Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

What services/programming remain on 110 and 119?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Radio Enginerd

Radio Enginerd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,879 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 03 July 2012 - 08:51 PM

My inlaws have an old sidecar dish and it looks like the jumpers between the 110/119 LNB and the main LNB assembly are failing.

Can I unplug them and setup the HD DVR's as if they had a 3 LNB Slimline?

I ask because they are getting an error on the DVR's about guide data.

This is a non SWM install, 3 HR DVR's. No international channels, located in the Los Angeles DMA.

Any help is appreciated.

If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything.
- Emmett "Doc" Brown

DirecTV since 2006


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 July 2012 - 09:22 PM

My inlaws have an old sidecar dish and it looks like the jumpers between the 110/119 LNB and the main LNB assembly are failing.

Can I unplug them and setup the HD DVR's as if they had a 3 LNB Slimline?

I ask because they are getting an error on the DVR's about guide data.

This is a non SWM install, 3 HR DVR's. No international channels, located in the Los Angeles DMA.

Any help is appreciated.


Only if you connect the AT-9 through a SWiM-8/16 module may you remove the 110/119 sidecar and place the dish setting in the receiver setups on "SL-3" (non-SWiM).

Otherwise you are going to have to swap out the entire AT-9 for a SlimLine.

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,642 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 July 2012 - 09:42 PM

Any help is appreciated.

Hey stranger, what's up?

As for 119 & 110, "not much", but the guide data will bite you in the butt, when tuned to the 103 channels, because it's the LNB switch that you can't change with the receiver setup and still need the guide from 119.

SWiM locks on the 101, so that's one option.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 July 2012 - 09:50 PM

Hey stranger, what's up?

As for 119 & 110, "not much", but the guide data will bite you in the butt, when tuned to the 103 channels, because it's the LNB switch that you can't change with the receiver setup and still need the guide from 119.

SWiM locks on the 101, so that's one option.


If they don't want to be bothered with changing out the old AT-9 dish altogether, I'm afraid SWiM is the only option if the 110/119 sidecar is indeed failing. :)

#5 OFFLINE   Radio Enginerd

Radio Enginerd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,879 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 03 July 2012 - 09:59 PM

Hey there old friend, long time no talk!

Thanks all for the information. Sounds like without a SWM they're SOL. Yeah, they're missing even transponders on 119 and getting prompted all the time with a guide data error. I was curious if I could "force" the configuration to a 3LNB setup but that's obviously not an option.

VOS - As for me, life is good. Super busy, not nearly as much time for DirecTV stuff. Now I tend to lurk and read but that's about it. :)

If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything.
- Emmett "Doc" Brown

DirecTV since 2006


#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 July 2012 - 10:28 PM

You could find the AT-9's LNBF side block somewhere...eBay; I have one in my stash, perhaps someone else too ...

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,642 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 July 2012 - 10:53 PM

VOS - As for me, life is good. Super busy, not nearly as much time for DirecTV stuff. Now I tend to lurk and read but that's about it. :)

These days "busy" is better than not. ;)

Should have posted this back in October, as I threw out my old AT-9 then before the move.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,192 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 04 July 2012 - 07:48 AM

Do they have the protection plan?

If so, just report it and let DirecTV decide on the best solution.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#9 OFFLINE   Radio Enginerd

Radio Enginerd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,879 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 04 July 2012 - 05:54 PM

No, they don't.

DirecTV wants to charge them to come out. My mom is having an issue with that since they've had DirecTV for 15+ years.

If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything.
- Emmett "Doc" Brown

DirecTV since 2006


#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,642 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 July 2012 - 06:32 PM

No, they don't.

DirecTV wants to charge them to come out. My mom is having an issue with that since they've had DirecTV for 15+ years.

Since the AT9 is obsolete and wasn't their best design, I'd try to leverage a free service call.
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   fleckrj

fleckrj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,048 posts
  • LocationCary, NC
Joined: Sep 04, 2009

Posted 04 July 2012 - 08:11 PM

What I did as a workaround for about a year before I switched to a SL-3 was to be sure to tune to a channel that was coming from 101 when I was not actually watching TV. That way, the system was parked in a position that it was getting the guide data from 101 instead of 119. Any of the main SD channels will work (I used DIY).




spam firewall