only thing I can complain about was the way they had the Vault games split between rivalries and playoffs and such. It was hard to find certain games. Plus some games just didn't stream for some reason(just continually got a spinning wheel).

After that experience and seeing what else the XBox has with regard to video streaming(ESPN 3 on the big screen is sweet too). I think I may return my Apple TV and pony up the extra for a 4GB Xbox(yes, you have to have a gold membership to access the gamecenter app but in looking around you can grab a 1 year membership for as little as $30, so I am ok with that).

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11





spam firewall