Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Install in a home with detached rec room


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 21 June 2012 - 01:09 PM

So, I am in escrow on a new home. The previous owner was a car collector, so there are actually two separate two-car garages on the lot. One is in the back yard, detached from the house by about about 30 feet. The other is attached to the home in the front.

My intent is to bring in a contractor to change the detached garage into a nice rec room and home office (its huge). I'd like to put a very large LCD in there, and then hook up a smaller set or two in the main house. The main house is on raised platform, the detached garage is on a concrete slab.

The current owners do not have satellite but they've wired the home for cable, and when they built the main garage, they did run a cable line from the main house to the garage.

My plan has been to get both cable (for internet and phone service) and continue with my D* service for television.

I'm wondering what the best to work things with D* might be. I could install a dish on the roof, and run the satellite signal into the main house without much difficulty. But, I'm not sure how I would then get the signal into the garage rec room, short of running cables along the fence in the back yard. I thought about somehow using the existing cable lines, but the problem being that I will also have a cable signal coming into the house for broadband internet access.

And, yeah, I know that I can solve all these fun and games by parking in the detached garage and using the attached garage as a rec room. I don't want to do this though because parking in the attached garage is so much easier.

Any suggestions?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 21 June 2012 - 01:27 PM

You could install a second dish on the garage.

#3 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,213 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 21 June 2012 - 01:33 PM

Yes, a second dish might be best - that's what I did....about 60ft from the main house to the office in the garden. Avoids the need to trench....

#4 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 21 June 2012 - 03:30 PM

How does that impact my rates? Does that mean two separate accounts?

BTW, I appreciate this suggestion. I don't know why I hadn't thought of it myself.

#5 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,900 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 21 June 2012 - 03:35 PM

How does that impact my rates? Does that mean two separate accounts?

BTW, I appreciate this suggestion. I don't know why I hadn't thought of it myself.


No rate issue, I have two dishes, one on the house and one on a detached garage about 60' from the north end of the house. You do have to pay for the 2nd dish yourself, I don't think they cover a 2nd dish as part of any installation.

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#6 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 21 June 2012 - 03:48 PM

Thanks! This is great.

#7 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,231 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 21 June 2012 - 04:23 PM

If you want to use whole-home (multi-room viewing) service, you will need some type of connectivity, coax or ethernet, between the two buildings. If the garage location will stand entirely on it's own, then not an issue.

#8 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,900 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 21 June 2012 - 06:12 PM

If you want to use whole-home (multi-room viewing) service, you will need some type of connectivity, coax or ethernet, between the two buildings. If the garage location will stand entirely on it's own, then not an issue.


Excellent point. I have the 2nd dish/hr20-100 on wireless adapter, it connects to the router where the main dish-multiple dvrs/deca/whdvr setup is. Everything sees everything.

In other words, you can run a hybrid network with WHDVR. The big part of the network is DECA, one dish and dvr is non-DECA, but linked to the main system with a wireless adapter (WGA600N)

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#9 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,213 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 21 June 2012 - 06:28 PM

I also have the receiver on the remote dish connected via a wireless adapter, as per Hasan's post, to participate in whole home.

#10 OFFLINE   Alebob911

Alebob911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,588 posts
  • LocationCERES,CA
Joined: Mar 22, 2007

Posted 21 June 2012 - 06:38 PM

The other model for wireless adaptors WET610N works well too and is also supported with the current software on the HD/HDDVR's. I don't think there was much of a change between the WGA600N and the WET610N other than case design and maybe antenna placement. I used both and both work well. They both install via the onscreen software that is in the HD/HDDRV's very easily. Just make sure you have your SSID and password for your wireless network. Great suggestion hasan!

#11 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 24 June 2012 - 01:20 AM

The second dish would not be covered on the standard install. But some green to the installer should work.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#12 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 26 June 2012 - 11:38 PM

If you want to use whole-home (multi-room viewing) service, you will need some type of connectivity, coax or ethernet, between the two buildings. If the garage location will stand entirely on it's own, then not an issue.


The two buildings are connected via ethernet. The past owner had hard wired everything. So, I should be able to keep the multi-room viewing stuff (which I currently enjoy).

#13 OFFLINE   GregAmy

GregAmy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:10 AM

The two buildings are connected via ethernet. The past owner had hard wired everything. So, I should be able to keep the multi-room viewing stuff (which I currently enjoy).

I just refurbished a detached garage. Used direct-burial CAT6 and coax (buried a pair of each, for backup) for both Internet access and DTV whole-home, as well as wanting to record garage/mancave-specific items on the garage DVR. Stuff's not that expensive, and I used a garden shovel to bury it ~6" down. Easy.

If you weren't in Cali I'd give you a helluva deal on the rest of the 1000' rolls of each we bought... ;) - GA

#14 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 27 June 2012 - 03:13 PM

I just refurbished a detached garage. Used direct-burial CAT6 and coax (buried a pair of each, for backup) for both Internet access and DTV whole-home, as well as wanting to record garage/mancave-specific items on the garage DVR. Stuff's not that expensive, and I used a garden shovel to bury it ~6" down. Easy.

If you weren't in Cali I'd give you a helluva deal on the rest of the 1000' rolls of each we bought... ;) - GA


I love this forum. I wouldn't have thought that there was anybody out there who had attempted this sort of thing!

I can't bury a line in soft dirt, because there is nothing put concrete between the house and the detached garage. But, one other option would be to run one line into the main house, and then run another line along the rear fence, and then into the garage/rec room.

I could avoid all these fun and games by just tossing D* and going with cable (the detached garage is wired for cable). That would be cheap to do since I'll get my internet through cable.

However, I really do enjoy D* and their sports coverage, and want to stay with them.

#15 OFFLINE   GregAmy

GregAmy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 03 July 2012 - 07:00 AM

Just had another thought. You said you have a single coax running to the garage; is it of quality sufficient for DECA? What's your DVR model?

Why can you not set up a DECA network through that coax so that you can view recordings on another DVR in the house, and then for Internet access connect a wireless router into the other Ethernet port on the DVR (assuming it's like my HR-22s). I have my Samsung TV connected to that port for Internet access; it grabs a DHCP IP from the DECA network, which is connected to my home network via one of those DECA router/bridge. No reason you can't do the same thing with a PC and/or wireless router.

And with that DECA network you can watch live TV...

So you get it all: live TV, ability to record two shows, access to recordings on another box, and Internet access, all through that single existing coax.

Just another option, not quite clear how that will work out for you. - GA

#16 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 July 2012 - 07:56 AM

@GregAmy:

It is highly recommended to NOT use the second Ethernet port on your DVR to connect other devices to your home network. The HR2x DVRs do not have a dedicated switch for the two Ethernet ports, thus the DVR has to use CPU cycles to maintain the bridge between the two ports.

Although still unsupported, a better way to do what you want is to put a splitter on the coax run. One output goes to the DVR while the other goes to a DECA unit with a PI. You can then run the Ethernet from the DECA to a switch, router, or device.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#17 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 03 July 2012 - 08:14 AM

Surprised no one has asked, does the current cable line go from the main building to the secondary? If so how?

If it is in conduit with other low voltage lines, you could pull a second coax through it.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#18 OFFLINE   GregAmy

GregAmy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 04 July 2012 - 10:01 AM

It is highly recommended to NOT use the second Ethernet port on your DVR...

Sure, that makes sense. But however many CPU cycles the H22 has to use to process that data, its real-time performance is certainly no worse than the crappy performance I'm normally getting with this interface (even before I used that second port)... <shrug>

...a better way to do what you want is to put a splitter on the coax run. One output goes to the DVR while the other goes to a DECA unit with a PI. You can then run the Ethernet from the DECA to a switch, router, or device.

Since I have HR22s with external DECA already (with the Ethernet cable going into the DVR's external Ethernet port) can I then intercept that Ethernet from the DECA and insert a switch instead? Seems like I can, and seems a much better choice. - GA

#19 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 04 July 2012 - 02:44 PM

So, I am in escrow on a new home. The previous owner was a car collector, so there are actually two separate two-car garages on the lot. One is in the back yard, detached from the house by about about 30 feet. The other is attached to the home in the front.

My intent is to bring in a contractor to change the detached garage into a nice rec room and home office (its huge). I'd like to put a very large LCD in there, and then hook up a smaller set or two in the main house. The main house is on raised platform, the detached garage is on a concrete slab.

The current owners do not have satellite but they've wired the home for cable, and when they built the main garage, they did run a cable line from the main house to the garage.

My plan has been to get both cable (for internet and phone service) and continue with my D* service for television.

I'm wondering what the best to work things with D* might be. I could install a dish on the roof, and run the satellite signal into the main house without much difficulty. But, I'm not sure how I would then get the signal into the garage rec room, short of running cables along the fence in the back yard. I thought about somehow using the existing cable lines, but the problem being that I will also have a cable signal coming into the house for broadband internet access.

And, yeah, I know that I can solve all these fun and games by parking in the detached garage and using the attached garage as a rec room. I don't want to do this though because parking in the attached garage is so much easier.

Any suggestions?


It shouldnt be that difficult. If theres already a coax running from the main house to the garage you will use that for directv now. If you have cable internet in the main house , you can continue to use that. They will need to tone out that line and leave it alone. If you hook up internet and a router in your main house you could hook up that existing cat5 line going to the garage to your router and have internet out there as well. or you could hook up a switch out there and run a whole office from out there. In most cable modem setups you only get 1 cable modem, which would likely go in the main house..

#20 OFFLINE   randyk47

randyk47

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 814 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, TX
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:13 AM

Since I have HR22s with external DECA already (with the Ethernet cable going into the DVR's external Ethernet port) can I then intercept that Ethernet from the DECA and insert a switch instead? Seems like I can, and seems a much better choice. - GA


That's what I did and it works well. After DirecTV upgraded me to MRV I got to thinking about now being able to provide Internet access to a couple of TV's and Blu-ray players that were Internet ready but with no wi-fi capability. I put a small business switch in after the DECA and then ran feeds to the DVR, TV, and Blu-ray player in each location. May or may not be technically supported by DirecTV and may not be ideal but it works or at least has for four or so months. Admittedly I don't run a phone through those locations and I haven't tried surfing the Internet through the switches so I can't speak to speed, etc.
Elite 70" HD LED/HR44/AM21/Denon AVR/Harmony 900
Samsung 52" HD LCD/HR21/Yamaha HTR/Harmony One
Samsung 40" HD LED/HR23/AM21/Pioneer HTR/Harmony 900
Samsung 32" HD LCD/OTA
Slimline Dish
SWM16
MRV
Attic Mounted HD OTA
U-verse Internet/Phone




Protected By... spam firewall...And...