Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR-34 with AM21 observation


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dod1450

dod1450

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 191 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2009

Posted 12 June 2012 - 05:43 PM

Today I just had my HR-34 installed it was replacing my HR-24. What I had noticed with the HR-34 and AM-21.

1) AM-21 power blue LED does not turn off when the HR-34 turn off
With the Hr-24 the blue LED on the AM-21 does turn off
2) OTA channels I now get all channels that are available, which was not available with the HR-24, some of the channels that are display on the guide shows "regular programming" , no channel info.

3) The tech did a force download upgrade, but it did not load the version that has Pandora and power save.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,903 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 12 June 2012 - 05:46 PM

Pandora and power save are coming soon ;)
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#3 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 12 June 2012 - 05:46 PM

Those are all correct currently for how the HR34 works

#4 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,359 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 12 June 2012 - 06:51 PM

1. Known issue
2. The HR34 scans for OTA channels, the HR24 does not.
3. Those features are not available on the HR34 yet.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,601 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:11 PM

Pandora and power save are coming soon ;)


Soon can be relative. We don't know if it will be a couple of weeks, or months.

#6 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,114 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:25 PM

The HR34 scans for OTA channels, the HR24 does not.

One minor clarification, the HR34 will scan for locals with the latest version of the AM21 the AM21N, which is what I'd expect to be provided for a new install or a new hardware accessory order from DirecTV. My original AM21 won't scan so it's installed on the HR24. The scan function isn't a big deal around here, but important to those who want channels not in the Tribune guide data (e.g. Canadian stations).

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#7 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,359 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:33 PM

One minor clarification, the HR34 will scan for locals with the latest version of the AM21 the AM21N, which is what I'd expect to be provided for a new install or a new hardware accessory order from DirecTV. My original AM21 won't scan so it's installed on the HR24. The scan function isn't a big deal around here, but important to those who want channels not in the Tribune guide data (e.g. Canadian stations).


It scans with my original AM21.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#8 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,114 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:54 PM

I was going by my own past experience and remembrance of old posts such as these:

Apparently this is a feature of the HR34 but only in combination with the AM21N. How can that be if the AM21 and the AM21N are the same electronically?


Are you using an AM21 or AM21N?

I have 2 HR34's. One has an AM21 attached to it while the other has an AM21N and the only one I have ever got to scan was the AM21N


Maybe the code has changed or something. Looks like a good retesting opportunity when the NBA finals aren't on.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#9 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,127 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:06 PM

PM sent to explain winking.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud

#10 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,809 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:21 PM

My HR34 has an AM21 connected and it shows all channels in the area.

On second thought, maybe it was the AM21N originally connected, it scanned all, then I swapped them and now the AM21/HR34 combo gets the additional channels?

Dang, I just gave myself a weekend project to sort this out.

#11 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,928 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:53 PM

Yes, the AM21 and AM21N are identical electronically outside of the AM21N possibly having later generation or newer tuner chips and an insulating cap for the unused AC pigtail when used with the H25 receiver.

#12 OFFLINE   Weller

Weller

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 13 June 2012 - 06:37 AM

Excuse my ignorance, but what is an AM21???

#13 OFFLINE   bobvick1983

bobvick1983

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 277 posts
  • LocationNW Alabama
Joined: Mar 21, 2007

Posted 13 June 2012 - 06:54 AM

My HR34 and AM21 had been working well since I got the HR34 in December. One day last week however, the HR34 began to report that the OTA tuner had been lost. Thinking it was a problem with my antenna, I connected the lead that was hooked to the AM21 directly to my TV set. The TV's tuner worked fine and brought in all of the channels that the AM21/HR34 were bringing in and more. Then I thought perhaps that the AM21 had went bad, so I went and got my AM21N that I was using with one of my HR24's, I still had the same problem with the HR34/AM21N. I then decided to do a master reset on the HR34 (clear and erase everything) even after doing this, the HR34 refuses to recognize either the AM21 or the AM21N, when both of those tuners work with all of my HR24's. I called DirecTV about the issue, and was eventually referred to the case management department. I explained the problem to them, and they informed me that it was more than likely a problem with the HR34, but they were not allowed to just send out a HR34 replacement, that they would have to send a technician with one. So, they are supposed to send out a tech on Friday to take a look. I told them to make sure that he had another HR34, I hope he does, otherwise it is a lost trip for him, and a wasted afternoon leaving work early for me.

DIRECTV
DIRECTV AU9-SL3 dish, SWM 16, HR44-700, HR24-100 2TB external HDD, HR24--200 1TB external HDD, HR24-200 1TB external HDD, HR21-700 receivers 2TB interal HDD, DECA Networked

 

C-BAND

7.5' SAMI C-Band dish, Chaparral Dual C feed, Norsat 8115C-Band LNB's, GEOSat Pro MicroHD, GBox V3000 Positioner
 


#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,871 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 13 June 2012 - 07:36 AM

Excuse my ignorance, but what is an AM21???


An external box you connect to an HD receiver or DVR to add off-air stations. If you have local stations that DirecTV does not carry, an AM21 will let you get them, incorporate them into your guide, and record them with a DVR.

#15 OFFLINE   dod1450

dod1450

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 191 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2009

Posted 13 June 2012 - 11:39 AM

My HR34 has an AM21 connected and it shows all channels in the area.

On second thought, maybe it was the AM21N originally connected, it scanned all, then I swapped them and now the AM21/HR34 combo gets the additional channels?

Dang, I just gave myself a weekend project to sort this out.


Let us know what you find out.

To all, Why is Directv saying that the AM21 and/or AM21N is not supported on the HR34? What makes it so hard on having existing external hardware , that they sell, be supported for all receivers? I think someone in charge for QA and Design phase on new products needs to be fired.

#16 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,264 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 13 June 2012 - 11:57 AM

One minor clarification, the HR34 will scan for locals with the latest version of the AM21 the AM21N, which is what I'd expect to be provided for a new install or a new hardware accessory order from DirecTV. My original AM21 won't scan so it's installed on the HR24. The scan function isn't a big deal around here, but important to those who want channels not in the Tribune guide data (e.g. Canadian stations).


It scans with my original AM21.


It's the HR34 that determines if an AM21/AM21N does the scanning, not the AM21/AM21N. I was an early tested for the HR34 and I tested both the AM21 and AM21N for scanning and both do it.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#17 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,264 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 13 June 2012 - 11:59 AM

To all, Why is Directv saying that the AM21 and/or AM21N is not supported on the HR34?


I missed that, who/where did it say the HR34 doesn't support the AM21/AM21N?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#18 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,605 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:02 PM

So what is preventing a software update to the HR24 to allow the AM21 to scan?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#19 OFFLINE   Barry in Conyers

Barry in Conyers

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 361 posts
  • LocationMetro-Atlanta
Joined: Jan 14, 2008

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:19 PM

I missed that, who/where did it say the HR34 doesn't support the AM21/AM21N?


According to DirecTV, the AM21 and HR34 are compatible.

From page 4 of the AM21 OFF AIR TUNER Manual available at http://www.directv.c...Web_092110.pdf:

Note: The following DIRECTV® Receiver models are
compatible with the USB Off-Air Tuner: DIRECTV Plus®
HD DVR (models HR21 and above, DIRECTV Plus® DVR
(R22 model only), DIRECTV® HD (models H21 and above) or
DIRECTV® Home Media Center.

Edited by Barry in Conyers, 13 June 2012 - 03:43 PM.
To make sure RunnerFL is not confused.


#20 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,359 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:29 PM

From page 4 of the AM21 OFF AIR TUNER Manual available at http://www.directv.c...Web_092110.pdf:

Note: The following DIRECTV® Receiver models are
compatible with the USB Off-Air Tuner: DIRECTV Plus®
HD DVR (models HR21 and above, DIRECTV Plus® DVR
(R22 model only), DIRECTV® HD (models H21 and above) or
DIRECTV® Home Media Center.


That doesn't say the HR34 isn't supported. It says "models HR21 and above" and an HR34 is clearly above an HR21. Not to mention "DIRECTV Home Media Center" is the HR34.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#21 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:13 PM

So what is preventing a software update to the HR24 to allow the AM21 to scan?


That question has already been asked here. The consensus was that it would be too expensive to rewrite the code for the few people that would care about or actually use it. I would like to see it myself. There are a few local subchannels here that Directv doesn't have in the database.

#22 OFFLINE   Barry in Conyers

Barry in Conyers

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 361 posts
  • LocationMetro-Atlanta
Joined: Jan 14, 2008

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:18 PM

That doesn't say the HR34 isn't supported. It says "models HR21 and above" and an HR34 is clearly above an HR21. Not to mention "DIRECTV Home Media Center" is the HR34.


And I did not say the HR34 is not supported.

I posted the information to dispel any misunderstanding.

#23 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,841 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:23 PM

That question has already been asked here. The consensus was that it would be too expensive to rewrite the code for the few people that would care about or actually use it. I would like to see it myself. There are a few local subchannels here that Directv doesn't have in the database.

Looks like they did re-write the code, tho, for the HR34. Who knows, maybe they'll plug it into the Hx2x code at some point in the future. :shrug:
/steve

#24 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:38 PM

Looks like they did re-write the code, tho, for the HR34. Who knows, maybe they'll plug it into the Hx2x code at some point in the future. :shrug:


Maybe since they had to write it anyway they decided to include scanning ability in the HR34. It would be nice to see it in the other HR models.

#25 OFFLINE   fluffybear

fluffybear

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,281 posts
  • LocationPeachtree City, GA.
Joined: Jun 19, 2004

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:54 PM

2) OTA channels I now get all channels that are available, which was not available with the HR-24, some of the channels that are display on the guide shows "regular programming" , no channel info.


This has been my biggest complaint since the HR34 was released. We have a number of digital sub-channels within the Atlanta area which have "Regular Programming" as their description.
At least with my system, I have not been able to do a manual record on these channels either. I can tun to the channels without a problem but forget recording anything where "Regular Programming" is listed as the program description 24/7

Proud DirecTV customer since July, 1994

My Q2 2015 Set-Up





Protected By... spam firewall...And...