Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

"Unable to acquire program guide" error


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   misterp

misterp

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: May 28, 2012

Posted 26 June 2012 - 04:02 PM

I've been having a lot of problems with my Hopper and I think they're all related to this error:

"Unable to acquire program guide."

My live TV works fine. When I bring up the program guide, it lists shows for everything on currently and for the next hour. For example, at 2:30 I can see all the shows that are on now and any show that begins at 3:00. Any show that starts at 3:30 or later is listed as "No Info Available."

I've rebooted the box. (Unplugged, let sit for a minute, replug it in.)
All the network tests show that the connection is OK.
I cannot turn on Prime Time Anytime; when I try to turn it on within settings, I get the "Unable to acquire program guide" error.
The box was working fine up until a couple days ago. I could see a complete program guide and PTAT worked.

Anyone else run into this?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 26 June 2012 - 04:06 PM

Try unplugging all Joeys, reset the Hopper, then check the Tuner screen for a Guide download.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#3 OFFLINE   RaymondG@DISH Network

RaymondG@DISH Network

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2011

Posted 26 June 2012 - 04:15 PM

Please send me a PM with your phone or account number so I can assist you to correct this issue. Thanks!

#4 OFFLINE   misterp

misterp

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: May 28, 2012

Posted 26 June 2012 - 04:20 PM

Try unplugging all Joeys, reset the Hopper, then check the Tuner screen for a Guide download.


Can you elaborate what you mean by checking the tuner screen for a guide download? Is there a way to manually force a download?

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,286 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 June 2012 - 05:00 PM

If you'll do switch check or while in a guide, scroll to right to force DL new EPG.

#6 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 26 June 2012 - 06:24 PM

If you'll do switch check or while in a guide, scroll to right to force DL new EPG.


Not on a hopper. After it boots, hit the red hotkey to see the Tuner screen. One tuner should show that the Guide's downloading.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...




spam firewall