Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Nightly Update with EHD


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   js0873

js0873

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2005

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:25 AM

I have a Western Digital 1.5TB EHD connected to my Hopper with about 1 TB of recorded programming. I've found that the nightly system update takes a very long time, upwards of 25 minutes or more with it connected. It says it's doing a system integrity check that should take no more than 10 minutes, but it takes at least 20 or so and usually 25 minutes or longer counting the reboot process. If I disconnect the EHD the whole process takes less than 4 minutes.

What does nightly update process do with the EHD that takes it so long? Why must it check something on it every night? Is there a way around this, other than disconnecting the EHD which I finally did last night?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Charise

Charise

    AllStar/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 885 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2004

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:47 AM

I noticed this for the first time last week. My EHD is connected to a 622 (original with which I haven't had problems), and though the update is set for the standard 3:00 a.m., the receiver is starting and restarting for over 1/2 hour beginning around 6:30. I don't know if it's doing the update at 3:00 also.

I have unplugged the EHD but left the USB intact between the EHD and 622, and I don't think this was happening--at least it wasn't waking me up--so I'll go back to that.

EHD is important with the 622 due to less space on the HD. :D

I haven't heard of this happening before, but an easy fix in my estimation.

#3 OFFLINE   JmC

JmC

    Jagannatha

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 128 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2005

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:51 AM

I think this has been mentioned a couple of times in regards to 722s.
Jim

BOCTAOE
YSLE

#4 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 11 June 2012 - 09:21 AM

I have a 2TB EHD connected to one of my hoppers and the nighty update takes only 5 minutes at the most

#5 OFFLINE   js0873

js0873

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2005

Posted 11 June 2012 - 09:42 AM

I have a 2TB EHD connected to one of my hoppers and the nighty update takes only 5 minutes at the most


Any idea how much programming is on your 2TB? Maybe we don't have the same amount of programming on it.

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,393 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 June 2012 - 12:21 PM

It's doing fsck().

#7 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 463 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 June 2012 - 03:46 AM

Yep fsck. This is why Dish needs to allow us to set an update time just like on the older receivers, because sometimes when I turn on a hopper it's "fscked" up and I can't watch it until it's done :nono: .

#8 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 13 June 2012 - 09:44 AM

Any idea how much programming is on your 2TB? Maybe we don't have the same amount of programming on it.


right now the EHD is empty

#9 OFFLINE   js0873

js0873

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Apr 18, 2005

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:31 PM

right now the EHD is empty


Well, that would explain it then. FSCK time is dependent on the number of files in use. My question is why fsck must be done on a nightly basis. Any idea?

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,393 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 June 2012 - 03:44 PM

Well, that would explain it then. FSCK time is dependent on the number of files in use. My question is why fsck must be done on a nightly basis. Any idea?


Isn't post#7 had the answer ?




spam firewall