Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV App for Android v2.2.1 - Issues and Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   JamesTPDI

JamesTPDI

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2007

Posted 23 May 2012 - 03:48 AM

"Only it doesn't run non-stop. Go check your running processes, if you haven't used the app recently it won't be there. My guess? Some type of an update check. App update, program info, who knows really. I can tell you, there is no constantly running process on my phone."

So then why would it need to start at boot?
Directv since 1996
Slimline SL3PIG-P Dish, SWiM-8 switch
HR20-700 HDMI thru Sony STR-DG810 to LG 50PX1D-UC
HR22-100 HDMI thru Sony STR DG-820 to LG 60PG60
HR22-100 HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX80U
H24 to DECA

UPS backed and surge protected

Network: Hard wired thru Linksys EZXS55W switch to D-Link DGS-2208 SW to Westel 6100 DSL
PC XP-PRO SP3 on router WMP-11 44GB 6245 mp3 songs and data in 557 folders, 30,835 photos in 875 folders

Music MP3's also on WD-NAS

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,261 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 23 May 2012 - 05:55 AM

As can be seen in this screen shot I have 71 apps that have the same boot up requirement.
This is not a big deal, not worthy of concern.
As mentioned up above check your running apps after boot up and you won't find the Directv app running.

ForumRunner_20120523_065052.png
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#23 OFFLINE   dualsub2006

dualsub2006

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 861 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2007

Posted 23 May 2012 - 08:15 AM

So then why would it need to start at boot?

You quoted my best guess. App update check or it's refreshing it's guide data. It may not even be starting at boot.

Remember, just because an app asks for a permission, that doesn't mean that it is actually using it.

I rebooted my phone one time to see if the D* app ran at boot. It either didn't, or the process closed in the short time it took me to get the settings open.

You're better off checking out permissions like that on your own device before you get worked up about it. Sometimes, you gotta can app. Other times, it's not as bad as the permissions make it seem.

#24 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,261 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 23 May 2012 - 09:51 AM

If you're interested in checking out apps permissions there are many apps in Google Play. This is one.
There are apps that will allow you to selectively deny permissions. Use with caution.

ForumRunner_20120523_105005.png
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#25 OFFLINE   jacmyoung

jacmyoung

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,544 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2006

Posted 01 June 2012 - 10:31 AM

Like several others, can only watch trailers. Is there a fix?

#26 OFFLINE   WB3FFV

WB3FFV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 104 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2007

Posted 03 June 2012 - 12:35 AM

I have the HTC Rezound on Verizon, and though I can go in and launch the app, I can't get it to play any video, it just says "Errror in Media Player". It will let me watch the trailers, they play perfectly, but if I select play on anything it's a no go. Not sure if the 1280 resolution of the screen is an issue or not..

#27 OFFLINE   lneck30

lneck30

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2012

Posted 03 June 2012 - 06:01 PM

Im having the same trouble with dtv everywhere saying media error screen.
I have an HTC Hero. I can watch trailers on the app flawlessly but not actual program. I did reboot and reinstall. Still nothing. Any ideas?

#28 OFFLINE   lokar

lokar

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 675 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 06 June 2012 - 12:02 PM

I'm new to this android stuff but every time I try to watch something I get a message that says "Unfortunately, DirecTV has stopped." I am trying the D* app on a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 and haven't been able to watch anything yet. The wifi seems to work OK for other internet applications.

#29 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,261 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 07 June 2012 - 01:58 AM

Using my SGII movies play fine. If your phone is rooted try fixing permissions. I have no idea if this will help but it can't hurt.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#30 OFFLINE   WB3FFV

WB3FFV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 104 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2007

Posted 07 June 2012 - 06:50 AM

I can't speak for any others, but nope my phone is stock, no root or unlock of any kind done on the phone. Wonder if they are not compatible with ICS yet..

#31 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,261 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 07 June 2012 - 09:59 AM

I can't speak for any others, but nope my phone is stock, no root or unlock of any kind done on the phone. Wonder if they are not compatible with ICS yet..


My SGII is rooted and I've run leaked ics and custom ics based roms and the app worked fine. You may have a device incompatibility issue.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#32 OFFLINE   WB3FFV

WB3FFV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 104 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2007

Posted 07 June 2012 - 10:48 AM

Agreed, it looks like HTC and the DTV apps don't get along, that is the 1280 rez is causing issues. I guess the bottom line is, it doesn't work for everything. At the moment I am running ICS 4.0.3 which I know it pretty common..

#33 OFFLINE   lokar

lokar

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 675 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 07 June 2012 - 04:40 PM

I can't speak for any others, but nope my phone is stock, no root or unlock of any kind done on the phone. Wonder if they are not compatible with ICS yet..


My tablet is stock too and it has ICS, I guess this just doesn't work right now.

#34 OFFLINE   Sgt. Slaughter

Sgt. Slaughter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,870 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 22 June 2012 - 09:38 PM

Agreed, it looks like HTC and the DTV apps don't get along, that is the 1280 rez is causing issues. I guess the bottom line is, it doesn't work for everything. At the moment I am running ICS 4.0.3 which I know it pretty common..


Yeah thus far there are more than a handful group of people over on xda that are reporting it NOT working either on the EVO 4G LTE...

Just tried it on my EVO 4G LTE and whenever I try to stream it says "Media Player: Error in media player".....stinks it doesn't work...stock too here so its not something ive done to the device.

#35 OFFLINE   njfoses

njfoses

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2007

Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:24 PM

Yeah thus far there are more than a handful group of people over on xda that are reporting it NOT working either on the EVO 4G LTE...

Just tried it on my EVO 4G LTE and whenever I try to stream it says "Media Player: Error in media player".....stinks it doesn't work...stock too here so its not something ive done to the device.


Just confirming here as well. Does not work on the evo lte.
Joined The Directv Family 9-11-07

au9 Dish
Mrv via deca
HR20
HR24
H24

E-A-G-L-E-S!!

#36 OFFLINE   freerein100

freerein100

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2007

Posted 13 July 2012 - 12:41 AM

:cool:I also have an EVO LTE and I blame apple for it not working:rolleyes::uglyhamme

#37 ONLINE   Altcool

Altcool

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2007

Posted 07 August 2012 - 10:45 AM

Nexus 7 Running 4.1.1 over wifi when trying to " watch on phone" the app reports "Unfortunately, DirecTV has stopped."
AU9 SWM16 HR21 HR23 HR24 HR24 H20 H24 H24 R22 D12 AM21
Wish List: HR44, SWM32

#38 OFFLINE   sdirv

sdirv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 524 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2008

Posted 07 August 2012 - 11:01 AM

Nexus 7 Running 4.1.1 over wifi when trying to " watch on phone" the app reports "Unfortunately, DirecTV has stopped."


Unfortunately, the only tablet D* is currently supporting for their "Everywhere" thing is the iPad. No Android tablets are currently supported and only some android phones.

Netflix was the same way when they started with their mobile offering, only on a few devices at first, then there was a flood of devices that worked.

#39 OFFLINE   stsrep

stsrep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 10 August 2012 - 04:17 PM

I have a Rooted Samsung Galaxy Nexus cell running Jelley Bean and a LePan II tablet running ICS non-rooted.
Both will allow me to watch trailers but no movies-it either says on screen no streaming available,error code 5100 or Directv Everywhere has stopped working.
I spoke with Mobile App Tech at Directv and they were no help.
WTF ??

Edited by stsrep, 10 August 2012 - 04:17 PM.
spelling





Protected By... spam firewall...And...