Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

how to backup DVR


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   MrC

MrC

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2005

Posted 05 June 2012 - 07:35 PM

interesting...and how long does it take to move a 1 hour HD program from internal to external?

i assume it's the same speed going back to internal?


From the XiP, its about 10 minutes / hour HD. This varies depending upon system load, but it is pretty close. I find transfers are usually done before the estimated time.
ViP 922 + ViP 722

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Transplanted Yankee

Transplanted Yankee

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2010

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:00 AM

Acronis imaged mine just fine


Interesting...I use Acronis. How were you able to snap an image of your DVR? Also, once completed, did you ever bring up the restore menu to see if Acronis was able to see it for the restore, and more importantly see the DVR as a restore target choice?
My wife says that I have never met a tool I haven’t liked. People on the other hand......

#23 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,723 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 June 2012 - 10:35 AM

i assume it's the same speed going back to internal?

It probably goes faster but I can't imagine why you would do such a thing.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#24 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,723 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 June 2012 - 11:30 AM

Interesting...I use Acronis. How were you able to snap an image of your DVR? Also, once completed, did you ever bring up the restore menu to see if Acronis was able to see it for the restore, and more importantly see the DVR as a restore target choice?

This would be a whole lot easier if you would tell us what your goal is. This fishing around isn't getting us anywhere.

BTW, you cannot reasonably image the DVR storage (and you probably wouldn't want to).

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK





Protected By... spam firewall...And...