Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Owned receiver replacement


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:31 PM

I have a owned HR21-PRO that the HDMI output has stopped working on. I also have a problem with my SWM-16 multiswitch, so the Protection Plan is sending a tech out tomorrow to fix the issues. What I need to know is how to handle the replacment that they bring for the HR21-PRO. Since it is owned, I want the replacement to show up as owned as well. I read that the Access Card team needs to be called to activate the replacement in order to make it show up as owned. Do I need to tell the technician when he brings in the replacement, that I will call to do the activation, and then ask to be transferred to the access card dept, or do they have a seperate number where they can be contacted directly? I will appreciate any help that you all can give me. Thanks

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,828 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:42 PM

HR21-PRO units are only owned, there are no leased ones. If they bring an HR21-PRO as a replacement, which they should, they will have to activate it as owned.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,712 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 June 2012 - 02:03 PM

DirecTV does NOT stock HR21-PRO units. most likely the OP will get an HR24 but this one will be leased. you get to keep your HR21-PRO. no way to make a replacement unit "owned"

#4 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,103 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 05 June 2012 - 02:05 PM

DirecTV does NOT stock HR21-PRO units. most likely the OP will get an HR24 but this one will be leased. you get to keep your HR21-PRO. no way to make a replacement unit "owned"


yes there is. If you get a replacement unit, it will probably show up in the system as "leased" but a call to the access card group can change that. I've had to do that a couple of times.

#5 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,691 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 05 June 2012 - 02:06 PM

DirecTV does NOT stock HR21-PRO units. most likely the OP will get an HR24 but this one will be leased. you get to keep your HR21-PRO. no way to make a replacement unit "owned"

I have verified (in writing via e-mail) on more than one occasion (including in 2012) that if you have the protection plan, owned units are replaced (no guarantees on the model) and also flagged as owned.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#6 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,103 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 05 June 2012 - 02:09 PM

I would call as soon as the new unit is activated ask for the access card department and make sure it shows up as owned. Under the PP owned are to be swapped for owned.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#7 OFFLINE   iceturkee

iceturkee

    DINFOS Trained Killer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,165 posts
  • Locationdaytona beach, fl
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 05 June 2012 - 02:17 PM

I have a owned HR21-PRO that the HDMI output has stopped working on. I also have a problem with my SWM-16 multiswitch, so the Protection Plan is sending a tech out tomorrow to fix the issues. What I need to know is how to handle the replacment that they bring for the HR21-PRO. Since it is owned, I want the replacement to show up as owned as well. I read that the Access Card team needs to be called to activate the replacement in order to make it show up as owned. Do I need to tell the technician when he brings in the replacement, that I will call to do the activation, and then ask to be transferred to the access card dept, or do they have a seperate number where they can be contacted directly? I will appreciate any help that you all can give me. Thanks


check your pm :)

#8 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2012 - 02:24 PM

I think that I will tell the installer when he comes, what ever it is that he has that the PRO is owned, and when we call to activate the replacement I want to speak with them on the telephone, and get sent to the access card dept. That way, maybe (if I am lucky) I can get it set correctly from the start. I had a hell of a time getting them to make the HR21-PRO show up as owned when I bought it. They kept telling me it could not be owned, that it was a HR21-200. FINALLY after many e-mails and calls, and pictures that I faxed and e-mailed, they agreed it was a HR21-200P and not just a HR21-200.

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


#9 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,353 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 05 June 2012 - 02:59 PM

I think that I will tell the installer when he comes, what ever it is that he has that the PRO is owned, and when we call to activate the replacement I want to speak with them on the telephone, and get sent to the access card dept. That way, maybe (if I am lucky) I can get it set correctly from the start. I had a hell of a time getting them to make the HR21-PRO show up as owned when I bought it. They kept telling me it could not be owned, that it was a HR21-200. FINALLY after many e-mails and calls, and pictures that I faxed and e-mailed, they agreed it was a HR21-200P and not just a HR21-200.


I went through this recently, I had a Case management involved and the guy came out, knew I had owned equipment and still just activated the receiver from his hand held device. He knew I was going to have an issue with it but could not be bothered to call and have it activated the right way. I hope the guy is willing to do it right the first time. If not, call the Access Card Department directly at 877-887-7994 and get it straightened out as soon as possible. Sometimes they are so good and get it changed so fast that it never hits your account as leased even when they activate it wrong. Be prepared with the old units receiver ID that was swapped and the new so they can clearly see what occurred on your account. Let us know how it goes. I highly doubt you will get a HR21 PRO but hope that it is something better. One thing I will say is that they usually dont like to swap receivers over the phone at the protection plan if its just the HDMI port. That being said when a tech rolls out they dont want to be called back out for the same box in the near future so they are very willing to swap the receiver for you. There are advantages to having someone come out. The odds of getting a replacement HR24 are better from a tech visit then what ever they ship you as well at least in my opinion. Im hoping for the best for you.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#10 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,828 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 05 June 2012 - 03:03 PM

I have verified (in writing via e-mail) on more than one occasion (including in 2012) that if you have the protection plan, owned units are replaced (no guarantees on the model) and also flagged as owned.


And I can confirm this because I've had 2 owned units replaced as owned and I have the PP.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#11 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,353 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 05 June 2012 - 03:26 PM

And I can confirm this because I've had 2 owned units replaced as owned and I have the PP.


I have replaced probably at least 5 owned units under the PP. I have had some issues along the way but in the end all of them were corrected to show as owned for owned swap.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#12 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 05 June 2012 - 04:23 PM

Thank you all very much. I appreciate the help and suggestions. I will let you all know how it turns out tomorrow. Thanks again.

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


#13 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 05 June 2012 - 04:32 PM

And just as a refresher...

http://www.dbstalk.c...607#post1451607

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#14 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 07 June 2012 - 12:41 PM

They came yesterday and fixed my setup. The technician, naturally did not have any more HR21-PRO receivers to replace mine with, but he did have a brand new HR24 to replace it with, so I decided to go with that. The main reason I had the HR21-PRO anyway, was to be able to install a 2TB drive inside rather than using a external HDD. I liked that aspect of the HR21, but it was much slower than the HR24's and HR34 that I have, so for the speed issues I decided to just go with the HR24. I got my 2TB Seagate drive out of the HR21 before the guy came and reinstalled the 500GB drive that came with it. Now all I have to do is find a good enclosure for that drive. I just got off the phone with the access card department. The guy there said that the replacement was listed as leased, when it should have showed up as owned, and he said that he fixed it for me, so that seemed to have went quite smoothly. Thanks for everybody's help here, I appreciate it.

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


#15 OFFLINE   caseyf5

caseyf5

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
  • LocationBethpage, NY 11714
Joined: Mar 21, 2009

Posted 07 June 2012 - 01:33 PM

They came yesterday and fixed my setup. The technician, naturally did not have any more HR21-PRO receivers to replace mine with, but he did have a brand new HR24 to replace it with, so I decided to go with that. The main reason I had the HR21-PRO anyway, was to be able to install a 2TB drive inside rather than using a external HDD. I liked that aspect of the HR21, but it was much slower than the HR24's and HR34 that I have, so for the speed issues I decided to just go with the HR24. I got my 2TB Seagate drive out of the HR21 before the guy came and reinstalled the 500GB drive that came with it. Now all I have to do is find a good enclosure for that drive. I just got off the phone with the access card department. The guy there said that the replacement was listed as leased, when it should have showed up as owned, and he said that he fixed it for me, so that seemed to have went quite smoothly. Thanks for everybody's help here, I appreciate it.

Hello bobvick1983,

Two good enclosures for 2TB and lesser sized SATA hard drives (complete with power and data eSATA cables) are from Antec and Thermaltake.

Antec MX-1

http://store.antec.c...45-77150-4.aspx

Thermaltake (BlacX units)

http://www.thermalta...cts.aspx?S=1268

There are other manufacturers that you could pick from but many prefer the ones from these two manufacturers. Good luck with whatever you choose.
My setup: 1 HR34/700 DVR no external HD, 1 HR24/500 DVR using WD 2TB Green HD and Antec MX-1 enclosure (used for CE) and 3 H24/700 receivers, 1 SL5 Dish (4 cable), 1 SWM16 Multiswitch, 1 Wired CCK. 1 Whole Home with DECA, 1 Sharp LC-37GP1U TV, 1 Sony Home Theater System HT-CT550W (Soundbar), 1 Impact 6x2 Component Video Matrix (Switcher) and 2 Sewell 1x2 HDMI Splitters with Ethernet, 3D Support and 4Kx2K Resolution with multiple hdmi cables with Ethernet.

#16 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,353 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 07 June 2012 - 02:06 PM

They came yesterday and fixed my setup. The technician, naturally did not have any more HR21-PRO receivers to replace mine with, but he did have a brand new HR24 to replace it with, so I decided to go with that. The main reason I had the HR21-PRO anyway, was to be able to install a 2TB drive inside rather than using a external HDD. I liked that aspect of the HR21, but it was much slower than the HR24's and HR34 that I have, so for the speed issues I decided to just go with the HR24. I got my 2TB Seagate drive out of the HR21 before the guy came and reinstalled the 500GB drive that came with it. Now all I have to do is find a good enclosure for that drive. I just got off the phone with the access card department. The guy there said that the replacement was listed as leased, when it should have showed up as owned, and he said that he fixed it for me, so that seemed to have went quite smoothly. Thanks for everybody's help here, I appreciate it.

I recommend you calling back next week and asking what your commitment end date is to see if one started by accident. It is much easier to resolve now then it is down the line.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#17 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 07 June 2012 - 02:23 PM

I recommend you calling back next week and asking what your commitment end date is to see if one started by accident. It is much easier to resolve now then it is down the line.


Thanks for the suggestion, I did not think about that. I will indeed call in a day or two and check.

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


#18 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 07 June 2012 - 02:25 PM

Hello bobvick1983,

Two good enclosures for 2TB and lesser sized SATA hard drives (complete with power and data eSATA cables) are from Antec and Thermaltake.

Antec MX-1

http://store.antec.c...45-77150-4.aspx

Thermaltake (BlacX units)

http://www.thermalta...cts.aspx?S=1268

There are other manufacturers that you could pick from but many prefer the ones from these two manufacturers. Good luck with whatever you choose.


Appreciate the input. I have a Black X that I used with Dish Network on a 1TB drive, and liked it real well. It is USB only, so I will have to get eSATA/USB one for DirecTV. I will take a look at the Antec too.

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


#19 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,882 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 07 June 2012 - 02:57 PM

I have verified (in writing via e-mail) on more than one occasion (including in 2012) that if you have the protection plan, owned units are replaced (no guarantees on the model) and also flagged as owned.

That is true. I have actually done this twice in the past year. Last summer I had my HR23-700 die on me (there were actually flames involved :)). The replacement under the Protection Plan was owned.

The replacement died a couple of months ago and was once again replaced as an owned receiver.

The Protection Plan will replace an owned receiver as an owned receiver.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#20 OFFLINE   Jon J

Jon J

    Grouch Extrordinaire

  • Registered
  • 1,154 posts
  • LocationMusic City, USA
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:07 AM

The Protection Plan will replace an owned receiver as an owned receiver.

This fact is easily confirmed with a quick call to the Access Card Team.
When news breaks...we fix it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...