Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

installing 3 Hoppers


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 878 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 01 July 2012 - 07:33 PM

Apologies, I believe this has been discussed but is there a diagram or good post concerning the specifics of installing a 3 Hopper system? I did a search but struck out.
Thank you and
Best of luck

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:39 PM

You would need 2 switches - either 2 DPP44's or a DPP44 and a DPP33. Two to four lines (one for each orbital location) from the dish to the switches - second switch trunked of the first. A dedicated line for the power inserter going to port 1 on each DPP44 switch. A Duo node attached to ports 2-4 on the first DPP44 switch. A Solo Node feeding off of the second switch.

Note that the Hopper network running on the Solo Node will never communicate with the other two Hoppers.

#3 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,144 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:48 PM

Note that the Hopper network running on the Solo Node will never communicate with the other two Hoppers.


Just connect a jumper from a client port on the first node to a client pot on the second node and ALL Hoppers will communicate each other.
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#4 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:51 PM

Just connect a jumper from a client port on the first node to a client pot on the second node and ALL Hoppers will communicate each other.


Really? I hadn't heard that before. Very cool if it works.

#5 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 878 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 02 July 2012 - 09:08 AM

This was shared by 3HaloODST at Satellite Guys which is really helpful, perhaps others can use the information. :)

Attached Thumbnails

  • 3HaloODST 3 Hopper Config.jpg

Thank you and
Best of luck

#6 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 464 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 02 July 2012 - 02:57 PM

Really? I hadn't heard that before. Very cool if it works.


It works, and quite well :) .




spam firewall