Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Wireless Adapters


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   vfviola

vfviola

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 26 June 2012 - 06:26 PM

Just wanted to drop a couple of lines to see if anyone had any ideas. I used to have 2 Homeplug wireless adapters connecting my HR21-200/HR21-100. Worked fine for downloading VOD and MRV. Just recently 1 unit lost the ability to stay with a power connection. Went and bought Belkin wireless adapters and connected the same way. Getting VOD just fine, but not getting MRV. Any thoughts?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,271 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 June 2012 - 08:48 PM

home plug adapters are just not up to the task for WHDVR. you can either run ethernet to those receivers, of get DirecTV approved DECA network.

#3 OFFLINE   sweep49

sweep49

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 168 posts
  • LocationSW GA
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:27 AM

I use TrendNet Powerline 300mps adapters and they usually work ok. They are susceptible to line noise from things like vacuums and treadmills.

HR22-100 + AM21
HR22-100

HR44-500 + AM21
H21 + AM21

Self installed:
Slimline 5
SWM-16
MRV


#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,906 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:31 AM

Seems to me coax networking would be cheaper.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   vfviola

vfviola

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:31 AM

I use TrendNet Powerline 300mps adapters and they usually work ok. They are susceptible to line noise from things like vacuums and treadmills.


Do you have to have a deca adapter for those to work?

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:00 AM

Do you have to have a deca adapter for those to work?


No. You would be running MRV over your home network, so you would be running Ethernet from the receivers to the home plug adapters.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   vfviola

vfviola

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:34 AM

I didn't think so. I've been using mrv without deca for a year or so. All of sudden I can't get the receivers to see each other now. I am clueless. I'll keep working with it.

#8 OFFLINE   vfviola

vfviola

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:43 AM

Any thoughts on why the powerline adapters work to give internet access to each receiver for VOD but they are not giving MRV? The old adapters I had did VOD/MRV. Now no MRV. Just confused as to why MRV is gone?

#9 OFFLINE   argonaut

argonaut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 27 June 2012 - 09:02 AM

Which specific model are you using?

#10 OFFLINE   vfviola

vfviola

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 27 June 2012 - 09:31 AM

Belkin powerline connecting to HR21200/hr21100?

#11 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:12 AM

Rerun network setup on each receiver and post back what the IP address is on each.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#12 OFFLINE   vfviola

vfviola

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:20 PM

Both showing 192.168.0.1 for ip address?

#13 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,100 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:28 PM

Both showing 192.168.0.1 for ip address?


For MRV they need unique addresses (which your router should be able to assign with DHCP). You may need to go into Advanced Setup and manually input the addresses.

#14 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,049 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:54 PM

Both showing 192.168.0.1 for ip address?


Wrong setup/config! All network devices must have unique IP address !

#15 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,487 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:13 PM

Both showing 192.168.0.1 for ip address?


That's not what's showing up as the gateway, right? Normally 0.1 is the router not the client.

#16 OFFLINE   vfviola

vfviola

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:23 PM

That's not what's showing up as the gateway, right? Normally 0.1 is the router not the client.


The default gateway is 0.1. The ip address when I ran again is showing 110 for one unit and 107 for the second. I don't get it. I changed nothing except new adapters and only getting internet activity no MRV/sharing of playlist?

#17 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,049 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:02 PM

Do we know what port MRV using ?

#18 OFFLINE   sweep49

sweep49

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 168 posts
  • LocationSW GA
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 28 June 2012 - 06:39 AM

I had problems with DHCP dropping receivers off the network when reassigning their "lease" I think. Per other's advice, I assigned unique static IPs to the receivers which are outside of the router's DHCP range of addresses. Restarted router and receivers and then all worked well.

I use non supported MRV so I can use diplexed ota, which is not possible with deca. Based on what I've read, the best approach is to use deca if you can.

HR22-100 + AM21
HR22-100

HR44-500 + AM21
H21 + AM21

Self installed:
Slimline 5
SWM-16
MRV


#19 OFFLINE   sweep49

sweep49

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 168 posts
  • LocationSW GA
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 28 June 2012 - 06:41 AM

Lots of good info about this topic in this thread:

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=177590

HR22-100 + AM21
HR22-100

HR44-500 + AM21
H21 + AM21

Self installed:
Slimline 5
SWM-16
MRV


#20 OFFLINE   vfviola

vfviola

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 28 June 2012 - 04:03 PM

So, I continued messing with the settings and rbr and am now getting playlists to share. Not sure how but it is working. Thanks for all the feedback.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...