Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Installation question


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pete_5959

pete_5959

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2012

Posted 16 June 2012 - 11:48 AM

I have a 1000.4 eastern arc and a 500 plus dish installed. I currently have a 44 switch with the 1000.4(61.5//72.7//77) connected and the 118.7 feed off of the 500 plus. Prior to dish shifting international channels I was using the 500 plus 119 feed for distant networks. The installer just shifted the cable from 119 to 118 to allow continued viewing of TV Japan. I have disconnected 72.7 and connected 119 in its place. I have ran check switch and it does not find 119? I have swapped out cables on the 500+ to ensure that is not the issue. Am I missing something here? Thank you for any advice.


Pete

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   pete_5959

pete_5959

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2012

Posted 16 June 2012 - 11:54 AM

Is there a sequence that needs to be followed as far as port inputs used on the 44 switch for the two dishes?

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 June 2012 - 12:12 PM

119W is a core sat of WA, you went to uncharted territory of mixing main sats from both arcs.

Reading the site for almost ten years I don't recall such working config.

You could try the sequence 61.5W/72.7W/118.75W/119W, but I feel you will got a conflict again ...

If you can/have it - combine a line after DPP44(61.5+72.7+77+118.75) with DP21 (DPP44+119W), but be careful with PI coax - it must go directly to DPP44 port#1.

#4 OFFLINE   pete_5959

pete_5959

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2012

Posted 16 June 2012 - 01:06 PM

PSmith Thank you for the reply.

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 June 2012 - 01:29 PM

PSmith Thank you for the reply.


Don't forget to post all your attempts with results.

#6 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,560 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 16 June 2012 - 02:59 PM

Reading the site for almost ten years I don't recall such working config.

I've had all sorts of mixed arcs for different reasons over the years. 61.5+72.7+118+119 was one of the ways I had it set up for a while. No real problem with conflicts although BOTH dishes needed to be working. Which feed was used seemed to be random ... usually the one with the worse signal.

It is one of those "off book" installs, especially now. A complete arc + 118 is normal. Mixing arcs can be done but results can vary.

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 June 2012 - 03:39 PM

See, Pete
definitely you could get something, not solid, but living by own life configuration :)

I've had all sorts of mixed arcs for different reasons over the years. 61.5+72.7+118+119 was one of the ways I had it set up for a while. No real problem with conflicts although BOTH dishes needed to be working. Which feed was used seemed to be random ... usually the one with the worse signal.

It is one of those "off book" installs, especially now. A complete arc + 118 is normal. Mixing arcs can be done but results can vary.



#8 OFFLINE   richandgood

richandgood

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2009

Posted 17 August 2013 - 09:14 AM

When I combine 72.7W with 119W, I lose some HD channels of 72.7W, even though 72.7W is stronger. If I remove 119W I receive all HD channels from 72.7W. When I combine both satellites with a DPP44, I lose HD on USA, TNT, ESPN and Golf Channel. The receiver goes to non HD from 119. Why? How can I avoid this? Can you help?

Thank you



#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 17 August 2013 - 10:52 AM

no one will help you, see the answer in a post two posts above



#10 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 657 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 10 September 2013 - 06:43 PM

I think that's cuz those HD channels are on 110.  Allthough your right, it doesnt make sense why it wouldn't just pull them off 72.  If you integrated 110, I think those HD channels would come back. 

 

As for the original OP's question, I think the best scenario would be to use the DPP-44 w/ 4 SAT's connected to it, then get a DP21 switch, connect it to one of the receiver outputs and 'link' in the 5th orbital.  At least that 1 location would have 5 Sats.  You'd get your TV Japan, and your AAD channels. I can't think of a way to get multiple receivers w/ 5 birds, as most assuredly your dish500+ has only 1 output per bird and you can't 'split' em.  Unless you installed more dishes :)  OR just 1 more dish, say an ordinary dish500 but w/ 2 individual dual output DP Lnb's...........yea that would give you 2 additionaly links to both 110 an 119, allthough you probably don't need 110, so just the 1..  Never seen a 500+ LNB so can't say if you can change it to 2 single DUal output DP Lnbs (and still keep the 118)......I'm guessing, not.


Edited by shadough, 10 September 2013 - 06:46 PM.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#11 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:59 PM

I'm assuming that your locals are on EA?  Otherwise why not just go full WA?






spam firewall