Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Wifi LCD and the 922


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Calvin386

Calvin386

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 282 posts
Joined: May 23, 2007

Posted 26 May 2012 - 06:55 AM

I have an out of the way place in my home that I would like to put an LCD.

Can I get one that is wifi ready and go to the Dish website via wifi LCD and watch TV ?

Has anyone done with any success?

Thanks...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:46 AM

I have an out of the way place in my home that I would like to put an LCD.

Can I get one that is wifi ready and go to the Dish website via wifi LCD and watch TV ?

Has anyone done with any success?

Thanks...


More like does the TV have a browser? If so who's browser does it support....as of now I know IE9, FF, work....Just because a TV or DVD player have internet conection dosent mean it works like a computer...most do not and use some kind of app. for streaming programing.

#3 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 26 May 2012 - 03:13 PM

My LG TV has its own browser but no way will it do Dish online. It's possible that the Android app could work if it could be installed. But I would need to hack into the OS to do that.
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#4 OFFLINE   Calvin386

Calvin386

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 282 posts
Joined: May 23, 2007

Posted 27 May 2012 - 05:43 AM

That's why I asked. Looks like this is not going to happen.

Thanks

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,849 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 May 2012 - 09:33 AM

My LG TV has its own browser but no way will it do Dish online. It's possible that the Android app could work if it could be installed. But I would need to hack into the OS to do that.

Why is need to be hacked ? And how to do that ?

#6 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 27 May 2012 - 08:05 PM

Why is need to be hacked ? And how to do that ?


There is no way that I can see to install an app, other than those provided by LG.

I suppose hacking would involve either a jtag interface or possible serial port access while it is booting. :confused:
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,849 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 May 2012 - 11:44 PM

I thought there is well known venue for that, seems it's not develop yet.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...