Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How many recordings on Hopper simultaneously?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
22 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,442 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 17 May 2012 - 10:22 AM

Wait until people find out they cannot record 6 things at one time with the Hopper.

And I thought people were against forced recordings to their DVRs?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,461 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 17 May 2012 - 11:10 AM

Wait until people find out they cannot record 6 things at one time with the Hopper.

And I thought people were against forced recordings to their DVRs?


What? This post seems out of nowhere... and technically is incorrect anyway, because with the primetime anytime recording 4 LiLs, and the 2 other tuners... you certainly could be recording 6 things at one time.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#3 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 17 May 2012 - 11:20 AM

Wait until people find out they cannot record 6 things at one time with the Hopper.

And I thought people were against forced recordings to their DVRs?


Your research is flawed. :rolleyes:

#4 OFFLINE   Bill Van

Bill Van

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
  • LocationVirginia Beach, Va.
Joined: Feb 12, 2008

Posted 17 May 2012 - 12:10 PM

What? This post seems out of nowhere... and technically is incorrect anyway, because with the primetime anytime recording 4 LiLs, and the 2 other tuners... you certainly could be recording 6 things at one time.

Can the Hopper whole home work in conjunction with other existing Dish set top boxes to add more tuners, storage etc?

#5 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,442 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 17 May 2012 - 12:35 PM

Your research is flawed. :rolleyes:


How many non-Prime Time shows can be recorded at one time with 1 Hopper?

#6 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 17 May 2012 - 01:43 PM

Why is there no answers?

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#7 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 17 May 2012 - 01:53 PM

Can the Hopper whole home work in conjunction with other existing Dish set top boxes to add more tuners, storage etc?

No, because they're not using the same tech. Dual-Hopper integration is Coming Soon, giving six total tuners and 2 TB of storage.

How many non-Prime Time shows can be recorded at one time with 1 Hopper?


Three. Six shows using PTAT. "Cannot record six things at one time" is what you said, and you're incorrect.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#8 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 481 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 17 May 2012 - 01:53 PM

Can the Hopper whole home work in conjunction with other existing Dish set top boxes to add more tuners, storage etc?


To add more tuners to a H/J system, just add an additional Hopper to the mix. It was said at last weeks Team Summit that an OTA tuner for use with the H/J system was close to release. No timeline though. As far as addl. space goes, the external hard drive solution is still a supported option as has been on some previous receivers.

#9 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 17 May 2012 - 02:02 PM

No, because they're not using the same tech. Dual-Hopper integration is Coming Soon, giving six total tuners and 2 TB of storage.



Three. Six shows using PTAT. "Cannot record six things at one time" is what you said, and you're incorrect.

What are the monthly fees to do this?

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#10 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,461 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 17 May 2012 - 02:02 PM

These questions have been split from the customer satisfaction thread because they had nothing to do with that thread.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#11 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,442 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 17 May 2012 - 02:27 PM

No, because they're not using the same tech. Dual-Hopper integration is Coming Soon, giving six total tuners and 2 TB of storage.



Three. Six shows using PTAT. "Cannot record six things at one time" is what you said, and you're incorrect.


The USER cannot select 6 shows at one time to record.

That is a fact.

#12 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,803 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 17 May 2012 - 02:36 PM

:nono:

#13 OFFLINE   Wire Nut

Wire Nut

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2012

Posted 17 May 2012 - 02:40 PM

Looks like a DirecTV subscriber has buyer's remorse and has decided to take a dump in the competitor's front yard.
The Hopper has three tuners. This is not classified information, anyone doing the slightest bit of research before signing a two year contract will know. PTAT records an entire transponder, up to four specific events at one time from the major networks using one tuner, while the other two tuners are open for live viewing or recording. That means six recordings during PTAT. PTAT can be toggled on and off, this is not a "forced recording" and I agree that your research is flawed.

#14 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 17 May 2012 - 03:16 PM

What are the monthly fees to do this?


$10, 6 for DVR and 4 for whole home

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#15 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,461 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 17 May 2012 - 05:26 PM

The USER cannot select 6 shows at one time to record.

That is a fact.


Even that isn't a fact.

The user can in fact select 6 shows to record at the same time as long as primetime anytime is enabled and four of those programs are recordings during that period.

The receiver will in fact let you set those individual timers and will automatically separate them from the primetime block later.

I grant you that you can't select just any 6 programs from any channel... but neither Dish nor anyone ever said that you could.

I'm beginning to think this thread has no point rather than the benefit of the doubt I gave for it just being in the wrong thread earlier.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#16 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 17 May 2012 - 06:10 PM

How many non-Prime Time shows can be recorded at one time with 1 Hopper?


Armaments: Chapter 2: Verses 9-21

#17 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 17 May 2012 - 06:12 PM

Looks like a DirecTV subscriber has buyer's remorse and has decided to take a dump in the competitor's front yard.


What gave it away? :lol:

http://www.dbstalk.c...line=1262810803

#18 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 17 May 2012 - 06:28 PM

Wait until people find out they cannot record 6 things at one time with the Hopper.

And I thought people were against forced recordings to their DVRs?


this coming from a directv sub :nono2:

#19 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 17 May 2012 - 07:36 PM

$10, 6 for DVR and 4 for whole home

that's just for the hopper right? I'm asking what would it cost for the hopper and 3 joey's?
That's the only way I see 6 tuners.

OTA isn't a common setup anymore, as much as the 20 people here at dbstalk make it out to be.
I can tell you right now my Hr 34 and Hr 23 cost
$26 in fees ($16 with my auto pay) thats HD,DVR and Whole home Dvr service, but that can record 5 shows while watching 2 live programs. Or recording 7 different shows, and can still stream up to 3 other rooms at the same time.
So what again can the hopper and joey's do?

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#20 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 17 May 2012 - 08:16 PM

Joeys have no tuners in them. OTA is pretty common. And oh yeah, I forgot: I'm not wasting any more of my time responding while you're sitting there going "trolllololllolll!" behind your keyboard.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.





spam firewall