Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Why doesn't DirecTV carry BBCA in HD?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   steveT

steveT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2002

Posted 14 June 2012 - 01:44 PM

Been searching the DirectTV forums in planning to switch from Dish if they drop AMC. I was surprised to see that DirectTV doesn't carry BBC America in HD. But I haven't been able to find out the reason why; does anyone know? Has there been any reporting on when DirectTV might add it?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,489 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 14 June 2012 - 02:06 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=203376

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#3 OFFLINE   lacubs

lacubs

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 532 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 14 June 2012 - 02:16 PM

its the most request channel in HD on Directv, but their no sign of it coming to Directv

#4 OFFLINE   steveT

steveT

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2002

Posted 14 June 2012 - 02:39 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=203376


I'd tried to scan that thread, but it's 51 pages long... Is the reason bandwidth, DirectTV not wanting to pay BBC more for the HD feed, or both? I've now read in a few places that DirectTV doesn't have another bird going up until 2013 or 2014...

Regardless of whether they add it soon or not, I'm still switching to DirectTV if Dish doesn't resolve the AMC dispute. I'll miss Doctor Who in HD, but no way am I missing "Breaking Bad".

#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,328 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 14 June 2012 - 02:43 PM

its the most request channel in HD on Directv, but their no sign of it coming to Directv


It's a top request on here, not necessarily out "in the world."

As for the OP, we honestly don't know. We do know that they are doing some work to increase the number of channels that can be on the satellites. We also have been told by an extremely trusted source on the inside, SatelliteRacer, that more HD is coming this year. He never gives details until the ink is dry and he can publicly say what it is, a few days before going live.

#6 ONLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,261 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 14 June 2012 - 03:54 PM

The short answer is D* and BBCA have not been able to come to terms on a carriage agreement...which entails compensation for the right to carry the signal but also includes other things like Digital Rights and length of contract. Bandwidth is finite, but not exhausted. If they could agree to terms, bandwidth would not stop D* from carrying BBCA
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#7 OFFLINE   Araxen

Araxen

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 785 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2005

Posted 14 June 2012 - 05:08 PM

Because they would have no programming for the Audience Network then.
If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
PSN: Araxen - Xbox: Gamertag: Araxen II - Steam: Araxen - WiiU: Araxen

#8 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,328 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 14 June 2012 - 05:23 PM

Funny thing is, if they added it now, Top Gear would be SD.

#9 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,943 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 15 June 2012 - 03:25 AM

Let's continue this discussion in the HD Thread.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=203376

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...