Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Connection Problems after Disconnection from 8 Way Switcher


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Rbastid

Rbastid

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2012

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:24 PM

SMW Connection Problems after Unplugging

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today we had some work done on the house and we had to unplug all the Coax cables from the 8 way splitter. Upon plugging them back in none worked, until I unplugged and reconnected the SWM Power Supply connected to the one tv.

Upon doing so I noticed I twisted some cables so i unplugged them and decided to finally mark which goes to which box.

When I plugged everything back in now I'm getting a 771A code and its telling me no SWM detected (I checked and its working fine) Some DECAs aren't lighting up but the main one to my 24-500 is working fine.

Any clues? Should certain boxes be connected into certain plugs of the 8 way splitter? (The Input is pointing left so the red plug would be the bottem left, which I'll label plug 7)

Nothing was done besides uplugging the cables from the 8 way splitter. I've tried just booting my main box (24-500) tried with all of them, tried with the main and the box that the SWM is connected to, yet they still all stall at 0% and then give me a 771A code)

Thanks for the help, I've had problems I've solved by reading threads here that Direct TV wasn't any help with, so I'm really hoping my biggest problem can be solved.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:27 PM

First guess is that the PI is no longer connected to the red power passing port, so the SWiM doesn't have power.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Rbastid

Rbastid

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2012

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:44 PM

I just was watching a youtube video that talked about that. I just checked the SWM Power Box cable and made sure to run that to the red plug. That was the problem

THanks so much though for getting back with the same answer, you guys on here are a godsend.

#4 OFFLINE   Rbastid

Rbastid

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2012

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:46 PM

Only problem now is my DECA boxes on my 2nd DVR and 2 HD boxes won't work.

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 June 2012 - 07:01 PM

Only problem now is my DECA boxes on my 2nd DVR and 2 HD boxes won't work.

Do these receivers have a SAT signal now?
What happens if you reboot them?
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   Rbastid

Rbastid

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2012

Posted 06 June 2012 - 07:38 PM

Also incase anyone ever searches and this comes up, The Direct TV folks tell you the red plug on the 8 way switch has nothing special and anything can be plugged in anywhere.

THankfully you guys and youtube know better than the people paid to help us.

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,981 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 June 2012 - 07:43 PM

Also incase anyone ever searches and this comes up, The Direct TV folks tell you the red plug on the 8 way switch has nothing special and anything can be plugged in anywhere.

THankfully you guys and youtube know better than the people paid to help us.

They're sort of right.
If your PI is connecting to the splitter, then it needs the red port, but say the PI is between the splitter and the dish? Well then they're right, the red port can have anything connected.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,991 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 07 June 2012 - 10:58 AM

Some DECAs aren't lighting up but the main one to my 24-500 is working fine.


By this I hope you mean the wireless cinema connection kit and not a regular receiver DECA. HR24, H24 and H25s should not have a receiver DECA on the same line as them.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy




Protected By... spam firewall...And...