Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34: Version 0x054C Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
272 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,104 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:18 AM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for the Summer 2012 release for HR34, version 0x054C

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...756#post3031756

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.


Thanks!

Edited by Scott Kocourek, 08 June 2012 - 12:06 PM.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   scrotus

scrotus

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2012

Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:33 AM

Got installed last Saturday and my internet was hooked up Monday. All seemed cool until yesterday. Started having HDMI handshake issues. Reset of the box fixed them for the evening. Looked and got the 54C software at 4:21AM Thursday morning. Prior version didn't have the handshake issue.

I tried switching HDMI cables and ports on the TV with no success. PS3 operates normally.

Other than that, the box seems to operate fine. I don't have enough experience with it to compare the other features.

Is there a way to force a downgrade and then turn off automatic downloads of new software?

#3 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,847 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:34 AM

Is there a way to force a downgrade and then turn off automatic downloads of new software?


No, there is not.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#4 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,211 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:58 AM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for the Summer 2012 release for HR34, version 0x054B

You mean 0x54c. Cause that whats on my Hr34 as of 5 am yesterday.:)

 

 

 


#5 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 793 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 08 June 2012 - 11:47 AM

Recording start time. Is that a fix for having it start 30 seconds in and having to rewind to get to the beginning.

#6 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 9,104 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 08 June 2012 - 12:07 PM

You mean 0x54c. Cause that whats on my Hr34 as of 5 am yesterday.:)


I certainly did mean that, so I fixed it. :) Thanks

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#7 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,150 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 08 June 2012 - 12:27 PM

Recording start time. Is that a fix for having it start 30 seconds in and having to rewind to get to the beginning.


Yes. It used to lose time through the day if the unit was never put in standby. that should be fixed now.

#8 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,211 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2012 - 05:01 PM

I certainly did mean that, so I fixed it. :) Thanks

I know you did. It was in your title!:)

 

 

 


#9 OFFLINE   stevec328

stevec328

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2012

Posted 08 June 2012 - 06:17 PM

Got 54c yesterday morning. As of right now, it appears to have cured a HDMI handshake issue I was having ( HR-34, Denon 1912, and an older Sony rear projection. Haven't noticed any other issues.

#10 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,852 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:40 PM

Well, with 0x054c, I now have the issue that Texas Moose has in the post below. Can I please go back 2 releases, when things were working there best?


+1

Here's the latest madness that's going on with my HMC:

Posted Image


HR34-700, HR22-100

#11 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,211 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 09 June 2012 - 05:04 AM

Well, with 0x054c, I now have the issue that Texas Moose has in the post below. Can I please go back 2 releases, when things were working there best?

Yep, I have the same Glitch. I've had this since Day one. 3 software releases and no change.:(

This is the only Glitch mine has that I noticed.

 

 

 


#12 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 09 June 2012 - 06:38 AM

Yep, I have the same Glitch. I've had this since Day one. 3 software releases and no change.:(

This is the only Glitch mine has that I noticed.


I get the same glitch, too. What bothers me more is that sometimes when I'm scrolling around in the guide, it takes the guide about 1.5 seconds to respond to a remote command. Why so slow? I'm gonna reboot, but I get tried of rebooting every other day or so. Sometime when I reboot the full guide comes all the way back in about 30 minutes. Sometimes it doesn't come all the way back for about 20 hours. Anybody know why? Thanks!

#13 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,262 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 09 June 2012 - 07:40 AM

Ok, for awhile now my Marantz and HR34 have not played nicely, especially when it comes to pink screens. I recently went back and forth with running thru the Marantz with HDMI, or direct to the display with digi coax to the Marantz. What I've found is it works a lot better with HDMI to the display and coax to the Marantz. I also found, after noticing odd things with the picture, if I went into the Marantz menu and checked source rez, color space and pixel depth, vs output, there was an issue.

It should show (say for a 1080i channel on Directv)

1080i/60--1080i/60
ycbcr 444--ycbcr 444
8 bit--8bit

Well, whenever I jump to say a 720p channel, bascially something that requires a rez change, the Marantz info will go blank for input data and output. This was not always the case, because ive had the HR34 for awhile, but seems to be getting worse for me.

Long story short, if you have a Marantz or Denon and the HR34 is not playing nicely, then this is a suitable option for you. I know its not a Marantz internal issue because it plays fine with multiple Blu players, a Roku and an ATV.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#14 OFFLINE   bflora

bflora

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Nov 05, 2007

Posted 09 June 2012 - 08:46 AM

Just had a new bug appear. The screen saver appeared while I was watching live FNC. I pressed play and it disappeared, but came back within a few minutes. I have started a reset and will see what happens. I have had the screen saver come on on my hr20-700 but it never came back so soon.

#15 OFFLINE   don s

don s

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2011

Posted 09 June 2012 - 01:19 PM

On the previous version, I had trouble getting it to go into slow motion (by holding down the PLAY button). It appears better now.

Still pretty slow overall, way slower than my HR-24 boxes, maybe a bit better since this last update. I can't tell just yet...

#16 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 09 June 2012 - 03:16 PM

On the previous version, I had trouble getting it to go into slow motion (by holding down the PLAY button). It appears better now.

Still pretty slow overall, way slower than my HR-24 boxes, maybe a bit better since this last update. I can't tell just yet...


Just the opposite for us. The HR24 is way slower than the HR34. that said neither would win a race against a sloth.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#17 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 09 June 2012 - 08:04 PM

Just the opposite for us. The HR24 is way slower than the HR34. that said neither would win a race against a sloth.


The new software in my HR24 makes it much much faster. Press GUIDE and you get GUIDE, presto.

#18 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 11 June 2012 - 01:28 PM

We got to a campground yesterday and I could not find a spot that could allow the dish to "see" the satellites. Had some signal but not strong enough. Decided to wait til morning to do more dish aligning. We have lots of recordings so we decided to catch up on some of those. Well the HR34 kept resetting itself, about the longest it would last playing a recorded show was maybe 20 minutes. Then wait 15 for it to boot again. The HR24 did not do it. And neither would display the other playlist.

What piles of crap these boxes are. Our old DTiVos would immediatley ask if you wanted to go to the playlist when they discovered no signal. And then you could play recorded content. Not these Murdoch boxes. Very frustrating indeed.

Finally found a spot on the campsite that had a view of the satellites this morning and the boxes are working and displaying all items in the playlists. Very poor planning on someones part not to allow functionality without signal.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#19 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,847 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 11 June 2012 - 01:39 PM

Not these Murdoch boxes.


NDS/Murdoch has nothing to do with these.

Finally found a spot on the campsite that had a view of the satellites this morning and the boxes are working and displaying all items in the playlists. Very poor planning on someones part not to allow functionality without signal.


Why would you expect it to work without a signal? Do you expect your car to run without gas too?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#20 OFFLINE   lgb0250

lgb0250

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2010

Posted 11 June 2012 - 02:53 PM

Had my first missed recording last night. Was scheduled to record Food Network Star on the HR34 and it didn't happen. In the meantime I tried to set up a series manager for the same program on one of my HR23's and couldn't make it happen! Usually when I press the record button once for the current program and then twice for a series there is no problem. Now I cannot get that feature on the HR23. When I hit the record the second time it just cancels the recording completely! Went to the search feature and when I found the show it didn't give me an option to set up a series, just individual shows. Sorry for the digression but these boxes need a lot of work. Seems like every time we get new software the problems just get worse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...