Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV HD Channel Anticipation (Official Q3-12 Thread)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3974 replies to this topic

#726 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,608 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 08:22 AM

Ok, I'm confused. TCM HD is up and running on DTV. The SD content looks much better in the HD feed. However why are the promos and bumpers that were obviously mastered in HD still window boxed? In other words shown with side bars and letter boxed. Also I have yet to see the TCM-HD logo in the corner of the screen. It would appear that TCM is still using SD playback equipment for everything. Can someone enlighten me?


Sure, TCM isn't an HD channel that has anything actually in HD. At least not in the US. That has been one of the complaints from those with other service providers that had TCM in HD.

Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#727 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,118 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 19 July 2012 - 08:36 AM

Ok, I'm confused. TCM HD is up and running on DTV. The SD content looks much better in the HD feed. However why are the promos and bumpers that were obviously mastered in HD still window boxed? In other words shown with side bars and letter boxed. Also I have yet to see the TCM-HD logo in the corner of the screen. It would appear that TCM is still using SD playback equipment for everything. Can someone enlighten me?


Per Wikipedia: TCM HD: In June 2009 Turner Classic Movies launched a high definition version of the channel showing the same programing as it's standard definition channel. Initial programming was not native high definition and was instead upconverted from standard definition but benefited from the greater bandwidth allococated to the channel. Programs on the high definition feed are broadcast in upconverted 1080i.

DIRECTV customer since 1995.


#728 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,182 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 July 2012 - 08:49 AM

I was watching a black and white movie from 1932 this morning and I can't say that I saw a huge difference. Maybe 20 percent better picture?


But aren't you watching on some antiquated 4:3 TV?
The difference between the SD and HD feeds is huge on my set.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#729 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,118 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 19 July 2012 - 08:57 AM

But aren't you watching on some antiquated 4:3 TV?
The difference between the SD and HD feeds is huge on my set.


The audio is better on the HD feed too.

DIRECTV customer since 1995.


#730 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:16 AM

Ok, I'm confused. TCM HD is up and running on DTV. The SD content looks much better in the HD feed. However why are the promos and bumpers that were obviously mastered in HD still window boxed?

I sure hope they take widescreen movies up to 16:9. The movies on this morning have all been older ones, shot in a 4:3 aspect ratio, so they fill the screen the best they can. But when they broadcast Ice Station Zebra in a few days, one of my favorites when I was a kid, I want to see that fill the screen.

Forbidden Planet should also tell us how TCM HD handles widescreen movies.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#731 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,879 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:22 AM

I sure hope they take widescreen movies up to 16:9. The movies on this morning have all been older ones, shot in a 4:3 aspect ratio, so they fill the screen the best they can. But when they broadcast Ice Station Zebra in a few days, one of my favorites when I was a kid, I want to see that fill the screen.

Forbidden Planet should also tell us how TCM HD handles widescreen movies.


I set that one to record since I will not be home.

According to all the forums I searched when TCM was "announced," they respect OAR as often as possible. In the few instances where they did not, they issued an apology at the start of the film.

TCM is one of the few bastions of doing movies right and not just pandering to popular tastes (i.e., no showings of Iron Man 2 500 times a month).
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#732 OFFLINE   Levachek

Levachek

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:23 AM

I want to see it (Ice Station Zebra) too, but in the original aspect ratio - which means it won't fill the screen, since it was originally 2:35 :1. HBO converts cinemascope to fill 16x9 and the results are awful. IMO.

#733 OFFLINE   ep1974

ep1974

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 489 posts
Joined: May 22, 2010

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:35 AM

Most likely because the channels have not supplied the logo, or have not released the legal usage of said logo. The logo's are not owned by DirecTV, and DirecTV has to ask permission to use them. I would think most channels would give this permission, as it gives them a better recognition in the guide, but some might not have given this permission, or simply don't have a logo available in the format that DirecTV needs it in.



Great to see TCM HD is here. Just an observation. There is no banner logo for TCM HD. It justs says TCMHD in letters. Why no logo, when there is a logo for TCM SD? Also, it slightly obscures the channel number. The same thing for channels 286,639,246 etc. Do you think Directv will adjust the banner name on these and other channels so the channel number is fully visible?

Edited by ep1974, 19 July 2012 - 10:36 AM.


#734 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:37 AM

I want to see it (Ice Station Zebra) too, but in the original aspect ratio - which means it won't fill the screen, since it was originally 2:35 :1. HBO converts cinemascope to fill 16x9 and the results are awful. IMO.

Letter-boxed is fine with me for Ice Station Zebra. I can put up with the black bars on the top and bottom of the screen. I just don't want it both letterboxed and window boxed, a smaller rectangle in the middle of the screen, which I what I assumed the original poster meant with his comment.

And I agree with you that having a 2:35:1 movie shrunk to 16:9 is a travesty. I see that on the HD transfers of the Star Trek movies on the premium channels and it sucks. I just ordered the first six from Amazon on Blu-ray (on sale right now for $39.99) and I am counting on them being in their original aspect ratio.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#735 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,520 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:00 AM

Guess I missed the promos for this;

But is this a women in prison classic movie marathon running right now on TCM or something?

#736 OFFLINE   TomK

TomK

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 371 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2010

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:04 AM

What time did it go live? I was up at 5:30 and checked before I left and it still wasn't in the guide. Oh and just a heads up... Citizen Kane is on tonight.



It arrived at 5:00 a.m. Central time. Make sure it's in your guide, I had to add it to my custom guide.

#737 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,714 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:29 AM

Letter-boxed is fine with me for Ice Station Zebra. I can put up with the black bars on the top and bottom of the screen. I just don't want it both letterboxed and window boxed, a smaller rectangle in the middle of the screen, which I what I assumed the original poster meant with his comment.

And I agree with you that having a 2:35:1 movie shrunk to 16:9 is a travesty. I see that on the HD transfers of the Star Trek movies on the premium channels and it sucks. I just ordered the first six from Amazon on Blu-ray (on sale right now for $39.99) and I am counting on them being in their original aspect ratio.


I watch TCM a lot and haven't seen any of the "postage stamp" treatment in movies, just letter box and pillar box. They try their best to do OAR.

#738 OFFLINE   alnielsen

alnielsen

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 505 posts
  • LocationDuPage Co. IL
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 11:54 AM

What time did it go live? I was up at 5:30 and checked before I left and it still wasn't in the guide. Oh and just a heads up... Citizen Kane is on tonight.


It arrived at 5:00 a.m. Central time. Make sure it's in your guide, I had to add it to my custom guide.


Even though I have show SD duplicates turned off. TCM HD didn't show up this morning. I had to edit my favorites list to turn off the SD channel and turn on the HD channel.

Direct TV subscriber since 1999
Choice Ultimate Customer
Equipment:: HR21-700 HR20-700 H20-100 (owned) SlimLine 5 Antenna
Winegard HD 8800 8-Bay for OTA

 

KC9ZOU


#739 OFFLINE   mitchflorida

mitchflorida

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 471 posts
Joined: May 18, 2009

Posted 19 July 2012 - 11:56 AM

But aren't you watching on some antiquated 4:3 TV?
The difference between the SD and HD feeds is huge on my set.


Well I do have a new HD set upstairs. The picture has big black borders on the sides. And not a huge difference in quality. To be fair , 15 % better on an old 1932 b&w move. I expect I will be much more impressed when the film doesn't have the black borders on the sides and is post 1953 color.


The set downstairs is another story. 4x3 HD shows now have the picture surrounded by thick black borders on the sides and on the top and bottom. But when I watch that in SD, I get absolutely no black borders anywhere and the picture quality is very good .

I will use the HD feed on the 4x3 set when I see some black borders just on the top and bottom, which is what panavision does. Then I will have the best of both worlds. Better quality with less black borders top and bottom


So far I am underwhelmed with TCM HD but I have only seen that one 1930's movie.

Edited by mitchflorida, 19 July 2012 - 12:04 PM.


#740 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,879 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:45 PM

I saw a tremendous improvement as, for some reason, I had both show up despite SD being hidden and switched back and forth. Sound was much better, the picture was very much sharper with deeper blacks and much clearer edges. Basically the difference between SD and HD.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#741 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,182 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:59 PM

There was a movie on earlier that was shown 16:9
It looked really good.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#742 OFFLINE   crawdad62

crawdad62

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 286 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2008

Posted 19 July 2012 - 01:36 PM

It arrived at 5:00 a.m. Central time. Make sure it's in your guide, I had to add it to my custom guide.


Even though I have show SD duplicates turned off. TCM HD didn't show up this morning. I had to edit my favorites list to turn off the SD channel and turn on the HD channel.


Yeah I went into my custom guide to add the HD channel but it wasn't there. I was just a little early though. I checked at 5:30 Eastern. I'll get it added when I get home tomorrow. Thanks!

#743 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,043 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 19 July 2012 - 01:42 PM

^ ...with the Errol Flynn version of Robin Hood on just before it. I have them both set to record.

To my eye, The Adventures of Robin Hood, along with The Wizard of Oz, defined how good Technicolor could get.


Interested to see how Forbidden Planet looks tonight.


Having both of them (well, all three really) on Blu-ray, I'll be interested in seeing how RH and FP look on TCM-HD tonight upconverted.

Great to see TCM HD is here. Just an observation. There is no banner logo for TCM HD. It justs says TCMHD in letters. Why no logo, when there is a logo for TCM SD? Also, it slightly obscures the channel number. The same thing for channels 286,639,246 etc. Do you think Directv will adjust the banner name on these and other channels so the channel number is fully visible?


They're waiting on a logo for TCM-HD. DirecTV usually takes a while updating their logos. I don't think E! HD has one yet... It'll come...

~Alan

#744 OFFLINE   lokar

lokar

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 712 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 02:21 PM

Letter-boxed is fine with me for Ice Station Zebra. I can put up with the black bars on the top and bottom of the screen. I just don't want it both letterboxed and window boxed, a smaller rectangle in the middle of the screen, which I what I assumed the original poster meant with his comment.

And I agree with you that having a 2:35:1 movie shrunk to 16:9 is a travesty. I see that on the HD transfers of the Star Trek movies on the premium channels and it sucks. I just ordered the first six from Amazon on Blu-ray (on sale right now for $39.99) and I am counting on them being in their original aspect ratio.


I have this set and they are all OAR, even Star Trek VI which released in 1.85:1 fill on DVD and LD. Does Ice Station Zebra have Patrick McGoohan? It seems like I have heard of this movie somewhere, guess I'll have to DVR it off TCM HD.

#745 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,233 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 02:34 PM

When TCM HD showed up in the Android app, I set a movie to record several days from now. When I checked my todo list this morning, it showed up for TCM SD!

#746 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,879 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 02:46 PM

When TCM HD showed up in the Android app, I set a movie to record several days from now. When I checked my todo list this morning, it showed up for TCM SD!


As I reported it. Because the DVR got the command when the only 256 channel was the SD channel. Do it now it and is should work fine.

The orders to record to the DVR are simple transactions. They are not live updated. They are just orders at the time. Record this on this channel at this time. DVR takes order and processes it. It does not go back and redo it.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#747 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:01 PM

Does Ice Station Zebra have Patrick McGoohan?

He plays the heavy although maybe not the villian. Or maybe he is. You'll just have to find out.

Rock Hudson is the heroic sub captain and Ernest Borgnine also has a major role.

It's a popcorn movie, nothing more, but a good one.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#748 OFFLINE   georule

georule

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,601 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2010

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:23 PM

I can't speak for my less well-endowed brethren. . . but TCM in HD is making a very noticeable difference on my 60" HDTV. Far more than whoever offered "20% better" upstream. TCM has now gone from a channel I'd like to watch, to one I actually *will* watch.

I watched a 4:3 movie this morning for awhile, and it was much better. There's a 16x9 movie on right now. . . much better.

I've got _Forbidden Planet_ and _Gunga Din_ setup to record to the DVR tonight. . . whee!

Thank you, DirecTV!

Now, about BBCAHD, DIYHD, and H2HD. . . .
LR(non-CE): HR44, Mits 65C9; Office/FR (CE): HR22-100 + AM21, Mits 60737 + Mits 3DA1 3D adapter. Spare bedroom (non-CE), HR23. Genie WHDVR, wireless networking (yay!)

#749 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,608 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:28 PM

Gunga Din? Oh crap, another timer to set! :)

Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#750 OFFLINE   fjames

fjames

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2010

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:32 PM

There's a 2:35 on right now and it's window boxed in SD and full width 2:35 in HD. I'm relieved ...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...