Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper Internet Connector


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   StringFellow

StringFellow

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2012

Posted 04 July 2012 - 10:03 AM

Based on several forum posts it appears that multi-room viewing is unstable if 2 Hoppers have ethernet connections. It appears that using Ethernet to one Hopper and a HIC is the idea solution.

In addition I don't have access to BB@Home on my Joey if I remove Ethernet from the Hopper hosting the Joey.

Is a Hopper Internet Connector required?

Setup: 2 Hoppers (both w/ Ethernet) /1 Joey (Coax only)

Edited by StringFellow, 04 July 2012 - 10:43 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   eddwall

eddwall

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2012

Posted 04 July 2012 - 11:45 AM

With upgrade software 213 to Hoppers & 265 to Joeys .... You now need only one Hopper connected to the Internet...all hoppers & joeys will see and use the one connection.

#3 OFFLINE   gregleg

gregleg

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2004

Posted 04 July 2012 - 09:14 PM

No need for the HIC at all if you have Ethernet to any Hopper. Just make sure you have only one connected and you should be good. (That said I use the HIC for my 2H/2J system with very good stability)

#4 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 419 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 05 July 2012 - 07:16 AM

With upgrade software 213 to Hoppers & 265 to Joeys .... You now need only one Hopper connected to the Internet...all hoppers & joeys will see and use the one connection.


This works for me with a caveat. The Hopper with no internet connection and the 2 Joeys linked show as not Home Connected (red symbols) and as having no internet connection if using On Demand. However MRV and downloads from BB@Home work perfectly on all boxes.

2H/1J


#5 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 05 July 2012 - 10:47 AM

Based on several forum posts it appears that multi-room viewing is unstable if 2 Hoppers have ethernet connections. It appears that using Ethernet to one Hopper and a HIC is the idea solution.

In addition I don't have access to BB@Home on my Joey if I remove Ethernet from the Hopper hosting the Joey.

Is a Hopper Internet Connector required?

Setup: 2 Hoppers (both w/ Ethernet) /1 Joey (Coax only)



I would have the installer install the HIC,better to get it with your original installation than to need it later when you will have to pay for it.


Always get everything you need with the original installation otherwise the cost to get one you will have to pay for it.

#6 OFFLINE   ransz28

ransz28

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2011

Posted 03 August 2012 - 09:26 AM

I have 2H/1J and only use the HIC. Everything works on all of them.




spam firewall