Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Joey Guide


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   depoteet

depoteet

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: May 24, 2006

Posted 29 June 2012 - 02:43 PM

Is there a way to view existing channel guides that have already been created on the Hopper on a Joey? Or must they be created again on each Joey?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   komondor

komondor

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2011

Posted 14 July 2012 - 05:52 PM

Near as I can tell you have to redo it for each which is a real pain in the ass

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 July 2012 - 06:17 PM

I don't get it.

H2k (server) keep on own drive all EPG records (say database), when user press Guide button the data converting to human readable format and presented by grid or on separate window as an particular channel's info.
Such request can come from a client(s) - Js.
As INDEPENDENT and will be process by the client separately by own CPU in own RAM.

Now back to OP's question - what you are asking ?

#4 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 14 July 2012 - 08:19 PM

I think he's asking if you can create a Favorites list on the Hopper and then use it on a Joey.

#5 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,258 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 15 July 2012 - 06:47 AM

I have not tried a backup to remote and restore to another room.

Channel locks can be copied between Hoppers and Joeys in the menu system. It would be nice to have shared or copyable favorites lists as well (beyond the built in lists).

#6 OFFLINE   moman19

moman19

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 710 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2004

Posted 15 July 2012 - 10:58 PM

........Channel locks can be copied between Hoppers and Joeys in the menu system. It would be nice to have shared or copyable favorites lists as well (beyond the built in lists).


That's what I thought but I find that whatever channel lists I build in the Hopper via Parental controls, do not copy to the Joeys even when I copy the blocked channels to the respective Joeys via the menu prompt. Am I doing something wrong? Both Joeys are wide open even though they are locked.
All I want is a Perfect DVR!

#7 OFFLINE   depoteet

depoteet

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: May 24, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:26 PM

I was asking about the ability to copy or access a custom channel list created on the Hopper for use on a Joey. It's not difficult to create a new list, but it would be a nice feature.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...