Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD DVRs, Receivers and R22: 0x05CD/0x45CD Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
326 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   StephenT

StephenT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2008

Posted 31 May 2012 - 05:23 AM

Got the update on one of my three receivers the other night (HR22-100). It's set to always output 1080i, and it is not switching. However, when all the equipment is powered on everything is great with the first channel displayed. When I make a channel change there's a blink for a new handshake where I keep audio and video at the right resolution, but my Denon receiver loses the ability to overlay its menus and volume control. Now that's weird.

All subsequent channel changes do not re-handshake, but the Denon menus are lost until the receiver input is cycled. Then it starts over again with the first channel change screwing things up.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,749 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 31 May 2012 - 05:56 AM

Got my update early this morning.
I see no difference from 59e

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660 15 Mbps down 2 Mbps up.

 


#128 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 622 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 31 May 2012 - 06:14 AM

The update fixed my slow playlist
No issues that I've seen

#129 OFFLINE   BlackCoffee

BlackCoffee

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: May 23, 2009

Posted 31 May 2012 - 06:32 AM

With all the posts and a call to tech support last night, this is clearly a software update initiated problem. I know the handshake is incorrect because I can display the signal information on my Yamaha receiver when the graphics are squashed. When the handshake fails, it appears the receiver believes it is getting a 480p signal. When I can call up distorted graphics, the common factor the receiver believing it is only getting 480p no matter what the signal resolution.

Hopefully they will push a software update in the promised 72 hours to fix the problem.

After reviewing the threads, a lot of people are going through diagnostics by changing HDMI cables and airing opinions on various receiver firmware. Since it always worked fine up until yesterday, and it still works fine with my non-DVR receiver that didn't get the update, I put this problem squarely on the shoulders of the DIRECTV software engineers. They need to fix the software update and restore HDMI handshake protocol.

When this is fixed, I am going to call them back and convince them to send me the new receiver that is currently only available to new customers.

DIRECTV customer since 1997.

#130 OFFLINE   underlord2

underlord2

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:00 AM

DirecTV came out today and all they did was to do a "reinstall" of the satellite software (like it was a new receiver, it resetted itself and deleted the guide data) and give us a new remote. (my problem was blank recordings and it would freeze while switching from a non-recorded channel to a recorded one)

I feel like I was insulted.. as the tech blamed the remote! (at least he gave me his home phone in case we have problems, he "couldn't find any problems with my system, sat signals were great")

Also, for some odd reason after the reset my screen is a bit brighter.. :confused: I can now see the progress bar better on the bottom with TV shows, i wond why that would happen??

Anyways don't mind me, im still on the "e" software, i was just posting my progress if people were interested.

#131 OFFLINE   jacinkcmo

jacinkcmo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
  • LocationKansas City
Joined: Jan 21, 2012

Posted 31 May 2012 - 09:26 AM

Got both 45CD on my H21-200 and O5CD on my HR23-700 this morning. The one plus I've notcied so far is that they've returned the prev channel function while in the guide. :)

#132 OFFLINE   skyboysea

skyboysea

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 540 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2002

Posted 31 May 2012 - 11:02 AM

Hopefully they will push a software update in the promised 72 hours to fix the problem.


I don't know who told you that but you have a better chance to win the lottery than getting that update. They have known about the resolution bug for a while and sent out 3 software updates without fixing it.

#133 OFFLINE   Colonel Badger

Colonel Badger

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 31 May 2012 - 11:08 AM

Got the update over night.

Switched on the receiver this morning to be told Whole Home DVR was now enabled, when I don't actually have it. It then proceeded to ask me to name the location of the receiver. Started to enter name when the UI completely disappeared and through me to live tv. Then went to my playlist and started getting a REALLY annoying warning box popping up about Loss of Network connection. Seems to popup every 5 seconds and there's nothing I can do about it. Not happy !

I know my receiver for some bizarre reason lost network connection a few weeks back and haven't had a chance to work out why. But this damn popup is a terrible idea.:mad:
Video: Panasonic 42" TH42PH9UK
DTV: HR21-700, connected via component
Audio: Yamaha HTR-5640, connected via Coax.
Remote: Harmony 676

#134 OFFLINE   phodg

phodg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 31 May 2012 - 12:35 PM

My HR23 gets a weird flash (maybe the bottom half of the screen) about once a minute or so on recorded shows after receiving the latest update. Live TV is fine.

#135 OFFLINE   toadleyb

toadleyb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2008

Posted 31 May 2012 - 03:36 PM

:soapbox:
Add me to the list of handshake problems. Got the update night before last. Got up at 6 am to watch the morning news before work. Fired up my Denon AVR 789 and my Samsung TV. The first thing I always do is hold down the exit button to switch to HD (I have an SD tv in my bedroom running off the same box). As soon as it switched to HD lost connection.

Thank God for this forum. This was the first place I came to and sure enough it was caused by the upgrade. Last night I was watching TV and every time you change channels it loses synch. I have to then switch inputs on the receiver and switch back and the picture returns. However it shows that it is at 1080 but the TV is picking it up as 720.

I can't believe a company as big as Directv is this ignorant that they would allow a software update that causes this many problems. Imagine all the non - techies in the world that must be calling D like crazy right now and D giving them the same old line that this is the first time we have heard of this.

Unbelievable! :mad:

#136 OFFLINE   JerryMeeker

JerryMeeker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 31 May 2012 - 04:17 PM

I got the 0x5cd update on my HR21-700 last night, and I now have what I believe is being referred to as the "Resolution Bug". For users who have Denon AVR's, this bug is a real pain. When the channel is being sidplayed as 1080i, I can't get the volume control overlay to appear. When I open the Denon GUI menu, which is supposed to be superimposed on the live DTV programming in the background, the screen goes blank and the menu appears as 1080p. When I close the menu, the DTV station now displays 720p, and the volume control overlay now appears. I can select channel up or down, and the new station appears in 1080i, and the volume overlay disappears again. Really bizarre behavior.

My two HR24-500's still are running 0x5cb, and are not exhibiting this issue.

Can someone point me to a more detailed discussion of this "resolution bug"?

Edit: Starting to see reports in the Denon threads over on AVSforum.com about this bug as well.

Edited by JerryMeeker, 31 May 2012 - 04:40 PM.


#137 OFFLINE   Chip Moody

Chip Moody

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 201 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2007

Posted 31 May 2012 - 05:19 PM

My Sharp 46" is also having HDMI issues after my HR21Pro got the 5CD update this morning. :(

- Chip
"How can one little insulated wire bring so much happiness!?!" - Homer Simpson

#138 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:42 PM

HR24-500 received the 5cd update this am. Full Guide data for 13 days in there, posters...not yet.

#139 OFFLINE   FilmMixer

FilmMixer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 31 May 2012 - 10:28 PM

My updated HR22 now outputs 720p (which is unchecked as a supported resolution) when I turn on my CEC sound bar, with the box still saying it's at 1080i....

Then about 5-10 minutes in, upon a trick play, it snaps back to 1080i all by itself..

#140 OFFLINE   Dan B

Dan B

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2007

Posted 31 May 2012 - 11:02 PM

I got the update on my HR21-700 and now I also have the issue where my Denon GUI is blacking out the screen. Also seeing green flashes when changing channels, which must indicate something is not right with the HDMI.

#141 OFFLINE   penguin44

penguin44

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 137 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2005

Posted 01 June 2012 - 02:00 AM

Yup same here with my LG system. Hdmi handshake issues galore. Why was this released again? Hr 21-700

#142 OFFLINE   pappasbike

pappasbike

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 503 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 01 June 2012 - 04:49 AM

HR24-500 received the 5cd update this am. Full Guide data for 13 days in there, posters...not yet.

One day later and still no info on Cast and Crew filling in on shows and movies. Names are there but no other info or pictures. I know the guide data takes a while to fill in completely but I don't remember a prior update where this info was not there 24 hours later. And I'm not talking about guide info for 13 or 14 days from now, I mean today's guide data. Is this normal?

#143 OFFLINE   retired flyer

retired flyer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2007

Posted 01 June 2012 - 06:06 AM

I called customer service Thursday afternoon about the handshake issues we're having and read them some of the comments on this thread. They said they're working on a "fix" and it should be out to us "in a couple of days".

#144 OFFLINE   JerryMeeker

JerryMeeker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 01 June 2012 - 07:37 AM

I called customer service Thursday afternoon about the handshake issues we're having and read them some of the comments on this thread. They said they're working on a "fix" and it should be out to us "in a couple of days".


Well, it is encouraging that DTV is acknowledging this problem. It's not always the case. While my HR21-700 has received the flawed update and is exhibiting the issues with my Denon AVR, I'm crossing my fingers that the fix is issued before my two HR24-500's receive the update.

Silly question: if DTV is aware that 05xcd is flawed, why don't they simply stop the updates until they have a fix?

#145 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:06 AM

Silly question: if DTV is aware that 05xcd is flawed, why don't they simply stop the updates until they have a fix?

Can you imagine how long we'd be waiting if what we were waiting for was perfect software from DirecTV? :nono2:
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#146 OFFLINE   skyboysea

skyboysea

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 540 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2002

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:25 AM

Silly question: if DTV is aware that 05xcd is flawed, why don't they simply stop the updates until they have a fix?


Probably for the same reason they didn't stop the previous flawed releases: because they have no clue of what they are doing.

#147 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 01 June 2012 - 09:26 AM

Ask any software designer. At some point you lock down the software and release what you've got. It's a balancing act between eliminating bugs and hitting release dates. You can keep working on the software, perfecting it, and what you end up with in the THR22, a product that was released two years too late.

This is not to forgive DirecTV for missing these compatibility issues but I'm sure they weighed getting every last compatibility issue tested and fixed versus releasing software that works for the vast majority of the customers out there.

Yesterday I made a list of the people in this thread that had problems with the new software. There were 15-20 of them, depending on how you counted the issues. That's no good, especially for those folks, but if you compare that to the number of people on DBSTalk who use a DirecTV HD DVR, it's also not too bad.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#148 OFFLINE   BlueMonk

BlueMonk

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2007

Posted 01 June 2012 - 09:26 AM

My HR23 gets a weird flash (maybe the bottom half of the screen) about once a minute or so on recorded shows after receiving the latest update. Live TV is fine.


I am having the same issue. Thought it was my Yamaha receiver until I checked this thread.

#149 OFFLINE   JerryMeeker

JerryMeeker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 01 June 2012 - 09:46 AM

Probably for the same reason they didn't stop the previous flawed releases: because they have no clue of what they are doing.


Like I said, it was a silly question.

Yesterday I made a list of the people in this thread that had problems with the new software. There were 15-20 of them, depending on how you counted the issues. That's no good, especially for those folks, but if you compare that to the number of people on DBSTalk who use a DirecTV HD DVR, it's also not too bad.


Given the number of people who never bother posting once they see that others are aware of an issue, and the number of people who don't visit this site, the actual number of DTV users affected is likely much larger.

#150 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,975 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 01 June 2012 - 10:11 AM

OK, nobody here has the slighest clue how DIRECTV is setup to code and implement their firmware.

Nobody here has the slighest clue what DIRECTV's capabilities and skill levels are.

Nobody here should pretend they have the slighest clue how to do it better.

Lets get back to the topic of the 0x05CD/0x45CD firmware. If you want to discuss something else start a thread but don't do it here.

:backtotop

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...