Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR21 How to move Series manager data to replacement HR21

series manager

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Cosy458

Cosy458

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 26, 2012

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:19 AM

One of our 2 HR21 DVRs has been locking up lately, and have a replacement unit here. The issue is: the old DVR series manager is full with 50 items. Some of the items are seasonal, and others mainly of the local PBS stations are no schedule, just seem to appear randomly, some less than 1/month. Even to enter by hand each item, many would not be possibly since they wouldn't appear in the guide until 2 weeks prior to airing. We are current with watching recorded programming, so, there is nothing there to transfer.

Assuming that the DVR has Linux OS, the data is likely a file in the user's area (some name), would it be possible to copy the file to a PC running Linux (I have several running Ubuntu), and then copy the file to the new HR21. Understand that means opening both of the boxes. I am somewhat familiar with Linux, Gparted, and Clonezilla.

Some questions, hopefully someone has access to the contents of a hard drive:
1: Is the Series manager data a single file, and it's name?
2: Is the file(s) encrypted? If not could one search the file for a text string to find the file?
3: Would the HR21 see the different file size, and flag that as an error?
4: Would back up the new drive with Clonezilla, and if necessary restore it.
5: Has anyone done this?
6: The old HR21 is operational, if it is returned with a missing tamper seal, is that a concern?
7: Using 2PC, is there a way to enter the series manager data easier than using the remote control?

Thanking in advance for any comments. :)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,067 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:20 AM

You can't move SL's from one DVR to another. You must setup a new SL on the new DVR.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   Cosy458

Cosy458

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 26, 2012

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:49 AM

Thanks for the quick reply. :) That's what I understood, but am looking for a work around that the more experienced could do. It totally amazes me that Directv doesn't have a way to do it. This is a very common occurrence to replace a receiver. I'm sure all the basics of making it happen are already in the DVR to upload and download a file. All that would be necessary, writing a little script (programming) to make it happen. There isn't a lot of security concern on this data. Essentially all cell phones have the capability to move data t/from PC's., other phones, etc.

#4 OFFLINE   njblackberry

njblackberry

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 653 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:56 AM

Nonetheless, there is no way to do it.
Sorry.

#5 ONLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,774 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:19 AM

You can't move SL's from one DVR to another. You must setup a new SL on the new DVR.


RunnerFL,

Not to differ, but, if you are using an external esata box when you replace the DVR's, the Series Links will be there and work on the new box. Of course, any recordings on that box will not be viewable on the new DVR. I have done this more than once when replacing my old HR20's with new HR24's.

Of course, this won't help the op.

#6 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,495 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:41 AM

Pen and paper.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#7 OFFLINE   Cosy458

Cosy458

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 26, 2012

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:44 AM

No External Esata box. :( We do have the off the air tuners, and DO record heavily from the 2 local PBS sub channels. Their guides are less than perfect at times which doesn't help the situation. Thanks again for the replies. I was hoping someone could shed light on the file structure situation.

I have started a spreadsheet of all the items, so I can at least attack the data entry in an organized fashion. I did try to photograph the series manager screen and run the JPG file trough OCR, but didn't work. I did think about bringing the DVR feed into the PC (it has both HD digital and analog tuners and inputs), use a screen grabber (Snagit), and run that through the OCR. But this is going fairly well into the spreedsheet manually. :)

#8 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:50 AM

Pen and paper.


I used my cell phone to take pictures of each screen of the Series manager. Was much quicker for me.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#9 OFFLINE   bobcamp1

bobcamp1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 26 May 2012 - 11:52 AM

I used my cell phone to take pictures of each screen of the Series manager. Was much quicker for me.


Yep, cell phone or digital camera.

#10 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,067 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 May 2012 - 12:37 PM

Of course, this won't help the op.


That's why I didn't bring it up.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#11 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 26 May 2012 - 01:11 PM

If you have a way to copy the drive using the outlined technique in the the TIps and Resources forum, all the SL's will be on the new dvr...there is no other way to do it, and it would require breaking your TOS with D* if you don't own the dvr's in question.

#12 OFFLINE   Cosy458

Cosy458

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 26, 2012

Posted 27 May 2012 - 06:54 AM

Well, the new HR21 is operational, and the Series manager, Favorites, and quick tune are pretty close to the old DVR. Total time, about 6 hours. Will have to see how much old stuff that we have seen before and will get deleted turns up in the playlist. :(

While viewing the setup stuff, the whole-house seems like it is capable to transfer series manager info to another DVR which we have, but then again it might only transfer a working copy, or even just go out and request what's wanted.

Thanks everyone for there comments.

#13 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,180 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 27 May 2012 - 08:31 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...alendar.php?c=3

That will help you set up recordings for shows upcoming...

And I do think that someday they may figure out how to give us setting to back up all our series links to our accounts online so this is a much easier thing to deal with.

#14 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,642 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 28 May 2012 - 05:36 AM

Well, the new HR21 is operational, and the Series manager, Favorites, and quick tune are pretty close to the old DVR. Total time, about 6 hours...

I'm no speed demon but this process takes me less than 2 hours (I just did it a week ago, during Meet the Press and Face the Nation). If you took 10 minutes to do favs and QT that would give you 7 minutes apiece to do 50 SLs. If you went out and made a sandwich during each of those 50 SL resets, I might be able to see how it would take 7 minutes each. 6 hours? Really? I think we might now have a hyperbole-based credibility gap here.
It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#15 OFFLINE   Cosy458

Cosy458

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 26, 2012

Posted 28 May 2012 - 11:00 AM

First made a spreadsheet of the series manager items, including if possible channel, sub channel (there is an antenna), day of week, and time. Then was able to fairly quickly locate in guide the programs and double click record. But with a fresh load, it was 24 hours before guide was complete. Many of the 50 items are seasonal, or not regular scheduled, required searching for titles. There are still 12 programs that I have not been able to schedule. With the favorites, I selected to empty the list and selected the favorites starting with channel I receive. Since I didn't have an official list of the old favorites, I selected a few that turned out to not be our liking, and a few PPV. This took time to sort out and correct. And last there was Quick tune selections. I very computer literate, but this is a lot of monkey business.

And then to top it all off, the replacement receiver crashed and reset itself just before noon today after being online 18 hours.

Just had a wild thought: The HR21 is setting directly above an AM21 off the air tuner, which is setting directly on a solid wood dresser top. The room is air conditioned at 74F. The current HR21 internal temperature is 113F. I'm going to make some 3/4" square wood sticks to create a space under both units.

#16 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,050 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 28 May 2012 - 11:04 AM

I think it should be trivial task - under Linux mount both drives, copy a few files - done.

#17 OFFLINE   Cosy458

Cosy458

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 26, 2012

Posted 28 May 2012 - 11:29 AM

That is my thinking, a few files, but there was no response as to precedence, file names, etc. And there is the issue of the tamper seal, what happens if the receiver is not damaged, operational and returned. The prospect of $100's is a tough gamble for a non- gambler. I am quite good at not damaging equipment, and being able to restore things to original condition. I did just install some spacers between the units. After 10 minutes, it's still 113F. The other HR21 with AM21 below is top unit in an entertainment center cabinet, showing idle 118F, so maybe temperature is not an issue.

I'm getting more than a little disgusted with the situation. I was somewhat reluctant to go for the replacement, and now may have a worst unit. I still have the old HR21 boxed ready to end back, will hold on to that one for a while. I don't think Dish would be much better. Have thought a bit, about a big dish (yea they aren't that big today), but a search a while back, didn't yield much in program subscriptions. Will have to dig deeper.

#18 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,050 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 28 May 2012 - 11:52 AM

They did some (not sure if all user's settings) backup/restore using remote's memory for such cases.

#19 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,717 posts
  • LocationLancaster, PA area
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 28 May 2012 - 01:13 PM

You can't move SL's from one DVR to another. You must setup a new SL on the new DVR.


Would be nice if we could use the USB port on the IRD to save our settings for transferring them to a new IRD via USB thumbdrive, for example.

HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200 (2), 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV), Cinema Kit (Wifi connection)
Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.


#20 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,180 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 May 2012 - 02:10 PM

Would be nice if we could use the USB port on the IRD to save our settings for transferring them to a new IRD via USB thumbdrive, for example.


I'd prefer to be able to have my units automatically backup all settings nightly to my online account. And make an easy way to download them to a new unit.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: series manager

Protected By... spam firewall...And...