Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 / SWM 16 / 771A Issues


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Ranman

Ranman

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: May 24, 2012

Posted 24 May 2012 - 10:04 PM

Hey everyone. My system was recently upgraded to a SWM 16 system and I've added an HR34-700. Other receivers are HR24-100, R16-500 (only 1 tuner in use), D12-700.

During the SWM 16 upgrade, there was no close AC outlet, so the installer ran a coax and installed the PI about 25' away. Also, I had somewhat of a rats nest in my basement from the previous install, etc.

I've recently mounted a plywood board to my basement wall and have tried to "clean" up the install. (I also mounted my phone distribution and am in the process of installing an Elk M1 Gold security / automation system.

Anyway, during the DTV install cleanup effort, the major change was bringing the PI much closer and mounting it, Since then, I've been experiencing some 771A errors on my HR34 unit. This receiver is closest to the SWM with an estimated 30' of coax through a wall plate and barrels, and the longest run (the R16) is maybe 50' 60' of coax tops.

I've done some reading and now understand that the D* "standard" (2) X 8 output splitter setup is less than ideal. I may choose to run the HR34 and the D12 on a two-way splitter and the HR24 and R16 on a four-way split to reduce insertion loss. That said, I'm stillsomewhat surprised I'm having the 771A issues given the "short" coax runs and only one -18dB loss device.

After reading a VOS thread, I powered everything down, moved the HR34 from SWM2 to SWM1 and two of the other receivers over to SWM2 just to make a change. I then brought the SWM back up and then brought the HR34 up first (even though it's closest) to get it on the low channels (SWM2). Next was the R16 (furthest), HR24 (nest in distance) and finally the D12 (closest excluding the HR34) Other than the HR34, I'm not exactly sure which receiver is on which SWM exactly. Everything seems to be running well now, but I still have some concerns of a sub-optimal system as all receivers should work well regardless of SWM channel.

I am attaching a photo of my setup. If anyone would care to comment on the configuration or other details or seen issues, I would appreciate the feedback. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and respond.

~R

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_4706.JPG
  • IMG_4708.JPG


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,986 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 May 2012 - 11:17 PM

The top splitter doesn't have one of the outputs terminated, which should be.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 24 May 2012 - 11:55 PM

And for VOS to only say that much (bad) about your set-up is darn near the highest compliment!!!! VOS knows his stuff!

You have a very clean and neat set-up!

So you are not getting the 771a since this was redone?
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#4 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,264 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 25 May 2012 - 02:02 AM

Why is the R16 setup for only one tuner?

#5 OFFLINE   Ranman

Ranman

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: May 24, 2012

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:19 AM

Thank you VOS, I had a feeling that needed to be terminated. The original tech didn't terminate it and I don't have a terminator on hand (yet). BTW, a lot of what yuou see in the pics can be attributed to me learning from your posts/participation in this forum. Lots of valuable info here. Thanks.

Webby - Thanks for the comment / compliment. I had 771 issues with this configuration as you see it. The 771 issues seem to have gone away by powering down the SWM etc, and powering up the HR 34 first and then the furthest receiver, etc. This tells me it's a loss issue and also that my setup could benefit from reducing loss via an improved splitter setup (get away from the 2 X 8 ways).

HoTat2 - The room is hardly ever used and only has one coax run and until recently I was unaware of the possibility of using a 2 way splitter right behind the receiver (giving 2 coax ins to the receiver). I just wanted to be factual regarding the current setup and what you se in the pics. Thanks

#6 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 946 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:43 AM

With SWM you only need the one coax for both tuners there would be no need to put a splitter in line.

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,986 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:05 AM

Thank you VOS, I had a feeling that needed to be terminated. The original tech didn't terminate it and I don't have a terminator on hand (yet). BTW, a lot of what yuou see in the pics can be attributed to me learning from your posts/participation in this forum. Lots of valuable info here. Thanks.

While there is no need to have larger splitters than you need, the lengths of coax you've posted shouldn't/aren't a problem.
"I suspect" the unterminated port may have been the problem. All open ports on the SWiM outputs need to be terminated so they don't cause a reflection [bounced signal] that can degrade the signals to the other ports.

If your system is setup correctly, you shouldn't need to worry about which receiver boots up first. Should you lose power, the system should come back up without needing to have any special booting routine.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...