Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Wifi LCD and the 922


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Calvin386

Calvin386

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 282 posts
Joined: May 23, 2007

Posted 26 May 2012 - 06:55 AM

I have an out of the way place in my home that I would like to put an LCD.

Can I get one that is wifi ready and go to the Dish website via wifi LCD and watch TV ?

Has anyone done with any success?

Thanks...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 136 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:46 AM

I have an out of the way place in my home that I would like to put an LCD.

Can I get one that is wifi ready and go to the Dish website via wifi LCD and watch TV ?

Has anyone done with any success?

Thanks...


More like does the TV have a browser? If so who's browser does it support....as of now I know IE9, FF, work....Just because a TV or DVD player have internet conection dosent mean it works like a computer...most do not and use some kind of app. for streaming programing.

#3 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 26 May 2012 - 03:13 PM

My LG TV has its own browser but no way will it do Dish online. It's possible that the Android app could work if it could be installed. But I would need to hack into the OS to do that.
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#4 OFFLINE   Calvin386

Calvin386

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 282 posts
Joined: May 23, 2007

Posted 27 May 2012 - 05:43 AM

That's why I asked. Looks like this is not going to happen.

Thanks

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,297 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 May 2012 - 09:33 AM

My LG TV has its own browser but no way will it do Dish online. It's possible that the Android app could work if it could be installed. But I would need to hack into the OS to do that.

Why is need to be hacked ? And how to do that ?

#6 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 27 May 2012 - 08:05 PM

Why is need to be hacked ? And how to do that ?


There is no way that I can see to install an app, other than those provided by LG.

I suppose hacking would involve either a jtag interface or possible serial port access while it is booting. :confused:
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,297 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 May 2012 - 11:44 PM

I thought there is well known venue for that, seems it's not develop yet.




spam firewall