Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

During HR34 install, installer disconnected room that was no longer using a DVR.


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hbkbiggestfan

hbkbiggestfan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 406 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:56 PM

I had an HR34 install a few months back and per D* policy, the installer disconnected the swm from one of my guest bedrooms that I previously had a H25 hooked up in (I forgot about the policy).

Now I want to reconnect the H25, but I just realized he disconnected that room when I got a 771A error. I don't want to pay D* to get it reconnected and wanted to try to do it myself WITHOUT disconnecting any of my other tuners/rooms. How can I do this? How can I tell which coax goes to that room? I have a SWM 16. Any help is greatly appreciated...
<Living Room HR34-700-Networked Wireless CCK*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Vizio E601i-a3 60" 1080p LED HDTV> <Master Bedroom HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL*HDMI-Olevia 37" LCD HDTV>
<Man Cave HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Samsung 46" LN46B530 1080p LCD HDTV> *Linksys Router <Backup Equipment HR22-100, H21-200, R15 and SD DIRECTiVo>
DIRECTV Since August 2002. Thanks for DLB & MRV DIRECTV!

NFL Sunday Ticket + Superfan since 2004 Go KC Chiefs!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,033 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:59 PM

How many coax do you have laying loose at the SWM area? You can test coax any of several ways, but perhaps the easiest that won't cost you anything for test equipment is just hook up the receiver in the guest room, then try the coax one at a time connecting them to your SWM16 (or one of the splitters coming off the SWM16) until the receiver works.

If you don't have any unused splitter ports, you can temporarily unhook something else and use that port to test your coax. Then to hook both that coax and the original item up you will need to get another splitter.

Make sure you don't put more than 8 tuners on either side of the SWM16.

#3 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 July 2012 - 09:00 PM

I dont know what policy you are talking about that required leaving a receiver disconnected, but if that is the only one, it should be the only coax at the splitter(s) that isnt connected.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#4 OFFLINE   hbkbiggestfan

hbkbiggestfan

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 406 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 01 July 2012 - 09:05 PM

Well, there is three available coax cables...

Attached Thumbnails

  • ForumRunner_20120701_220518.png
  • ForumRunner_20120701_220537.png

<Living Room HR34-700-Networked Wireless CCK*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Vizio E601i-a3 60" 1080p LED HDTV> <Master Bedroom HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL*HDMI-Olevia 37" LCD HDTV>
<Man Cave HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Samsung 46" LN46B530 1080p LCD HDTV> *Linksys Router <Backup Equipment HR22-100, H21-200, R15 and SD DIRECTiVo>
DIRECTV Since August 2002. Thanks for DLB & MRV DIRECTV!

NFL Sunday Ticket + Superfan since 2004 Go KC Chiefs!

#5 OFFLINE   hbkbiggestfan

hbkbiggestfan

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 406 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 01 July 2012 - 09:12 PM

How many coax do you have laying loose at the SWM area? You can test coax any of several ways, but perhaps the easiest that won't cost you anything for test equipment is just hook up the receiver in the guest room, then try the coax one at a time connecting them to your SWM16 (or one of the splitters coming off the SWM16) until the receiver works.

If you don't have any unused splitter ports, you can temporarily unhook something else and use that port to test your coax. Then to hook both that coax and the original item up you will need to get another splitter.

Make sure you don't put more than 8 tuners on either side of the SWM16.


Thanks. I'll try this in the morning. But how do I get the rubber and nut "protectors" off the splitter outputs? I know it may sound dumb, but I always have so much trouble with those things...

And for the other guy, I'm referring to the policy where the installer is supposed to leave the house connected based on which rooms have active receivers. I deactivated my H25 in that room a while before the ordering the HR34. So he "updated" my house based on the current needs.
<Living Room HR34-700-Networked Wireless CCK*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Vizio E601i-a3 60" 1080p LED HDTV> <Master Bedroom HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL*HDMI-Olevia 37" LCD HDTV>
<Man Cave HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Samsung 46" LN46B530 1080p LCD HDTV> *Linksys Router <Backup Equipment HR22-100, H21-200, R15 and SD DIRECTiVo>
DIRECTV Since August 2002. Thanks for DLB & MRV DIRECTV!

NFL Sunday Ticket + Superfan since 2004 Go KC Chiefs!

#6 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 July 2012 - 09:21 PM

Oh ok. The nut (which is actually a 75 ohm terminating resistor) comes off the splitter with a 7/16th wrench. The rubber can stay on, or you can pull it off with needle nose pliers.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#7 OFFLINE   hbkbiggestfan

hbkbiggestfan

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 406 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 01 July 2012 - 09:36 PM

Oh ok. The nut (which is actually a 75 ohm terminating resistor) comes off the splitter with a 7/16th wrench. The rubber can stay on, or you can pull it off with needle nose pliers.


Great. Thanks!
<Living Room HR34-700-Networked Wireless CCK*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Vizio E601i-a3 60" 1080p LED HDTV> <Master Bedroom HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL*HDMI-Olevia 37" LCD HDTV>
<Man Cave HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Samsung 46" LN46B530 1080p LCD HDTV> *Linksys Router <Backup Equipment HR22-100, H21-200, R15 and SD DIRECTiVo>
DIRECTV Since August 2002. Thanks for DLB & MRV DIRECTV!

NFL Sunday Ticket + Superfan since 2004 Go KC Chiefs!

#8 OFFLINE   hbkbiggestfan

hbkbiggestfan

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 406 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 01 July 2012 - 09:50 PM

One more question. Since the HR34 has 5 tuners, I'm assuming that one's coax is attached to the splitter that only has one other coax (that would equal 7 tuners). Or does the HR34 take up multiple splitter slots since its has those 5 tuners? Because the splitters don't seem match-up.

One splitter has three coax cables connected with one open. The other splitter has one connected with three open. I have 11 tuners currently connected and running (HR34 = 5, 3 HR2x = 6). I don't see how 4 coax cables equals out to 11 tuners???

EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out. HR34 5 tuners = 1 port, 3 HR2x's = 3 ports w/ 2 tuners per port. Duh! I still have 3 tuners available on the splitter with the HR34 and 2 available on the splitter with the HR2x's. Which one would likely be the best to add another coax to? And can't I get rid of the splitter with the HR34 and just connect the HR34 directly to the SWM 16?

Edited by hbkbiggestfan, 01 July 2012 - 11:04 PM.

<Living Room HR34-700-Networked Wireless CCK*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Vizio E601i-a3 60" 1080p LED HDTV> <Master Bedroom HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL*HDMI-Olevia 37" LCD HDTV>
<Man Cave HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Samsung 46" LN46B530 1080p LCD HDTV> *Linksys Router <Backup Equipment HR22-100, H21-200, R15 and SD DIRECTiVo>
DIRECTV Since August 2002. Thanks for DLB & MRV DIRECTV!

NFL Sunday Ticket + Superfan since 2004 Go KC Chiefs!

#9 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 July 2012 - 11:21 PM

One more question. Since the HR34 has 5 tuners, I'm assuming that one's coax is attached to the splitter that only has one other coax (that would equal 7 tuners). Or does the HR34 take up multiple splitter slots since its has those 5 tuners? Because the splitters don't seem match-up.

One splitter has three coax cables connected with one open. The other splitter has one connected with three open. I have 11 tuners currently connected and running (HR34 = 5, 3 HR2x = 6). I don't see how 4 coax cables equals out to 11 tuners???

EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out. HR34 5 tuners = 1 port, 3 HR2x's = 3 ports w/ 2 tuners per port. Duh! I still have 3 tuners available on the splitter with the HR34 and 2 available on the splitter with the HR2x's. Which one would likely be the best to add another coax to? And can't I get rid of the splitter with the HR34 and just connect the HR34 directly to the SWM 16?


I'm assuming that the splitter with one coax connected and 3 unused is the one with the HR34, correct? If so, you can remove the splitter and connect the HR34 directly to the SWM16. You can then hook the H25 to the unused port on the other splitter. Some people like to keep their SWM16's balanced, thus they would put the H25 on the splitter with the HR34, although removing the one 4-port splitter should reduce loss on your lines.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#10 OFFLINE   hbkbiggestfan

hbkbiggestfan

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 406 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 01 July 2012 - 11:23 PM

I'm assuming that the splitter with one coax connected and 3 unused is the one with the HR34, correct? If so, you can remove the splitter and connect the HR34 directly to the SWM16. You can then hook the H25 to the unused port on the other splitter. Some people like to keep their SWM16's balanced, thus they would put the H25 on the splitter with the HR34, although removing the one 4-port splitter should reduce loss on your lines.

- Merg


Ok. That's what I was starting to figure. Thanks!
<Living Room HR34-700-Networked Wireless CCK*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Vizio E601i-a3 60" 1080p LED HDTV> <Master Bedroom HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL*HDMI-Olevia 37" LCD HDTV>
<Man Cave HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Samsung 46" LN46B530 1080p LCD HDTV> *Linksys Router <Backup Equipment HR22-100, H21-200, R15 and SD DIRECTiVo>
DIRECTV Since August 2002. Thanks for DLB & MRV DIRECTV!

NFL Sunday Ticket + Superfan since 2004 Go KC Chiefs!

#11 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,033 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 July 2012 - 11:33 PM

Thanks. I'll try this in the morning.


Once you hook a coax up, check your H25. You might have to reset it. In fact, it might be good to move it to where the splitters are, hook it up directly to a splitter port, let it come up and alive, then put it back in the guest room and hook it up there. You don't have to do that, but it gives you a level of confidence on the H25.

#12 OFFLINE   hbkbiggestfan

hbkbiggestfan

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 406 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 01 July 2012 - 11:45 PM

Once you hook a coax up, check your H25. You might have to reset it. In fact, it might be good to move it to where the splitters are, hook it up directly to a splitter port, let it come up and alive, then put it back in the guest room and hook it up there. You don't have to do that, but it gives you a level of confidence on the H25.


Well, my splitters are outside. The H25 was working fine when I deactivated it. I know its the line because I tried my HR34 on it and got the same error.
<Living Room HR34-700-Networked Wireless CCK*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Vizio E601i-a3 60" 1080p LED HDTV> <Master Bedroom HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL*HDMI-Olevia 37" LCD HDTV>
<Man Cave HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Samsung 46" LN46B530 1080p LCD HDTV> *Linksys Router <Backup Equipment HR22-100, H21-200, R15 and SD DIRECTiVo>
DIRECTV Since August 2002. Thanks for DLB & MRV DIRECTV!

NFL Sunday Ticket + Superfan since 2004 Go KC Chiefs!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...