Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Buying my own dish. Which one do I need for my receivers


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dre2112

dre2112

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2009

Posted 11 June 2012 - 11:28 AM

I am forced to do a manual install (I can't work directly with DTV because my apt. complex has a deal with an outside company to purchase packages and install DTV and they don't offer HD). I have 2 receivers on my account at my other house which I want to use at my new apartment and they are the HR23-700 and a R15-500.

Which dish do I need to buy? I noticed there are several types. Probably for my case the smaller the better.

Also, as far as tripods go, are they all the same or are there specific ones I should look for?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 June 2012 - 11:39 AM

You're going to want a Slimine dish. As far as the LNB, you want one that can pick up signals from 99/101/103/110/119. Also, you'll need a REGULAR (Non SWM) LNB, as the R15 won't work with SWM. However, depending on where you're located (Your zip code would tell us), your locals may be in MPEG-4 ONLY, which means your R15 will NOT be able to see them.
http://www.solidsign...ing-SL5-(AU9-S)

#3 OFFLINE   dre2112

dre2112

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2009

Posted 11 June 2012 - 11:44 AM

I'm in 91381. Also, I could do without the R15. It's not important. I can buy another receiver.

#4 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 June 2012 - 11:52 AM

If you want to keep the R15, get this dish: http://www.solidsign...ing-SL5-(AU9-S). If you're willing to upgrade that R15 to something better, get this dish: http://www.solidsign...o-(AU9-SL3-SWM). You'll also need this: http://www.solidsign...ew.asp?p=SWM-PI along with the second dish. The second dish's benefit is that it allows you to run 1 cable to a DVR, but still be able to record 2 channels at once, Unfortunately, the R15 isn't compatible with this, and won't work.

#5 OFFLINE   dre2112

dre2112

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2009

Posted 11 June 2012 - 12:01 PM

thanks for all your help kevin.

So if I scrap the R15 I can do with the AU9-SL3-SWM and does that support the latest and greatest HD-DVRs DTV has to offeR?

Edited by dre2112, 11 June 2012 - 12:12 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 June 2012 - 12:05 PM

thanks for all your help kevin.

So if I scrap the R15 I can do with the AU9-SL3-SWM and does that supper the latest and greatest HD-DVRs DTV has to offeR?


Yes to both questions. Also, if you're HR23 has those little grey/black BBCs on the back of it, get rid of them.

#7 OFFLINE   BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 218 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2010

Posted 11 June 2012 - 10:37 PM

Your zip code is the Los Angeles area. Those of us in this location only need the 3 head LNB (99, 101, 103). And as kevinturcotte noted, the SWM head will work for all newer equipment and is mandated for most of the latest equipment (H25, HR34). But, you do need the Slimline dish which is not "small". So, this raises the question of what kind of a mount you can setup for the dish.

You mentioned the issue of tripods. They are not all equal. You need the heavy duty one with a 2 inch post. You also need a patio or some other flat surface that has an unobstructed view of the southern hemisphere to use a tripod. And you will have to weight it down with sand bags or some other heavy weights since the dish can act as a sail during the Santa Ana winds. So, you need to take that into consideration as well.

#8 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 12 June 2012 - 01:20 AM

Mounting Options

http://www.solidsign...ku=673853802000

http://www.solidsign...ne-Dish-(SLMTRM)

Note with the second one you will need a few of them. Apt complexes can get upset if you attach things to their rails so I'd go with the sled one and just get some cinder blocks to hold it down.

You will need 2" OD pipe so hit a muffler shop and gets some stainless pipe from them.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...