Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Transition from FF to Play jump back time?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   StringFellow

StringFellow

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2012

Posted 12 June 2012 - 01:16 PM

Is there away to adjust the "jump back" time when you transition from FF to Play? After presiding play I always have to press the skip back button one or two times otherwise I miss some on the show following commercials (using FF).
Equipment: 2 Hopper, 1 Joey [soon to be 2 Joeys]

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,168 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 12 June 2012 - 01:20 PM

Nope, Dish's dvr's have always acted like this.

#3 OFFLINE   PokerJoker

PokerJoker

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 478 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas
Joined: Apr 12, 2008

Posted 12 June 2012 - 01:31 PM

Isn't that a Tivo patented feature, that DirecTV uses under license, but Dish can't?

Keith

#4 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,114 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 June 2012 - 04:35 PM

DISH settled the suit, so they can use "Tivo technology" if they choose.

#5 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,122 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 12 June 2012 - 04:51 PM

"Auto-correct" is what it's called on the other side, I believe.
I hated it when I had their systems.
Please, Dish, don't ever use it!
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#6 OFFLINE   StringFellow

StringFellow

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2012

Posted 12 June 2012 - 05:12 PM

"Auto-correct" is what it's called on the other side, I believe.
I hated it when I had their systems.
Please, Dish, don't ever use it!


Why did you hate it? You see the end of the commercial and the return of the show, you press play and 90% of the time it jumps right back to the end of the commercials - no no other button presses required. Why would you hate this? Currently you have to press play and then the skip back button 2, 3 or even 4 times otherwise you miss part of the show.
Equipment: 2 Hopper, 1 Joey [soon to be 2 Joeys]

#7 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,167 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 12 June 2012 - 05:13 PM

Is there away to adjust the "jump back" time when you transition from FF to Play? After presiding play I always have to press the skip back button one or two times otherwise I miss some on the show following commercials (using FF).


Press the skip back button INSTEAD of play.
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#8 OFFLINE   StringFellow

StringFellow

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2012

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:06 PM

Press the skip back button INSTEAD of play.


Thanks! That helps quite a bit. Wonder why I didn't think of it! :)

#9 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,003 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:47 PM

"Auto-correct" is what it's called on the other side, I believe.
I hated it when I had their systems.
Please, Dish, don't ever use it!


I like it fine, but it takes a bit of training to use well. Some hate that they might see that it's a pass play or QB option if they go too far. A few seconds tip off doesn't faze me at all.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#10 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,122 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:11 PM

Currently you have to press play and then the skip back button 2, 3 or even 4 times otherwise you miss part of the show.


Your reflexes need to be honed.
But I usually use stacked skips and then hit the back button once to square it up.
The DirecTV thing would go back more if you FFW'd at higher speeds. At the fast FFWD speed the amount it went back was ridiculous.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#11 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,003 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:44 PM

Your reflexes need to be honed.
But I usually use stacked skips and then hit the back button once to square it up.
The DirecTV thing would go back more if you FFW'd at higher speeds. At the fast FFWD speed the amount it went back was ridiculous.


That's why I always use 3x FF. My lightening-quick reflexes and extraordinary powers of divination always have me landing spot on! :eek2: Still, it takes practice, a steady hand, and the aforementioned blessings....
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...