Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is this for real? If so why is there no "First Look"?


  • Please log in to reply
128 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,870 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 16 June 2012 - 07:18 PM

How much does Dish charge for a non DVR receiver that isn't a Joey? I think that's what he was referring to, not comparing to a DVR fee.


Ahh, yes. Then his answer was correct, $7 for a joey with a hopper, or $7 for a non DVR with a VIP system. Still worth noting instead of a Joey for that same $7 you can get an additional Hopper with three tuners. (Up to three on the account)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,455 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 16 June 2012 - 08:02 PM

that is about it - it's not so much larger than a deck of cards, hdmi, composite and digital audio connects


Actually it appears to be HDMI, "component" (through a proprietary 10 pin DIN to component AV breakout cable) and coaxial digital audio connects. ;)

#28 OFFLINE   jjschind

jjschind

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2011

Posted 16 June 2012 - 08:49 PM

So now we know that the c31 is out in the wild, when is rvu capability going to come to our computers and mobile devices?

#29 OFFLINE   jjschind

jjschind

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2011

Posted 16 June 2012 - 08:57 PM

Here are the pics so there's not too much strain on your fingers copying and pasting. :D



Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#30 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 16 June 2012 - 09:21 PM

Ahh, yes. Then his answer was correct, $7 for a joey with a hopper, or $7 for a non DVR with a VIP system. Still worth noting instead of a Joey for that same $7 you can get an additional Hopper with three tuners. (Up to three on the account)


For the same $6 you could get another HR34 as well but they can see eachother.

There are plenty of threads of HR34 vs Hopper so if we're going to do any comparison in this thread let's compare the joey to this.

#31 OFFLINE   jjschind

jjschind

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2011

Posted 16 June 2012 - 09:30 PM

Another thing I want to know is that what are the other features of this device? Is it going to have access to youtube and pandora? Is it going to have Series Manager? Can you access locals if you only have an am21 hooked up to the hr34?

#32 OFFLINE   Brubear

Brubear

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2008

Posted 16 June 2012 - 09:52 PM

Actually it appears to be HDMI, "component" (through a proprietary 10 pin DIN to component AV breakout cable) and coaxial digital audio connects. ;)


Hdmi, 10 pin, usb, & coax digital audio. two buttons, power and reset

my comments and opinions are my own and do not suggest endorsement by my employer


#33 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 16 June 2012 - 10:00 PM

Another thing I want to know is that what are the other features of this device? Is it going to have access to youtube and pandora? Is it going to have Series Manager? Can you access locals if you only have an am21 hooked up to the hr34?


Without service you cannot use OTA so an RVU client wouldn't work either. RVU clients will access the menu's like it is the receiver.

HR34 does not have Pandora on it at the moment so the answer is no.

#34 OFFLINE   nike5580

nike5580

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
  • LocationPittsfield, New Hampshire
Joined: Jun 29, 2010

Posted 17 June 2012 - 06:35 AM

Size wise, it looks to be between a CCK and a W-CCK.

#35 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,437 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 17 June 2012 - 07:19 AM

If you search through the CES 2012 reports on dbstalk, you will find a post or two that the C30 was shown publicly but it was also disclosed it will never reach the market and ultimately the C31 was going to be coming out later this year.

Looks like it is arriving.

#36 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,225 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 17 June 2012 - 12:05 PM

If you search through the CES 2012 reports on dbstalk, you will find a post or two that the C30 was shown publicly but it was also disclosed it will never reach the market and ultimately the C31 was going to be coming out later this year.

Looks like it is arriving.

With a speed of molasses ... the last photos shows a C31 box mfged in Dec'11.

#37 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,120 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 18 June 2012 - 02:18 PM

Glad to finally see one in the wild, or at least somewhere other than a trade show. I suppose this means that some people are out there testing them right now, possibly even a few here at DBSTalk, but they aren't allowed to talk about it.

I'm a bit disappointed there is no 1/8" IR input though. That would make it much nicer for hiding behind flatscreens, etc. I use Harmony remotes so having RF buit into it is worthless to me (if it even does).

I'm also suprised by the regular DirecTV remote being shown with it, I thought they were going to get the smaller remote without the color buttons?

The biggest things I'm still waiting to hear though are costs. Hopefully the $50 someone mentioned earlier is right. I also hope to hear that DirecTV will only charge $6/month for the first 3 on an account and let you have additional ones for free (since you can only use 3 at a time anyway).

With a speed of molasses ... the last photos shows a C31 box mfged in Dec'11.


You expect them to send it out without testing them for a while first? We already have all kinds of people here complaining that they shouldn't have released the HR34 when they did, or they should be testing the firmware more than they did. We've also got people reporting the Samsung RVU TVs don't work that great. Hopefully that means DirecTV is taking their time and making sure this stuff is going to work right before they release it.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#38 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,225 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 June 2012 - 02:41 PM

..

You expect them to send it out without testing them for a while first? We already have all kinds of people here complaining that they shouldn't have released the HR34 when they did, or they should be testing the firmware more than they did. We've also got people reporting the Samsung RVU TVs don't work that great. Hopefully that means DirecTV is taking their time and making sure this stuff is going to work right before they release it.


I expected you and others know a difference between production's device (as we see on these twelve pictures) and test device.

#39 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,120 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 18 June 2012 - 02:49 PM

I expected you and others know a difference between production's device (as we see on these twelve pictures) and test device.


Yes I know the difference between test devices and production devices. But I also know that a lot of the time you make a short run of what you think is going to be the final production design and send those out into the wild with regular customers and have them test them for a while before you go to full production runs and wide realease.

We know that there are people here who were testing the HR34 before it's initial release in test markets that weren't able to talk about it until its release to the test markets (the people who worked on the first look). Are you saying they had test units and not production units? I find that hard to believe.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#40 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,225 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 June 2012 - 03:00 PM

I'm saying it hard to believe such small program as involving DBSTalk ppl (how many ? 10 max ?) would be mainstream pre-production company's test program. I know and been in same 'box' but it always named as "usability" test group - those ppl selected outside of the company and partners and has third level influence to real decisions.

My main beef in seen PRODUCTION unit, with real mfg date, MAC address, serial number.
If you mentally 'stick' with FW features and bugs in your mind, I'm more attached to retail box what will be installed at customer's premises. And will have bugs at initial scale of deployment.

#41 ONLINE   Groundhog45

Groundhog45

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,419 posts
  • LocationCedar Park, Texas
Joined: Nov 09, 2005

Posted 18 June 2012 - 07:48 PM

Wow, that looks pretty small. It's not as long as the remote. Thanks for the info. Do they all come with a $50 in the box. :lol:

Richard -- DirecTV since '97
Team SETI.USA

 


#42 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 734 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 18 June 2012 - 09:38 PM

Before the HR34-700 was born, the HMC30-700 existed internally with the C30-700.

I would assume the C31-700 would be the 2nd generation like the 34.

If people think the 34 is bad, think how awful the HMC30 had to be since it was never released. ;)

#43 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,225 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 June 2012 - 09:41 PM

I was common knowledge: HMC30 is the HR34. At least as I saw by spooled FW ...

#44 OFFLINE   slacker_x

slacker_x

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 19 June 2012 - 07:40 AM

Is there any reason that the H25's can't operate as RVU clients for the HMC? I only as as I have H25's and would love to be able to pause live TV on them. I have 3 TV's so even if I was watching things on the 3 tv's I'd still have 2 tuners to record things. The HMC seems wasted currently as the max I'm ever recording is 2 things and watching something else.

#45 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,152 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 07:45 AM

Is there any reason that the H25's can't operate as RVU clients for the HMC?


Yes, the H25's don't have any RVU capabilities. The hardware needed for RVU isn't in the H25. Units either are RVU or they have their own tuner. There are no units that have both.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#46 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,939 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 07:53 AM

Sure hope the person who posted that wasn't fired.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#47 OFFLINE   slacker_x

slacker_x

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 19 June 2012 - 08:21 AM

Yes, the H25's don't have any RVU capabilities. The hardware needed for RVU isn't in the H25. Units either are RVU or they have their own tuner. There are no units that have both.

Thank you for explaining that its more than just software needed for RVU. I wish that they had the RVU's available when I signed up. Not that I'm complaining as the record/list/view works well enough when I want to pause the show I'm currently watching.

#48 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,201 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 19 June 2012 - 11:04 AM

Yes, the H25's don't have any RVU capabilities. The hardware needed for RVU isn't in the H25. Units either are RVU or they have their own tuner. There are no units that have both.

It's not clear to me that RVU requires any specific "RVU hardware".

You may be correct, and a DirecTV RVU client may include some silicon for RVU, but it's not clear to me if it's required (for RVU specifically) or just accelerates the processing, or maybe doesn't exist at all.

My view has always been that an RVU client is "software", and just needs the proper hardware to properly run the code (performance wise).

And still holding out hope that someday we will see an RVU client for Windows and iOS.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#49 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,225 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 June 2012 - 12:51 PM

It's not clear to me that RVU requires any specific "RVU hardware".

You may be correct, and a DirecTV RVU client may include some silicon for RVU, but it's not clear to me if it's required (for RVU specifically) or just accelerates the processing, or maybe doesn't exist at all.

My view has always been that an RVU client is "software", and just needs the proper hardware to properly run the code (performance wise).

And still holding out hope that someday we will see an RVU client for Windows and iOS.

That is support by existence of RVU in Samsung TVs.

#50 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,152 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 03:52 PM

It's not clear to me that RVU requires any specific "RVU hardware".


I thought I had read somewhere that a chip was required, could be wrong. If there's no hardware requirement why make a client box at all then instead of just using an H25?

You may be correct, and a DirecTV RVU client may include some silicon for RVU, but it's not clear to me if it's required (for RVU specifically) or just accelerates the processing, or maybe doesn't exist at all.


If only the pics included a shot of the guts...
THIS SPACE FOR RENT




Protected By... spam firewall...And...