Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to change equipment listed on account?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   baltz

baltz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2012

Posted 01 June 2012 - 07:43 PM

New member here...

I've been a long time lurker and just finally got around to signing up.

Here is my dilemma:

I originally had Directv installed about 2 years ago and got 2 receivers: hr23 and h23. The install was done with a SWM LNB, but no whole home or internet connection was done by the installer.

I eventually added an hr24 from solid signal and added whole home. I did this all myself, but it is hooked up in a 100% Directv supported way.

SWM LNB > Power Inserter > 4 way splitter

The four outputs are:
1 > hr24
2 > white DECA > hr23
3 > white DECA > h23
4 > black DECA (CCK) > Router

The problem is that I simply called in and had MRV added to my account which resulted in it being listed as unsupported.

So here's the real problem:

I want to switch out my hr23 for an hr34 (still at 8 tuners).
I called DTV and I was originally offered it for free until he realized that he had to charge a "whole home install" fee which is $199 plus a $49 fee for a CCK. The best that he could do was ~$200 for hr34 with installation. There was no way that he could send the box without installation either, which is what I preferred anyway since it would be such a simple swap.

Is there any way to update my account so that it shows the proper whole home equipment? It seems crazy for installation to be $250 when it is an easy swap that should take 2 minutes.

$200 for an hr34 installed isn't bad, but if I can get it cheaper, why not?

Any tips or information would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 June 2012 - 07:47 PM

Call the Access Card department, and request they update your account to reflect the current equipment. As you noted, you already have all the approved equipment. Irregardless, I think they still require an installation for the HR34's, but you dont need another CCK or any whole home stuff.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,405 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 June 2012 - 07:55 PM

New member here...


The problem is that I simply called in and had MRV added to my account which resulted in it being listed as unsupported.


Thanks!


you knew the repercussions of being "unsupported" would bring. you just did not know how soon..... :bang

:shrug:

#4 OFFLINE   baltz

baltz

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2012

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:07 PM

Call the Access Card department, and request they update your account to reflect the current equipment. As you noted, you already have all the approved equipment. Irregardless, I think they still require an installation for the HR34's, but you dont need another CCK or any whole home stuff.


Thanks, I didn't realize the Access Card department could do that!

It was originally going to be $448 for hr34 plus install, but he could waive that. He ran into an issue and the cheapest he could get it before discounts was $647, so he could only get it to $197.

you knew the repercussions of being "unsupported" would bring. you just did not know how soon..... :bang

:shrug:


I figured I would just have issues with support in the future, but I wasn't worried about that. I didn't think it would cause an issue with upgrading equipment later! Oh well, hopefully the access card department can get it worked out.

#5 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,442 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:10 PM

My setup is configured correctly as well, but it's still unsupported because I did it myself. AFAIK, they don't just take your word for it, and adding an HR34 will require the truck roll and verification of supported MRV.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#6 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:22 PM

My setup is configured correctly as well, but it's still unsupported because I did it myself. AFAIK, they don't just take your word for it, and adding an HR34 will require the truck roll and verification of supported MRV.


Yea, its just like everything else with them...depends who answers the phone :)

In any case, they can notate the equipment in use, so they wont force him to purchase another CCK, and associated costs, hopefully.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#7 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 01 June 2012 - 09:17 PM

Yea, its just like everything else with them...depends who answers the phone :)

In any case, they can notate the equipment in use, so they wont force him to purchase another CCK, and associated costs, hopefully.


If the equipment hasn't been on a DIRECTV work order then the system will require everything to be installed like normal.

ACDT can't change the equipment listed as installed on the account as that gets translated from work orders. The only exception is SWM which can be tested for, technical is going to be the best place as they do it more, by any agent and once verified it can get changed on the accont.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#8 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 June 2012 - 09:45 PM

If the equipment hasn't been on a DIRECTV work order then the system will require everything to be installed like normal.


Did not know that. So if you have your system installed by a Home Theatre installer/dealer, rather than DirecTv, you cant upgrade without paying DirecTv to come out and reinstall everything?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#9 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 01 June 2012 - 11:35 PM

Did not know that. So if you have your system installed by a Home Theatre installer/dealer, rather than DirecTv, you cant upgrade without paying DirecTv to come out and reinstall everything?


Depending on the scenario yes unless they are a DIRECTV dealer that is authorized to do that type of installation.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#10 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 02 June 2012 - 01:10 AM

....

Irregardless


Is that even a word? Hahahaha. Shades is correct if it is a DIY, the DTV system doesnt know, so you will be scheduled for an install.....HMC$399......Whole home install...$199......CCK $99...Tech...$99.....not to mention equipment,,,I'd take it!
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#11 OFFLINE   baltz

baltz

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2012

Posted 03 June 2012 - 04:28 PM

That's what I was afraid of. Thanks for the info. $200 isn't bad for an hr34, but I was hoping to get it cheaper.

#12 OFFLINE   baltz

baltz

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2012

Posted 05 June 2012 - 06:13 AM

Well, I tried again to see what would happen...

I got the hr34 totally free and they even threw in Sunday Ticket. That's on top of my previous discounts of $20 off my base package for a year and free Showtime for a year.

I'm very happy and will be with Directv for at least another 2 years.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...