Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Use 3lnb phase 3(18x20) with 18" round to get 119?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   trent741

trent741

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 28 May 2012 - 08:45 PM

Tried getting all 3 birds together on phase 3 18x20 all weekend at my mom's cabin without success... I can only get the 101/110 together or 119 by itself. How, or can I use a 18" round dish to get the 119? I think I will have to use a Multiswitch, but not sure which one or how to do it.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 28 May 2012 - 08:46 PM

Were you aiming the dish at the 110 satellite? You need to set the Tilt, mount the dish on a very plumb pole with line of site to all three sats, then aim the dish using the meter on one of the three 110 satellite transponders.

If you dont use 110, the elevation will be totally off.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   trent741

trent741

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 28 May 2012 - 09:25 PM

Yes have Los problem, lots of trees... That's why I am asking if I feel I can use 2 dishes...

#4 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,075 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 28 May 2012 - 10:47 PM

Actually I think you can; :)

But you're going to need a 101/110/119 multi-switch and a component called a "SatC" combiner (google for it).

Align the triple sat dish on 101/110 making sure 119 is indeed blocked. Then connect two coax lines from the triple sat dish to the 101 L,R (or "Sat A") inputs of the multi-switch. Then run a third shorter coax line from the triple sat dish to the 110 input of the SatC combiner and another shorter line from a standard round dish aligned on 119 to the 119 input of the SatC combiner.

Now run the output of the combiner to the 110/119 (on the "Sat B" side) input of the multi-switch. Finally run the other output of the 119 dish to the 119 input of the multi-switch.

A little unorthodox for sure, but I can't see why it shouldn't work.

Gook luck.

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,616 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 29 May 2012 - 12:16 AM

You'll find everything you need to know about combining those dishes here ....
http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=62223
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,075 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 29 May 2012 - 10:21 AM

You'll find everything you need to know about combining those dishes here ....
http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=62223


Hey litzdog;

Yeah, that web-page was the first thing I thought about referring the OP to. But it seemed to be dealing with multi-dish setups for the Ka/Ku band reception using the now long obsolete AT-9 sidecar dish as a base. Though I admit I haven't read over all the pages in that old thread.

What the OP wanted was an SD multi-dish setup using a Phase III triple sat and a separate Phase I round for 119. So I just detailed the procedure which should work.

The page was also sort of hard to locate since I see you no longer have the link in your signature.

But I guess you removed it as there may not be much call for it since AT9s would be pretty hard to find these days ... ;)

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,790 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 May 2012 - 10:55 AM

Tried getting all 3 birds together on phase 3 18x20 all weekend at my mom's cabin without success... I can only get the 101/110 together or 119 by itself. How, or can I use a 18" round dish to get the 119? I think I will have to use a Multiswitch, but not sure which one or how to do it.


Yes have Los problem, lots of trees... That's why I am asking if I feel I can use 2 dishes...

If LOS is the problem, I'm guessing you were moving the dish location to be able to get 101/110, or 119.
If you weren't moving the dish, then these results suggest something else is going on.
There is no need for the 110 SAT any longer, so it's now fairly simple to combine two dishes for the 101 & 119 SATs.
The WB68 switch is also the most common switch, so should be the cheapest/easiest to find.
Two coax from each dish, where the 13 & 18 volt go to the 101 [or the phase III for 101] and the 13 & 18 volt 22 kHz go to the 119 dish.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,075 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 29 May 2012 - 12:59 PM

Just to note:

My assumption was that for whatever reasons, the OP might still wish to keep the Phase III dish anyway even though its not technically necessary. So I tried to give him a way to do that. :)

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,790 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 May 2012 - 02:08 PM

Just to note:

My assumption was that for whatever reasons, the OP might still wish to keep the Phase III dish anyway even though its not technically necessary. So I tried to give him a way to do that. :)

The Phase III + 18" round, will work fine.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   trent741

trent741

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 29 May 2012 - 04:33 PM

Yes, I got 101/110 in one location without finding 119 then the other location I got 119 and couldn't get 101& 110. I understand I only need 101& 119 for the locals. What I don't understand is if I use the phase 3 for 101/110 which is locked and being used now and just want to place a 18" round in the other location to get 119 for the locals how to combine the signal before the receiver.... If I use a wb68 how do I do it since I thought the phase 3 has a built in Multiswitch already then the 18" would have a single lnb which would only have one coax coming off of it.?

#11 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 29 May 2012 - 04:41 PM

Yes, I got 101/110 in one location without finding 119 then the other location I got 119 and couldn't get 101& 110. I understand I only need 101& 119 for the locals. What I don't understand is if I use the phase 3 for 101/110 which is locked and being used now and just want to place a 18" round in the other location to get 119 for the locals how to combine the signal before the receiver.... If I use a wb68 how do I do it since I thought the phase 3 has a built in Multiswitch already then the 18" would have a single lnb which would only have one coax coming off of it.?


You would need a dual LNB(1 orbital location, 2 outputs) for the 18". After that, run the 2 lines from the 18" to the tone side of the switch. Run the Phase 3 lines to the no tone side of the switch.
DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.

#12 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,799 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 29 May 2012 - 04:50 PM

But it seemed to be dealing with multi-dish setups for the Ka/Ku band reception using the now long obsolete AT-9 sidecar dish as a base.

Wasn't it established that there was no way to stack multiple dishes to get Ka/Ku to work (since 101W gets stacked with 99W and 110W+119W get stacked with 103W)?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,790 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 May 2012 - 04:52 PM

Wasn't it established that there was no way to stack multiple dishes to get Ka/Ku to work (since 101W gets stacked with 99W and 110W+119W get stacked with 103W)?

No, but it ain't easy/simple to do either.
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   trent741

trent741

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 29 May 2012 - 06:01 PM

[quote name='"dielray"']

You would need a dual LNB(1 orbital location, 2 outputs) for the 18". After that, run the 2 lines from the 18" to the tone side of the switch. Run the Phase 3 lines to the no tone side of the switch.[/QUOTE

Ok so just add 18" dish with a dual lnb, and get a wb68 switch? Not sure if I understand about hooking up lines to tone/no tone sides but can look it up as long as that is what I need....thanks

#15 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 29 May 2012 - 06:52 PM

Ok so just add 18" dish with a dual lnb, and get a wb68 switch? Not sure if I understand about hooking up lines to tone/no tone sides but can look it up as long as that is what I need....thanks


Yes. Be aware the elevation and azimuth will be different than what the receiver tells you.

The tone side will be marked 103/110/119. The no tone side will be marked 99/101.
DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.

#16 OFFLINE   trent741

trent741

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 29 May 2012 - 07:05 PM

Got it, thanks!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...