Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Remote is sloooooooow


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lipcrkr

lipcrkr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 276 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2012

Posted 08 June 2012 - 07:38 PM

I just passed 1 month for DirecTV and since last week, changing channels has become very slow. Is this normal? I've tried both remotes (Harmony/DirecTV) and still slow. I have HD but no DVR, all my channels react the same way.....using channel number, last 4, last channel, etc. What will usually happen is i press the channel, then it will delay for 10-15 seconds, then the screen will go black for about 10-15 seconds, then it will be fine. Never had this problem on TWC, it was instant. Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:08 PM

I just passed 1 month for DirecTV and since last week, changing channels has become very slow. Is this normal? I've tried both remotes (Harmony/DirecTV) and still slow. I have HD but no DVR, all my channels react the same way.....using channel number, last 4, last channel, etc. What will usually happen is i press the channel, then it will delay for 10-15 seconds, then the screen will go black for about 10-15 seconds, then it will be fine. Never had this problem on TWC, it was instant. Any ideas?

Well lets Start with Model Number of your receiver. Sound like H21 :)

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#3 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:10 PM

Also try a reboot!
Press the red reset button.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#4 OFFLINE   lipcrkr

lipcrkr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 276 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2012

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:28 PM

I have the H25. What do i reboot? Will this mess up my H25?

#5 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,537 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 08 June 2012 - 08:31 PM

I have the H25. What do i reboot? Will this mess up my H25?


No, resetting will not mess up your H25 but it may solve your problem.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#6 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:20 PM

I just passed 1 month for DirecTV and since last week, changing channels has become very slow. Is this normal? I've tried both remotes (Harmony/DirecTV) and still slow. I have HD but no DVR, all my channels react the same way.....using channel number, last 4, last channel, etc. What will usually happen is i press the channel, then it will delay for 10-15 seconds, then the screen will go black for about 10-15 seconds, then it will be fine. Never had this problem on TWC, it was instant. Any ideas?


thats an everyday thing .slowwwww dvr's

#7 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,031 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:04 PM

The OP said he had an H25 and I have had no issues with H25s

My Setup


#8 OFFLINE   lipcrkr

lipcrkr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 276 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2012

Posted 09 June 2012 - 12:41 AM

The OP said he had an H25 and I have had no issues with H25s


I don't have any issues.....it's just that the remote seems to be a little slower than before. I thought since i'm only using 1 remote. no DVR, no BluRay, etc.that it would be a little faster.

#9 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 09 June 2012 - 04:55 AM

thats an everyday thing .slowwwww dvr's

WOW you really should learn to read, maybe even learn to research .H25 is a HD NON DVR.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#10 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,120 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 09 June 2012 - 08:41 AM

No, resetting will not mess up your H25 but it may solve your problem.


"Solve" is an interesting choice of words.
When I had DirecTV, a reboot would always "solve" the problem, until it began to occur again.
It was always my theory that the software suffered from memory leaks. Similar to older Windows-based PCs, they needed to be rebooted in order to clear out the RAM and allow them to perform better.

A true solution would address the root cause of the problem.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#11 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,634 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 June 2012 - 09:01 AM

"Solve" is an interesting choice of words.
When I had DirecTV, a reboot would always "solve" the problem, until it began to occur again.
It was always my theory that the software suffered from memory leaks. Similar to older Windows-based PCs, they needed to be rebooted in order to clear out the RAM and allow them to perform better.

A true solution would address the root cause of the problem.


Sure, but in the mean time, an occasional reboot is hardly a hardship. I sometimes clear the Guide just because, too.

Do Dish receiver auto-reboot daily, or is that a myth, or limited to some receivers?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,488 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 09 June 2012 - 09:04 AM

I think even the Hopper does this. It is skipped sometimes if it's in use.

#13 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 09 June 2012 - 09:06 AM

"Solve" is an interesting choice of words.
When I had DirecTV, a reboot would always "solve" the problem, until it began to occur again.
It was always my theory that the software suffered from memory leaks. Similar to older Windows-based PCs, they needed to be rebooted in order to clear out the RAM and allow them to perform better.

A true solution would address the root cause of the problem.

I agree, and with all the so called Directv Lookie Loo's around the Forums why are these issues still going on to this day.

Hire some new software programmers for crying out loud!

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#14 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,488 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 09 June 2012 - 09:06 AM

DVR or not is still slowwwwww


How much have you used an H25? Generally, they are quite fast.

#15 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 09 June 2012 - 09:13 AM

How much have you used an H25? Generally, they are quite fast.

He has Never used one piece of Directv equipment in his life.

He just another one of those , I'll read everyone elses post, and then just open my big mouth like I know something. Why do you think he only ever post one line. Cause he has no clue!:nono2:

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#16 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,841 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 09 June 2012 - 09:34 AM

"Solve" is an interesting choice of words.
When I had DirecTV, a reboot would always "solve" the problem, until it began to occur again.
It was always my theory that the software suffered from memory leaks. Similar to older Windows-based PCs, they needed to be rebooted in order to clear out the RAM and allow them to perform better.

A true solution would address the root cause of the problem.

Sure, but in the mean time, an occasional reboot is hardly a hardship. I sometimes clear the Guide just because, too.

Do Dish receiver auto-reboot daily, or is that a myth, or limited to some receivers?

I guess since DISH has programmers that are so much more advanced then DIRECTV, they did this very technical programming to solve their memory leaks. Create a scheduler to automatically reboot every evening. :rolleyes:
HR34-700, HR22-100

#17 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 09 June 2012 - 11:07 AM

He has Never used one piece of Directv equipment in his life.

He just another one of those , I'll read everyone elses post, and then just open my big mouth like I know something. Why do you think he only ever post one line. Cause he has no clue!:nono2:


for your info i was a directv sub before switching to dish

#18 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,835 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 09 June 2012 - 11:15 AM

for your info i was a directv sub before switching to dish

Again another packed full of information post.:lol:

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#19 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,024 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 09 June 2012 - 11:25 AM

Please get back to the topic and not discuss each other.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#20 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,024 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 09 June 2012 - 11:28 AM

This may help:

Go to UserCP
On the left side under Settings & Options
Click Edit Ignore List
Add a Member to your list

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE





spam firewall