Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD DVRs, Receivers and R22: 0x05D2/0x45D2/0x5D3/0x59D/0x5CD Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
169 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   Church AV Guy

Church AV Guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 513 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 31 July 2012 - 06:01 PM

I attempted to download the manul, but it appears the document I was able to find has only 18 pages. It that the real size of the owner's manual for your television? That's a mighty small manual.
Luke

Sagaciously eschew obfuscating sesquipedalianisms.

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.--from Joan of Arcadia

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 610 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:43 PM

Sorry. It's 42" LCD AOC brand. Don't know model right now.
I'll be able to find setting in menu if I knew what to look for. But this totally pisses me off that directv screwed this up.


One thing to consider is the value of electronic capacitors change with age and use. As a TV ages and the capacitors loose their value, minor adjustments might need to be made to accommodate those changes. I have a Mitsubishi TV that I purchased in 2004. I have gone into the service menu three times since I purchased that TV to get rid of the noise at the top of the screen. I think if DirecTV had screwed this up, there would be more people unhappy with the current NR.

HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x099c
DirecTV since 1997


#128 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,167 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 01 August 2012 - 07:49 PM

One thing to consider is the value of electronic capacitors change with age and use.


And then there's "capacitor plague".

#129 OFFLINE   buggs1a

buggs1a

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 01 August 2012 - 08:06 PM

I attempted to download the manul, but it appears the document I was able to find has only 18 pages. It that the real size of the owner's manual for your television? That's a mighty small manual.


I have no idea how big the manual is. I forget.
I don't get this all the time. Like I haven't today or yesterday. So hmm. But I will try to go into the tv menu and see what's there. I'll try to get the model # too from the back.

#130 OFFLINE   buggs1a

buggs1a

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 06 August 2012 - 10:53 PM

I just realized. Well first I know for a fact this is a dtv problem. Next is the tv doesn't matter. It happens in the tiny video window too so it's got nothing to do with the tv.

#131 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 680 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 07 August 2012 - 12:22 AM

Personally, I wish dtv let us mess with raster settings on the boxes. Long ago,you could some of them. there are just to any tvs with different settings to really blame anyone for the issue.


I find if my Toshiba is on "Native" a channel like Hallmark (312) there is "noise" at the top of my screen. I simply switch the TV setting from "Native" to "Full", the screen image gets a bit bigger (not much) and the image "noise" is gone. My neighbors Samsung has no "Native" setting, just "16x9"....If anything, the TV manufacturer(s) is to blame.

#132 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,318 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:25 PM

I just realized. Well first I know for a fact this is a dtv problem. Next is the tv doesn't matter. It happens in the tiny video window too so it's got nothing to do with the tv.


It's really no ones fault. Different manufacturers have different settings, so DIRECTV may tweak something to work a little better with some and it might be to the detriment to another. The only perfect solution is for them to give us raster controls. They can't make it perfect for everyone's tvs off one setting. No one can. Most devices over scan far more than needed to avoid the issue, I'd rather the get it closer to the edge and see more picture.

#133 OFFLINE   Church AV Guy

Church AV Guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 513 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 07 August 2012 - 03:07 PM

I just realized. Well first I know for a fact this is a dtv problem. Next is the tv doesn't matter. It happens in the tiny video window too so it's got nothing to do with the tv.


It's really no ones fault. Different manufacturers have different settings, so DIRECTV may tweak something to work a little better with some and it might be to the detriment to another. The only perfect solution is for them to give us raster controls. They can't make it perfect for everyone's tvs off one setting. No one can. Most devices over scan far more than needed to avoid the issue, I'd rather the get it closer to the edge and see more picture.


Both of you are correct. Yes, it's DirecTVs fault, IF you call it a fault. Many televisions are guilty of setting the default overscan to too great a number. This makes it display a larger picture, at the cost of the loss of the edges. CRT TVs were notorious for this. (The HDNet test pattern had a screen designed to show the overscan of your television, alas the test pattern is no longer being shown.:)) Recently, the broadcasters have come under fire (by who, I am not sure) for sending out an overscanned video signal, so they have responded dialing back the amount of overscan. This has resulted in some televisions seeing a scan line or two of the vertical blanking interval on the top of their visible picture.

Yes, you will see it in the small picture-in-picture image first, sometimes even if it is not in the main picture. This is because the PIP does not have the same image boundries (the console:D) that the main picture does. If your television does not allow you to adjust the picture "size" or "overscan" then I can only suggest you send a letter to the manufacturer and ask about it. DirecTV is very unlikely to change their settings to suit you or me.
Luke

Sagaciously eschew obfuscating sesquipedalianisms.

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.--from Joan of Arcadia

#134 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,318 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 August 2012 - 05:44 PM

Both of you are correct. Yes, it's DirecTVs fault, IF you call it a fault. Many televisions are guilty of setting the default overscan to too great a number. This makes it display a larger picture, at the cost of the loss of the edges. CRT TVs were notorious for this. (The HDNet test pattern had a screen designed to show the overscan of your television, alas the test pattern is no longer being shown.:)) Recently, the broadcasters have come under fire (by who, I am not sure) for sending out an overscanned video signal, so they have responded dialing back the amount of overscan. This has resulted in some televisions seeing a scan line or two of the vertical blanking interval on the top of their visible picture.

Yes, you will see it in the small picture-in-picture image first, sometimes even if it is not in the main picture. This is because the PIP does not have the same image boundries (the console:D) that the main picture does. If your television does not allow you to adjust the picture "size" or "overscan" then I can only suggest you send a letter to the manufacturer and ask about it. DirecTV is very unlikely to change their settings to suit you or me.


All tvs and I do believe also all DIRECTV boxes have the ability to have their raster settings changed. Just not by us... :(

#135 OFFLINE   buggs1a

buggs1a

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:27 AM

I blame directv only because I never had this issue till directv broke the resolution messing up so may avrs. I even get the your tv does not support this resolution box for a brief second every time I switch from live to valiant recorded. So I know directv has not fully fixed the issue.

My tv goes wide, zoom, standard etc. wide is the only one that I prefer as the others loose picture and don't fill the whole tv. By of course zoom gets rid of the line up top since it zooms in.

#136 OFFLINE   Church AV Guy

Church AV Guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 513 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 04:15 PM

My tv goes wide, zoom, standard etc. wide is the only one that I prefer as the others loose picture and don't fill the whole tv. By of course zoom gets rid of the line up top since it zooms in.

That isn't the picture size adjustment I'm talking about. The one I am referring to is the ability to change the size by a tiny increment at a time, maybe one pixel at a time.
Luke

Sagaciously eschew obfuscating sesquipedalianisms.

Evil is charming and beautiful. It makes you doubt yourself. It asks for one small compromise after another until it whittles you down, and it functions best when no one believes in it.--from Joan of Arcadia

#137 OFFLINE   buggs1a

buggs1a

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 07:29 PM

That isn't the picture size adjustment I'm talking about. The one I am referring to is the ability to change the size by a tiny increment at a time, maybe one pixel at a time.


Ok cool. None of our tvs have that.

#138 OFFLINE   Getteau

Getteau

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 818 posts
  • LocationHouston
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 09 August 2012 - 07:06 PM

HR24-500
Firmware - 0x5d2
Report ID - 20120809-474

The receiver has spontaneously rebooted twice today; once earlier today and just now. The report is from just after the second reboot tonight.

I was watching a program from an HR21-100 when it bounced.

Thanks,
Rich

HR44-500 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR24-100 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR23-700 - HDMI to Insignia 42" Plasma
HR22-100 - HDMI to LG 32" LCD
HR21-700 - WD 1T Green Power drive - HDMI to Toshiba 65HM167 65" rear projection

R22-200 - Component to Insignia 42" Plasma
R15 - svideo to Toshiba 32" tube tv


#139 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,512 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 10 August 2012 - 09:49 AM

Word of advice - you are banging your head against a wall trying to assign "blame" for this problem. As much as you wish it to be exclusively a DirecTV issue, wishing does not make it so. It's just like those irritating Dolby Digital and audio sync issues were not exclusive to DirecTV. You'll be much happier, and end up with a solved problem, if you let go of the blame game and avail yourself of the workarounds others more patient than me have been so kind to point out to you.


Oh, and to stay on topic, my DVR's are back to slow response again. I'll repeat my broken record mantra - throw some effing processing power at these things, DirecTV.

I blame directv only because I never had this issue till directv broke the resolution messing up so may avrs. I even get the your tv does not support this resolution box for a brief second every time I switch from live to valiant recorded. So I know directv has not fully fixed the issue.

My tv goes wide, zoom, standard etc. wide is the only one that I prefer as the others loose picture and don't fill the whole tv. By of course zoom gets rid of the line up top since it zooms in.


Edited by JeffBowser, 10 August 2012 - 01:19 PM.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.

#140 OFFLINE   buggs1a

buggs1a

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 10 August 2012 - 03:29 PM

Word of advice - you are banging your head against a wall trying to assign "blame" for this problem. As much as you wish it to be exclusively a DirecTV issue, wishing does not make it so. It's just like those irritating Dolby Digital and audio sync issues were not exclusive to DirecTV. You'll be much happier, and end up with a solved problem, if you let go of the blame game and avail yourself of the workarounds others more patient than me have been so kind to point out to you.

Oh, and to stay on topic, my DVR's are back to slow response again. I'll repeat my broken record mantra - throw some effing processing power at these things, DirecTV.


I can't do anything about this.
And yes, it is directv fault. That is a fact.
I've never had dd audio sync issues.

#141 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • Registered
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 10 August 2012 - 04:03 PM

I can't do anything about this.
And yes, it is directv fault. That is a fact.
I've never had dd audio sync issues.

No, it's not their fault.

There is absolutely nothing in the HDTV standard that syncs audio and video together. It is a flaw in the standard that was set back a dozen years ago.

You have just found this flaw first on DirecTV. Others of us found it first on cable systems or broadcast. Should we blame those media providers just like you blame DirecTV? Seems short sided to me.

You're blaming the cup for the spoiled cream you poured into your coffee.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#142 OFFLINE   buggs1a

buggs1a

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 12 August 2012 - 02:56 AM

No, it's not their fault.

There is absolutely nothing in the HDTV standard that syncs audio and video together. It is a flaw in the standard that was set back a dozen years ago.

You have just found this flaw first on DirecTV. Others of us found it first on cable systems or broadcast. Should we blame those media providers just like you blame DirecTV? Seems short sided to me.

You're blaming the cup for the spoiled cream you poured into your coffee.


This is directv fault period. Why? Because I never had the line on top of the screen till after directv had these resolution problems etc in the last few months. Never before the problems, they're here after. That's pretty simple.

#143 OFFLINE   BobM204

BobM204

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2012

Posted 13 August 2012 - 08:23 PM

HR24-500
Firmware -0x5d2

My receiver would not turn on today. No response from remote or power button on the front. I guess I should have tried unplugging it first but I hit the red button. It fixed it for now. I have no idea what caused it. About a week ago I had my system upgraded to a SWM LNB. I only have the one receiver but I've been having a lot of trouble with rain fade so I asked for a dish alignment and new LNB. Not sure if that had anything to do with the power problem today but I doubt it.

#144 OFFLINE   Delroy E Walleye

Delroy E Walleye

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 332 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2012

Posted 15 August 2012 - 01:48 AM

Does anybody know if the unbearably-slow On Demand navigation will be fixed in a future release? The last two releases (my HR21-700 is currently running 0x5d2) have been terrible. I've been able to speed up some of the other slowness issues with a guide flush, but nothing seems to help with the OD screens. Wait times can be as long as two whole minutes between button pushes!

So far I've only seen one other complaint in this thread with this issue. Everything else seems pretty much ok these days, but I'm still in the "honeymoon" phase of my last guide flush (Thu. morning, Aug 9th) where things run fairly decent for a number of days until an event or the PPV graphic strips come along in the guide to lock it up again, usually within a couple of weeks.

Perhaps there's another way to navigate On Demand, maybe online or with a computer ap? I've not checked into that yet.

Now that HBO has opened up its library it would be so nice to be able to use the OD function without needing 15-20 minutes to find and record any particular show, or group of shows!

#145 OFFLINE   steve841

steve841

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2010

Posted 20 August 2012 - 06:59 PM

Holy crap! Are they ever going to fix this nightmare?

#146 OFFLINE   brianp6621

brianp6621

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 136 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2007

Posted 20 August 2012 - 11:16 PM

30 second skip not working on locally inserted commercials has happened on and off a couple times now. There are a few threads around here about it.


This is really starting to piss me off, it has been at least 4-5 or more releases since this "bug" came back (many months now) and it has not been fixed.

Is it now a "feature" and/or have they given up addressing it?

#147 OFFLINE   sjaroslo

sjaroslo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 31 August 2012 - 10:35 AM

I haven't been very active on this board since I've been pretty happy with DTV for a while--UNTIL this nightmare of 0x5d2 hit my HR21s. I've been a subscriber for over a decade and I can honestly say that this is the worst firmware I have EVER experienced--to the point that I'm starting to entertain other provider's offers. I've never had a release that has gotten me this close to hurling my remote through my Plasma so many times.... I wouldn't even know where to begin to document all of the crap that my machines go through. I also truly cannot understand how DTV can come out with some nice, stable releases and then drop this BOMB on us--how can they break so many things over and over again? Really has me concerned for their Engineering prowess and QA abilities for the future.

Now that I feel a little better for having had that 3-month-pent-up rant off of my chest, I'll actually look around a little and see if there is ANY hope on the horizon. Thanks for listening.

Steve

#148 OFFLINE   jibberyerkibber

jibberyerkibber

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2012

Posted 10 September 2012 - 06:34 AM

With both my HR23 and HR24 sometimes when I am scrolling through a list of items that SMART SEARCH has produced, both the single line and full page scroll arrows simply refuse to work. Sometimes, though, they work about 30 seconds to a minute later. If I try EXIT to get out of the jam, it doesn't work either. That is, EXIT might work about 30 seconds to a minute later. Sometimes, though, I have to reboot. Also, sometimes the information for certain KEY WORDS takes a full minute to appear. For example CHARLIES ANGELS. With my HR34, the full information for CHARLIES ANGELS appears within 5 seconds. Other KEY WORDS are often equally as slow with my 23 and 24.

#149 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,444 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 September 2012 - 07:04 AM

With both my HR23 and HR24 sometimes when I am scrolling through a list of items that SMART SEARCH has produced, both the single line and full page scroll arrows simply refuse to work. Sometimes, though, they work about 30 seconds to a minute later. If I try EXIT to get out of the jam, it doesn't work either. That is, EXIT might work about 30 seconds to a minute later. Sometimes, though, I have to reboot. Also, sometimes the information for certain KEY WORDS takes a full minute to appear. For example CHARLIES ANGELS. With my HR34, the full information for CHARLIES ANGELS appears within 5 seconds. Other KEY WORDS are often equally as slow with my 23 and 24.


If you have not done this already.
Go into Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences and turn the Scrolling Effects to OFF.
See if this helps.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#150 OFFLINE   steve841

steve841

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2010

Posted 11 September 2012 - 07:10 PM

If you have not done this already.
Go into Menu, Settings, Display, Preferences and turn the Scrolling Effects to OFF.
See if this helps.


Good tip.... But no luck. Still major delays....




Protected By... spam firewall...And...