Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Does "HD for Life" exist?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,273 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 04 July 2012 - 11:16 AM

Probably because they don't have all the HD channels the regular packages have. Like BBCA for instance.

No need to speculate on SJ HART's behalf. SJ HART can tell us for certain what the deficiency is.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   SJ HART

SJ HART

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2003

Posted 04 July 2012 - 02:47 PM

No need to speculate on SJ HART's behalf. SJ HART can tell us for certain what the deficiency is.


No deficiency. I had an HD only package that they no longer offer. They switched me to America Silver including HD. All the channels we watch are available in HD. I just believe HD will become the norm at some point. SJ

#23 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,273 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 July 2012 - 07:04 AM

No deficiency. I had an HD only package that they no longer offer. They switched me to America Silver including HD.

America's Silver is an "HD only" package too. I'm trying to understand why you lament going from one such package to another and if you don't, why you seem to be complaining about it.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#24 OFFLINE   SJ HART

SJ HART

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2003

Posted 07 July 2012 - 07:13 AM

America's Silver is an "HD only" package too. I'm trying to understand why you lament going from one such package to another and if you don't, why you seem to be complaining about it.


I'm not complaining. I was not aware that they still offered HD only packages. Guess I was wrong. Thanks. SJ

#25 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,909 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 13 July 2012 - 11:05 AM

I suspect that you're wrong. Last I checked, Detroit was a dual arc market.


Cleveland is also a dual arc market, however the "big 4" network stations are not carried in SD on the eastern arc. If you maintain an older receiver on an SD set you would lose the big 4 stations if they switched you to an HD EA setup. Ironically the locals not carried in HD (CW, My Net, independent, Religious etc.) are carried in SD on the EA. Go figure!
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.




spam firewall