Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV National HD Listing/Maps Discussion Thread (Technical - Not Anticipation)


  • Please log in to reply
652 replies to this topic

#381 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,795 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 26 July 2012 - 01:23 PM

I see a 751 CNBC and a 751 soccer channel both are the same channel.


I see this in my Guide:

751: Olympic Soccer Channel
751: CNBC
752: Olympic Basketball Channel

When I use the guide to navigate to the CNBC 751, I get a black screen. Nothing. (I have CNBC in my package, the regular channel works).

Soccer channel works perfectly fine, the games look good. Basketball channel of course has no coverage yet, they start play on Saturday.

When I use the remote to go to 751 directly, I go to the Soccer channel.

I have no idea though, how the 751 CNBC popped up there. I am assuming its just a simple human error in setting up the Soccer and Basketball channels, and they will - soon - add channel remaps for the other channels.
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#382 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,795 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 26 July 2012 - 01:25 PM

Notes from last data of doctor j:

name	num	net	tp	vpid	apid	redir_net
*DTV	9751	11	2	1010	1012	10	Olympics Soccer Ch. HD (Hidden)	Olympics Soccer Channel HD Hidden
*DTV	9752	11	2	1020	1022	10	Olympics Basketball HD (Hidden)	Olympics Basketball HD Channel Hidden
*DTV	9603	10	5	1040	1042		NBC Sports HD (Hidden)	NBC Sports Network HD Hidden
*DTV	9355	11	5	1020	1022	10	CNBC HD (Hidden)	CNBC  HD  Hidden
*DTV	9356	10	5	1030	1032		MSNBC HD (Hidden)	MSNBC  HD  Hidden
*DTV	9237	11	5	1060	1062	10	Bravo HD (Hidden)	Bravo HD Hidden


Which topic does doctorj usually posts these in? Looked around real quick, but probably didn't go to the right forum.
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#383 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,436 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 26 July 2012 - 01:39 PM

I see this in my Guide:

751: Olympic Soccer Channel
751: CNBC
752: Olympic Basketball Channel

When I use the guide to navigate to the CNBC 751, I get a black screen. Nothing. (I have CNBC in my package, the regular channel works).

Soccer channel works perfectly fine, the games look good. Basketball channel of course has no coverage yet, they start play on Saturday.

When I use the remote to go to 751 directly, I go to the Soccer channel.

I have no idea though, how the 751 CNBC popped up there. I am assuming its just a simple human error in setting up the Soccer and Basketball channels, and they will - soon - add channel remaps for the other channels.


I originally had only one 751 that was 480i and blank. Then I turned all channels on and off now I have the list you show. But I get the same programming in both 751s.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#384 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,845 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 26 July 2012 - 01:48 PM

Which topic does doctorj usually posts these in? Looked around real quick, but probably didn't go to the right forum.


In the 'Tips and Resources' Forum, there is a "Transponder Map" thread that is a standing sticky, updated at the least each Wednesday.

Investigate the various 'tabs' within the Excel. You will literally have 'all' the information at your fingertips.


#385 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,795 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 06 August 2012 - 04:33 PM

So.... BBC America and NGWild confirmed as new HD this month.... not yet in test. Also, there is more HD coming after that.

Where do we think they will house this HD? Now that Tru and E! seem to work perfectly fine as a 6th HD on a transponder, will these two also become 6th HD on existing 5HD transponders?
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#386 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,967 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 06 August 2012 - 04:47 PM

We may find out Wednesday. :)
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#387 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,795 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:24 AM

We may find out Wednesday. :)


So... are they new "sixth HD" channels?
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#388 OFFLINE   mshaw2715

mshaw2715

    Slow but steady.

  • Registered
  • 834 posts
  • LocationSomewhere in Washington
Joined: Apr 21, 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:34 AM

Scott over in the other forum heard that we could see 8 by the time football season starts.

So... are they new "sixth HD" channels?



#389 ONLINE   dhaze

dhaze

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2012

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:42 AM

If you go with 6 per transponder, would that be 312 total HD channels?! Wow, somehow I don't think I'm correct about that assumption.
HR34-700, HR24-200, H24-100, H23-600; 50" Vizio Plasma 720p, 40" Samsung LCD 1080p, 37" LG LCD 1080p, 32" Vizio LCD 1080p; Choice Ultimate + HD Extra Pack & WHDVR, Slimline-3, DECA, CCK

#390 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,985 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:43 AM

Scott over in the other forum heard that we could see 8 by the time football season starts.


Eight what? New channels total maybe. That's a guess anyone can make. Per transponder he is a fool.

#391 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,967 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:47 AM

So... are they new "sixth HD" channels?

Yes, a few, I need to update the maps.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#392 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,795 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:32 PM

What is this change all about?

9245 *DTV PT D11 13 1040

Are they moving TNT to another transponder? (245 is TNT)
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#393 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,967 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:36 PM

What is this change all about?

9245 *DTV PT D11 13 1040

Are they moving TNT to another transponder? (245 is TNT)

Those 9xxx changes are usually related to the 7xx mix channels.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#394 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,967 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:37 PM

Also TNT is covering the PGA so it made sense.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#395 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,795 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:41 PM

Those 9xxx changes are usually related to the 7xx mix channels.


Thanks.... did TNT maybe do a lot of PGA coverage and they just put the channels in a row like they have done in the past? That would explain it.

Oh, and thanks for all the work you do for DBSTalk, I am sure many of us appreciate it a lot.
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#396 OFFLINE   TravelFan1

TravelFan1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2009

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:41 PM

Eight what? New channels total maybe. That's a guess anyone can make. Per transponder he is a fool.


8 HD channels - technology isn't there yet for 8 HD per transponder:

http://www.satellite...tml#post2938545

Rip: Comcast: July 2005 - April 2009 & Dish Network: April 2009-July 2011
Directv since June 2011 and loving it!
Directv wish list:BBC World News, Fox Deportes HD, WatchEspn, FoxSports2Go


#397 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,973 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:51 PM

8 HD channels - technology isn't there yet for 8 HD per transponder:

http://www.satellite...tml#post2938545


Maybe for DIRECTV, but it looks like Dish is putting 9 channels on some western arc transponders, http://www.dbstalk.c...719#post3068719 .

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#398 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,795 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:53 PM

Maybe for DIRECTV, but it looks like Dish is putting 9 channels on some western arc transponders, http://www.dbstalk.c...719#post3068719 .


Their satellites also have space for much more bandwidth per transponder, I think it is somewhere along the lines of 45 Mbps vs DirecTV's 38 Mbps, so a direct comparison between transponders can't be made. Echostar simply contracted a different company to make the satellites to their specifications.
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#399 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,967 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:56 PM

Thanks.... did TNT maybe do a lot of PGA coverage and they just put the channels in a row like they have done in the past? That would explain it.

Oh, and thanks for all the work you do for DBSTalk, I am sure many of us appreciate it a lot.

Thanks ... what I've always noticed is that every time they have mix channels that contain regular HD channels for special events, that they usually have those 9xxx channels as well. It happens all the time for NFL, Golf, Olympics. I don't pay much attention any more to the details other then to report them, because it's always very similar, and they really don't effect anything.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#400 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,973 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:58 PM

Their satellites also have space for much more bandwidth per transponder, I think it is somewhere along the lines of 45 Mbps vs DirecTV's 38 Mbps, so a direct comparison between transponders can't be made. Echostar simply contracted a different company to make the satellites to their specifications.


That's why I qualified it saying maybe not for DIRECTV. Dish is also in the Ku band so they can use less FEC then DIRECTV which uses Ka for their HD transponders.

See post My Setup for configuration info.





spam firewall