Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S212/Joey S264 Software Experiences/Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   bigdog9586

bigdog9586

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 25 May 2012 - 05:08 PM

Whatever the problem was it was ok the following morning.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:20 PM

Whatever the problem was it was ok the following morning.


Because of nightly reboot.
Same solution what I offered to you, but delayed to midnight (1am ?).

#28 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:21 PM

Measured idling mode: 52C - still hot,
too hot, I can't hold my finger on the heat-sink. :eek2:

#29 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 June 2012 - 01:04 AM

Measuring temps ... for now , just by the FW, what is reporting a drive's temperature, not a CPU's.

Get some Unicode wrong symbol - degree. Look as Chinese web site with incorrect chars encoding.

#30 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 June 2012 - 11:05 AM

Can't find the original post ...

To keep history of added features: the S2.12 does support connection between h2k and Js over Ethernet instead of coax.

A tip from an installer: before switch to Ethernet cabling, be sure you did finish download S212 and S264 to all your devices.

#31 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:22 AM

After installing on top of new CPU's heatsink a small 1" 12VDC fun connected to +5V (it's running very silently) - a temp of CPU dropped to 35C/96F.

PTA method is revealed: h2k writing four separate transport streams into four files (inside of folder PTAT) as four hour segments (5-6-7 GB size) and has special files describing its segmentation [program] to show these in PTA list; when you store some programs, the DVR make a copy selected program(s) to user folder (AV_REQ_HD).
So, no - it's not whole mux [tp] recorded. Just four separate streams ie programs.

Edited by P Smith, 04 June 2012 - 12:29 AM.


#32 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 06 June 2012 - 10:13 AM

Joey crashed last night. Not exactly sure what I was doing, I think browsing with right arrow button. Froze on one channel (playing that channel fine), just lost all control (no guide, no channel changing, no off/on), no effect using buttons on the Joey itself. I left it on all night thinking it would be resolved this AM, not. Unplugged/reboot, works fine now.

#33 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 June 2012 - 10:46 AM

Joey crashed last night. Not exactly sure what I was doing, I think browsing with right arrow button. Froze on one channel (playing that channel fine), just lost all control (no guide, no channel changing, no off/on), no effect using buttons on the Joey itself. I left it on all night thinking it would be resolved this AM, not. Unplugged/reboot, works fine now.


Get a fan or notebook cooler, put it upside down on the cooling mat. See if it will help.

#34 OFFLINE   TheWeave

TheWeave

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2012

Posted 06 June 2012 - 11:10 AM

With the 212/264 software, 2 month old system, I have discovered the "Guide" will show 4 different episode of a series but the description for each episode is the same. And that description will be incorrect for all 4 episodes. This condition also occurs in "my recordings".

My calls to Dish TV have gone unresolved, baffles the engineers.

#35 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 06 June 2012 - 11:13 AM

Please provide your receiver number to me in a PM so I can submit a trouble report to the engineers about this issue to determine if this is an isolated or a developing issue. Please let me know. Thanks.

With the 212/264 software, 2 month old system, I have discovered the "Guide" will show 4 different episode of a series but the description for each episode is the same. And that description will be incorrect for all 4 episodes. This condition also occurs in "my recordings".

My calls to Dish TV have gone unresolved, baffles the engineers.



#36 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 06 June 2012 - 09:10 PM

Rumor has it 213/265 rolling perhaps tonight.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#37 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 June 2012 - 12:03 AM

Seems to me that parrot can't replicate well what ppl told him :).

Last night has been updated only Apps version without changing FW versions: AX040 -> AX044.

#38 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 08 June 2012 - 06:56 PM

Seems to me that parrot can't replicate well what ppl told him :).

Last night has been updated only Apps version without changing FW versions: AX040 -> AX044.


The other is reporting a limited 213.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#39 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 June 2012 - 07:52 PM

The other is reporting a limited 213.


The word "reporting" is not applicable to rumors. :D

#40 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:46 PM

http://www.satellite...-summit-19.html

Could be, who knows. !pepsi! Have you no faith?
Thank you and
Best of luck

#41 OFFLINE   dunkonu23

dunkonu23

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2006

Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:54 PM

Still 212/264 here.

Scott
--
Fly RC Helicopters!
Team ALeeS RC

#42 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:28 PM

Trust to a parrot ? Who putting you down publicly and same time asking you in PM a technical question, what FW in stream ?
If you interesting in the info, just ask here and you will get real facts, not rumors.
Check TiVo thread here for example.

#43 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 09 June 2012 - 09:50 AM

Trust to a parrot ? Who putting you down publicly and same time asking you in PM a technical question, what FW in stream ?
If you interesting in the info, just ask here and you will get real facts, not rumors.
Check TiVo thread here for example.

Look, I don't under stand a thing you are saying. Who is the Parrot, who got put down publicly and who got ask a PM questions, etc.?
I was just mentioning a report from another Technical media outlet. If that is not allowed or looked down on here from you or others just say so. This exercise in interpreting mixed metaphors is boring...
Thank you and
Best of luck

#44 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 June 2012 - 10:50 AM

If you need facts, just ask here what you want to know.
Instead of pointing to somewhere where is rumors posting.

Like, what FW is spooling ? How many boxes getting gamma SW (for that mentioned S2.13) ? Etc.

#45 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 09 June 2012 - 10:57 AM

If you need facts, just ask here what you want to know.
Instead of pointing to somewhere where is rumors posting.

Like, what FW is spooling ? How many boxes getting gamma SW (for that mentioned S2.13) ? Etc.

Perhaps I'm in the wrong place....
Thank you and
Best of luck

#46 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,253 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 June 2012 - 11:06 AM

Perhaps I'm in the wrong place....


Nope, you're in right place.

Easy choice: rumors - there, facts - here. :)

#47 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 09 June 2012 - 11:16 AM

Nope, you're in right place.

Easy choice: rumors - there, facts - here. :)


Thank you.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#48 OFFLINE   n-spring

n-spring

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 221 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:36 AM

S212/S264: the "percent viewed" with PTAT recordings seems to be wildly inaccurate and broken. If I watch an entire PTAT recording, the percent viewed usually shows something like 5%.
DISH subscriber since March 2012
1000.2 HD dish antenna with Solo Node
Living room: XiP813 Hopper (S238) to Visio XVT553SV via HDMI; connected to 100Base-TX LAN
Home theatre: XiP110 Joey (S286) to Anthem Statement D2 via HDMI, then to Panasonic TC-P65VT50 via HDMI
Bedroom: XiP110 Joey (S286) to Sony KDL-26M3000 via HDMI
Internet access: Comcast 10Mb/s; Dynamic IP; NAT on Linksys E3200 router

#49 OFFLINE   dunkonu23

dunkonu23

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2006

Posted 12 June 2012 - 02:53 PM

It's probably 5 percent of the entire stream.

Edit

I moved a show off PTAT and watched it in its entirety... it shows only 1 percent watched.

Scott
--
Fly RC Helicopters!
Team ALeeS RC

#50 OFFLINE   Stutz342

Stutz342

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2004

Posted 17 June 2012 - 08:35 AM

If you tip over into the next show, (like into the padding,) then it shows the percentage of that next show. I know this because I discovered that if you skip back a little bit, you will see 99% or 100%.

It would be really usefull if they changed this percentage to be relative to only the indicated show, not the behind-the-scenes timeslot we're in.

Edited by Stutz342, 17 June 2012 - 08:36 AM.
Typo





Protected By... spam firewall...And...