Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Any consensus on best disk for THR-22?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   htroberts

htroberts

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2009

Posted 21 June 2012 - 02:00 PM

The pausing/pixelation problem we were seeing with our THR-22 seems to have been getting worse.

We seem to have the most trouble with 242, USAHD, which if I read the transponder map correctly is on d10/103°. I've re-aligned the antenna, which brought my 103c signals up from mid-80s to high 90s.

This still feels like a software bug to me, like interrupt handling or poorly managed contention, but DirecTV isn't acknowledging any issues, so I suppose that if the signal improvement doesn't help, my next step will be to replace the Seagate pipeline drive we're using with something else.

Is there any consensus on hard disk brand, model, features, or settings that might predict reliable operation?

Thanks,
Heath

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 835 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 21 June 2012 - 07:04 PM

The Seagate Pipeline AV drive that comes with the THR22 is really the best bet. I doubt that your problems come from the disk. I've had recent experience with stuttering and pausing that, according to DirecTV's analysis of a special data log mode they had me enable, were the fault of the signal. As I had an HR21 as well, they had me run its system test and it complained of signal problems, even though it was flawlessly recording the same shows I had set up on the THR22.

DirecTV sent a tech out who saw some bad cable fittings. In the end, he replaced my old 5-LNB+SWM8 setup with a SWMLINE-3 dish and a splitter. He also gave me a Cinema Connection Kit and DECAs to use instead of the hardwired Ethernet, though I agree with those in this forum that this was unnecessary.

It's too early to declare victory, but the HR21 system test now passes, so that's something. I had great signal strengths, all in the 90s, but even so something was amiss. It may be for you as well.

Steve

My Setup


#3 OFFLINE   htroberts

htroberts

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2009

Posted 22 June 2012 - 07:14 PM

The Seagate Pipeline AV drive that comes with the THR22 is really the best bet. I doubt that your problems come from the disk. I've had recent experience with stuttering and pausing that, according to DirecTV's analysis of a special data log mode they had me enable, were the fault of the signal. As I had an HR21 as well, they had me run its system test and it complained of signal problems, even though it was flawlessly recording the same shows I had set up on the THR22.


Do you remember what you had to do to run the test? And were the results visible to you, or did they go to DirecTV?

Thanks for the help/advice.

#4 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 835 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 23 June 2012 - 07:36 AM

The tests they had me do on the THR22 I could not see. I had to enter some codes while playing a show (if I recall, it was something like 711Clear911Clear), then do TWO "connect to DVR service" tasks. I could not see anything.

On the HR21, Settings > Info and Tests > System Test. You can see these results and I suggest you try this. I see in your post at TCF that you are also using SWM - is this a separate SWM module or a SWMLINE-3 dish? Looks as if there may be a common thread there.

Steve

My Setup


#5 OFFLINE   htroberts

htroberts

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2009

Posted 23 June 2012 - 07:38 PM

The tests they had me do on the THR22 I could not see. I had to enter some codes while playing a show (if I recall, it was something like 711Clear911Clear), then do TWO "connect to DVR service" tasks. I could not see anything.

On the HR21, Settings > Info and Tests > System Test. You can see these results and I suggest you try this. I see in your post at TCF that you are also using SWM - is this a separate SWM module or a SWMLINE-3 dish? Looks as if there may be a common thread there.


So I'm a little confused--did your problems start when you went to a SWM? Or we're they resolved when you switched to a SWM? Or did they start when you went to a 5-sat 4-output LNB & SWM8 and resolve when you replaced that setup with the 3-sat integrated LNB & SWM?

We do (did) have what I think is an unusual config in common: I have a 5-sat LNB with 4 outputs and a separate SWM8. I don't need the 'extra' satellites, but the DirecTV guys who installed my dish swapped it for the original 3-sat LNB when they couldn't get HD channels to work--they had forgotten the B-band converters that my box needed to see the Ka-low signals.

Thanks for all the help--this seems to be an uncommon but very annoying problem.

#6 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 835 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 24 June 2012 - 07:29 AM

I believe the problem started when I went from a direct connection (two of them) to a SWM8 at the same time that I installed a 2TB disk. I didn't associate the SWM install as the key because it seemed to be operating correctly and the issue was affecting only my THR22. I initially thought my choice of disk was poor (a standard Seagate Barracuda with energy saving features) and then tried again with a Seagate Pipeline disk, same line as the THR22 shipped with, for about $30 more. Same issues. That led me to conclude it wasn't the disk, but I would never have suspected the SWM.

In a week or so I will swap the 2TB disk back in and see what happens. So far, the THR22 has been fine with the new setup and the original 500GB disk. My setup now has the dish with integrated SWM and no separate SWM module. I will also note that I bought one of the early SWM8 modules and perhaps improvements have been made.

Steve

My Setup


#7 OFFLINE   htroberts

htroberts

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2009

Posted 04 July 2012 - 07:47 AM

I believe the problem started when I went from a direct connection (two of them) to a SWM8 at the same time that I installed a 2TB disk. I didn't associate the SWM install as the key because it seemed to be operating correctly and the issue was affecting only my THR22. I initially thought my choice of disk was poor (a standard Seagate Barracuda with energy saving features) and then tried again with a Seagate Pipeline disk, same line as the THR22 shipped with, for about $30 more. Same issues. That led me to conclude it wasn't the disk, but I would never have suspected the SWM.

In a week or so I will swap the 2TB disk back in and see what happens. So far, the THR22 has been fine with the new setup and the original 500GB disk. My setup now has the dish with integrated SWM and no separate SWM module. I will also note that I bought one of the early SWM8 modules and perhaps improvements have been made.


So, I've switched the THR-22 back to the pre-SWM multiswitch. I think the dropouts are better, but they're definitely not gone.

I've not been able to see the diag on the HR21--my 'spare' TV that I connected to it seems to have died. I'll probably get back around to that with a different TV this weekend.

I think my next-least-drastic step will be to try an integrated 3-sat/SWM LNB connected only to the THR-22. I might also try switching back to the original internal disk or a WD 2TB instead of the current Seagate pipeline 2TB.

#8 OFFLINE   htroberts

htroberts

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2009

Posted 04 July 2012 - 12:35 PM

Here's another interesting data point: I see the 'dropout' problem even on 'on demand' content, which I think is delivered by some sort of Internet download.

If I'm correct that it's downloaded, I can't think of a logical explanation for this...

#9 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 06 July 2012 - 08:30 PM

It just sounds like a bad unit. I would get it replaced or have a tech come out and make sure things are all up to snuff.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#10 OFFLINE   frankygamer

frankygamer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2006

Posted 07 July 2012 - 02:02 PM

It just sounds like a bad unit. I would get it replaced or have a tech come out and make sure things are all up to snuff.

Now wait. Terminology is important. Do this only if you have the protection plan. If you don't, sign up for it and sit on the box until the plan kicks in. Then replace the unit. Otherwise you may get renewed for 12-24 months.

#11 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 07 July 2012 - 02:46 PM

Now wait. Terminology is important. Do this only if you have the protection plan. If you don't, sign up for it and sit on the box until the plan kicks in. Then replace the unit. Otherwise you may get renewed for 12-24 months.


Technical can do it as well without an agreement you don't have to have protection plan. I said replace which is what would happen with the ERP (equipment replacement program) rather than upgrade.

So the terminology used was correct.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#12 OFFLINE   dxmcfar

dxmcfar

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:54 AM

The answer is the kit itself. Disconnect the "in from LNB" and connect it straight to the receiver. The kit will still work. Pixilization will stop. I tried the kit connected to sat 1 and sat 2 normally and the problem followed. I then tried connecting the kit with just the Ethernet connected to the DTV TiVo and the unit itself of course connected to my wifi and no more problems!! Very happy. I was going to send this TiVo back and write the BBB and all that. I am actually going to call a buddy of mine that works for the office of the president at DTV because this needs to be a known issue with a known resolution.

#13 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:54 PM

The answer is the kit itself. Disconnect the "in from LNB" and connect it straight to the receiver. The kit will still work. Pixilization will stop. I tried the kit connected to sat 1 and sat 2 normally and the problem followed. I then tried connecting the kit with just the Ethernet connected to the DTV TiVo and the unit itself of course connected to my wifi and no more problems!! Very happy. I was going to send this TiVo back and write the BBB and all that. I am actually going to call a buddy of mine that works for the office of the president at DTV because this needs to be a known issue with a known resolution.


I'm assuming you meant this to be in it's own post as it has nothing to do with the thread but with that said. Wireless CCK's are not supported to be used with a THR-22 so calling your buddy will just result in him telling you that it's not authorized.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#14 OFFLINE   CaptBobH

CaptBobH

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2012

Posted 15 December 2012 - 07:18 AM

I'm assuming you meant this to be in it's own post as it has nothing to do with the thread but with that said. Wireless CCK's are not supported to be used with a THR-22 so calling your buddy will just result in him telling you that it's not authorized.


D* INSIST I need a Wireless CCK so my VOD will work and has sent me out one...hasn't arrived yet...expecting it Mon or Tues.

#15 OFFLINE   JRobert

JRobert

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2013

Posted 31 March 2013 - 02:38 AM

The pausing/pixelation problem we were seeing with our THR-22 seems to have been getting worse.

We seem to have the most trouble with 242, USAHD, which if I read the transponder map correctly is on d10/103°. I've re-aligned the antenna, which brought my 103c signals up from mid-80s to high 90s.

This still feels like a software bug to me, like interrupt handling or poorly managed contention, but DirecTV isn't acknowledging any issues, so I suppose that if the signal improvement doesn't help, my next step will be to replace the Seagate pipeline drive we're using with something else.

Is there any consensus on hard disk brand, model, features, or settings that might predict reliable operation?

Thanks,
Heath

Thank you for acknowledging this issue. I have 2 THR22s and one is worse than the other. They are completely stock units connected to a SlimLine3 SWM. I mostly watch recorded shows and the audio/video glitches happen very frequently. It is about 50% that if I rewind and play back over this spot the glitch will or not still be there. Sometimes the glitch if both audio and video, and other times the video will freeze and the audio keeps on going, and after a few moments the video starts playing again. My old HR10-250 is also running off the SWM multiswitch legacy ports and having no issues at all. I am relying heavily on this unit for OTA HD recordings and often just settling for an SD recording of DTV channels. Although the SD picture pales in comparison, the lack of glitches makes viewing more relaxing and enjoyable as the constant glitches agitate me. All of my signal strengths are in the mid 90s. Have you heard of others with this issue or and cures for this yet? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

Edited by JRobert, 31 March 2013 - 02:41 AM.
left out a few thoughts





spam firewall