Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

H25-100 receiver and an old 18" sat dish


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 19 June 2012 - 08:59 PM

I am trying to get my newer H25-100 sat receiver box to work with the old 18"Phase 1 satellite dish. I realize this is a SD type dish and I will never have HD with it, which isn't a problem. I am wanting to use it on the weekends in my camp.
I have read that I can either buy the new dish, which I don't want to, or I have been told I can convert my 18in dish to SWM by getting an SWM8 multiswitch and associated power inserter.
If this is true, would this be everything that I would need to do this? Thanks =):sure:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:01 PM

The price of the SWM8+power inserter+splitter will probably be as much as the dish/lnb combo. And you still wouldnt get any HD. Personally, I would either get a SWM dish, or trade the receiver for an H24 or lower that will work with your current dish.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:06 PM

Thanks for the quick reply. Having to mount a new dish would require me hiring someone to get on my roof, and would be a pain.
I am still under my 2 year contract with them, would I be able to trade? Also, I am only using 2 boxes at home, do you think ordering and subscribing to a 3rd box would be an option?

#4 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:08 PM

I am unable to post links until after making 5 posts to this forum, I have found something I would like opinions on, but in the meantime, if anyone could point me in the right direction with a link to everything, minus a new dish, that I would need, would be so grateful =)

#5 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:08 PM

First, where did you get an H25? If you bought it online, you should be able to return it if you havent authorized it yet...and get an H24 which will work with your current dish. If you bought it from elsewhere, its probably leased, and they wont turn it on for you anyway.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#6 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:12 PM

I am unable to post links until after making 5 posts to this forum, I have found something I would like opinions on, but in the meantime, if anyone could point me in the right direction with a link to everything, minus a new dish, that I would need, would be so grateful =)


http://www.amazon.co...h/dp/B001FG73YO

You need all 3 items marked it the "get all three box below the main item". You may also need a bandstop filter for each of your other boxes.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#7 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:17 PM

The H25 came with the HR24 when the sat guy came and did my home install, I ordered it thru directv website about a year ago.

#8 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:18 PM

The H25 came with the HR24 when the sat guy came and did my home install, I ordered it thru directv website about a year ago.


A sat guy installed an HR24 at your house without installing an HD dish? If that is the case, call DirecTv and tell then your HD isnt working, and they will come install the right dish.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#9 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:19 PM

Trying to make 5th post so I can ask you about this link-sorry in advance

#10 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:20 PM

What is this or what would I need with this one? Is it the same thing? http://www.amazon.co...=A18ACDNYOEMMOL :confused:

#11 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:24 PM

Yea, you would need that, and a green label splitter to split the output of the SWM multiswitch to the H25 and HR24. Any other non-HD boxes could hook into the 3 legacy ports.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#12 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:28 PM

The H25 came with the HR24 when the sat guy came and did my home install, I ordered it thru directv website about a year ago.


Did D* install the receivers on your SD dish, or are you just trying to use an SD dish for camping (and have the receivers correctly on an HD dish?)
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#13 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:40 PM

They were correctly installed on the Slimline here at home, was just trying to get my newer model sat receiver to work with my old 18" dish, away from home, at my camp on the weekends. Apologizes for not being clearer.:blush:

#14 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 09:45 PM

Lots of work. Your camp have decent line of site where you could just mount a dish on a pole in the yard?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#15 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 19 June 2012 - 10:31 PM

The camp is deep in the mountains and only has a small clearing in the direction of the old satellite-It would have to be mounted on the roof where the other one now is, other locations were tried before without any luck...

#16 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 19 June 2012 - 10:40 PM

OK. Well, that should work doing what you want to do, just a little pricey considering you still wont get any HD. Of course, in the woods, I wouldnt probably care myself. Id be outside with my camera hiking.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#17 OFFLINE   Directv customer 19879919

Directv customer 19879919

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2012

Posted 20 June 2012 - 01:31 AM

Love to hike, fish, swim, build a nice campfire...wish I was there now :)
Really appreciate all the help you have given this evening-I have spent hours looking in other forums online, and couldn't believe all the info I found at this one, so impressed I created an account here and had answers that I had not been able to find anywhere. I intend to keep this account because of all the info and latest news and such helpful people, such as yourself.
If you don't mind me asking one more question, at least I hope it's my last one, lol. You said I needed something with a green label? I am not sure what that is-would you mind finding me a link for such a device?
Again, thanks for all your help, and hope you get to go on that hike soon. :goodjob:

#18 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 25 June 2012 - 07:32 AM

Love to hike, fish, swim, build a nice campfire...wish I was there now :)
Really appreciate all the help you have given this evening-I have spent hours looking in other forums online, and couldn't believe all the info I found at this one, so impressed I created an account here and had answers that I had not been able to find anywhere. I intend to keep this account because of all the info and latest news and such helpful people, such as yourself.
If you don't mind me asking one more question, at least I hope it's my last one, lol. You said I needed something with a green label? I am not sure what that is-would you mind finding me a link for such a device?
Again, thanks for all your help, and hope you get to go on that hike soon. :goodjob:


That just refers to the color of the label that is on the splitter and the SWM8 unit. Basically, if it has a green label or a green dot sticker on it, it is compatible with DECA (for MRV). If you are just setting up this one receiver at the camp, then this is not as important, but I think most people would recommend it still. You would actually be pretty hard-pressed to find a splitter or SWM unit that is not green label nowadays.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#19 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,221 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 25 June 2012 - 11:10 AM

And remember of course that depending on where your cabin is located, you may not be able to receive your local channels there. As local channels for the most part are on spotbeams, and your cabin maybe outside the spotbeam's much smaller (compared to CONUS for nationals) satellite footprint.

#20 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 27 June 2012 - 06:37 PM

Instead of fiddling around with your H25, why don't you just purchase (used) an old compatible SD receiver and add it to your account (for $6/mo) and take it up to camp? I'm sure those brainy CSR's would have no clue that it wouldn't work with your SWM dish and would cheerfully add it to your account.

Irregardless if you transport your H25 to camp or do the above you are in violation of the Terms of Service since all receivers on an account are supposed to be at the same address.

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K





Protected By... spam firewall...And...