Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

30 second skip deactivated for some commecials-again


  • Please log in to reply
99 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bearcat250

bearcat250

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2004

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:12 PM

This went away for a while but it's back with a twist. Before there were random commercials that the 30 second skip would not work but the fast forward would. The problem went away for a while, but it's back. Only now the 30 second skip appears to be working until you realize that is just moves around on the same commercial. So I have to fast forward through the commercial to get to the next commercial and the 30 second skip works again. Anyone else seeing this?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   gary s

gary s

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2003

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:20 PM

I have noticed the same thing.

#3 OFFLINE   arvada keith

arvada keith

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 11 June 2012 - 06:38 PM

me too, especially the last commercial on HGTV before the program comes back on.

#4 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:21 PM

It'd be really useful for you to state the channel, time, date and approximate location within the recording so others can test it. Otherwise to help you it's a bit of a needle-in-haystack proposition.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#5 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:46 PM

This was generally an issue with DirecTV local ad inserts. Basically, an ad local to you that is aired on a national channel. DirecTV has been trying to get this kind of ad insertion going for a while.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#6 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:57 PM

This was generally an issue with DirecTV local ad inserts. Basically, an ad local to you that is aired on a national channel. DirecTV has been trying to get this kind of ad insertion going for a while.

- Merg


Yes, thanks, I just want to see it first hand. I normally FF @ 3x unless it's FB.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#7 OFFLINE   fornold

fornold

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2006

Posted 11 June 2012 - 07:58 PM

I noticed the same thing from a recording from Food Network Star from the May 29th episode. It was a DirecTV ad.

#8 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:24 PM

I noticed the same thing from a recording from Food Network Star from the May 29th episode. It was a DirecTV ad.


I believe that is what DirecTV is using to test the local ad insertions.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#9 OFFLINE   Mark Holtz

Mark Holtz

    Day Sleeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,862 posts
  • LocationSacramento, CA
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 11 June 2012 - 08:54 PM

It was on Discovery channel during Mythbusters on a local insert. I wonder if the advertisers pay extra for do-not-skip.
"In many ways, this opera does fulfil my often quoted description of what most operas is about. The tenor is trying to sleep with the soprano, and the baritone is trying to stop them." - Sean Bianco, KXPR At The Opera
Check out my list of links.

#10 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 June 2012 - 09:41 PM

It was on Discovery channel during Mythbusters on a local insert. I wonder if the advertisers pay extra for do-not-skip.


Nope. Just a bug.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#11 OFFLINE   inf0z

inf0z

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2011

Posted 11 June 2012 - 09:45 PM

FYI
Fast Forward x4 > 30 skip

#12 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 11 June 2012 - 10:17 PM

FYI
Fast Forward x4 > 30 skip


Not sure what you are saying- that FF x3 or 4 is faster than a series of 30Skips?

Whether yea or nay, I prefer 3x for most FF as I can see just enough to stop it for an ad I want to see, or the resumption of the program.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#13 OFFLINE   bearcat250

bearcat250

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2004

Posted 12 June 2012 - 04:59 AM

It'd be really useful for you to state the channel, time, date and approximate location within the recording so others can test it. Otherwise to help you it's a bit of a needle-in-haystack proposition.


I will moniter this and report as it happens.

#14 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,692 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 12 June 2012 - 05:38 AM

Interesting....I haven't personally seen this happen...but obviously others have.

This seems to be a somewhat-related discussion:

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=205906
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#15 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 12 June 2012 - 06:14 AM

FYI
Fast Forward x4 > 30 skip


That's opinion, one not shared by all (or maybe even most).

For sports, 30 sec skips are much better. For example, football commercial breaks are always 2 minutes, so stack 4 skips and you get back to the perfect spot every time, with no risk of FF too far and seeing the result of the first play when coming out of FF.

#16 OFFLINE   Steveknj

Steveknj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 923 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 12 June 2012 - 06:26 AM

Same thing happens here. I guess with the last update, they forgot to include whatever patched this the last time it happened. A fix, albeit cumbersome is to stop the playback and then play again, it moves past the commercial (or just forgets the commercial insert and goes to the "national" ad, not sure) and then you can skip/ff.

My first thought when I saw this the first time, is they are testing a way to disable skipping on demand, so as someone said, advertisers could pay more to prevent the user from skipping, but I've been assured it is a bug, and since it was fixed once, I have no reason to think it won't get fixed again. Hopefully soon, it's really annoying.

#17 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,692 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:10 AM

This went away for a while but it's back with a twist. Before there were random commercials that the 30 second skip would not work but the fast forward would. The problem went away for a while, but it's back. Only now the 30 second skip appears to be working until you realize that is just moves around on the same commercial. So I have to fast forward through the commercial to get to the next commercial and the 30 second skip works again. Anyone else seeing this?

I just re-read your post.

I'm wondering if it would help to know which specific device you have and what firmware version you have running on it.

Perhaps one of those factors would come into play somehow.

Can you post this information?
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#18 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:51 AM

Is this with the latest software (0x5CD?) Or should this discussion be taking place in the CE forum?
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#19 OFFLINE   Jon J

Jon J

    Grouch Extrordinaire

  • Registered
  • 1,154 posts
  • LocationMusic City, USA
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:19 AM

Is this with the latest software (0x5CD?) Or should this discussion be taking place in the CE forum?

I see this "feature" on local ad inserts on my three receivers running 5CD and the one now running 5CF. Not a CE download, BTW.
When news breaks...we fix it.

#20 OFFLINE   Steveknj

Steveknj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 923 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:35 AM

For me, it's the latest production software (not CE) that was recently pushed to my DVRs (HR22s)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...