Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Items Missing from PlayList via Nomad/iPad App


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,243 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 July 2012 - 10:41 AM

I'll probably post this in each of the appropriate threads, but thought this to be a very interesting issue.

I was working in the nomad PC app and noticed that some shows were missing from the DVR Playlist tab. I thought that maybe I had deleted the shows by accident so I checked my DVR and the shows are there. The shows include Phineas and Ferb, Sid the Science Kid, Falling Skies, and XIII.

When I view the PlayList from a remote DVR, the shows are on the list. I then looked on the iPad app and found that these shows are not showing up there either. I can't quite figure out what is going on here.

Now I can understand if for some reason it didn't display items on the DVR Playlist part of the nomad software if it is downloaded already to the PC (although Eureka is showing in both lists), however, that doesn't explain why the iPad app Playlist is not showing these episodes.

Has anyone else seen this issue? I am running the most recent version of the nomad software for PC and iOS and running the iPad app v1.5.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,243 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 05 July 2012 - 09:41 AM

Okay, the issue is resolved (I think). As soon as something else recorded on the DVR, the missing items showed up on the iPad and nomad.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 07 July 2012 - 09:40 AM

I'm having this issue on my Nomad and iPad as well. I unplugged the Nomad and reset my DVR and they came up on the iPad but once again 12 hours later Nomad still unplugged the iPad app is missing programs again.

#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,243 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 07 July 2012 - 06:10 PM

I'm having this issue on my Nomad and iPad as well. I unplugged the Nomad and reset my DVR and they came up on the iPad but once again 12 hours later Nomad still unplugged the iPad app is missing programs again.


It's not that the nomad is interfering with the iPad app. The issue is how the iPad and nomad see the PlayLists from the DVRs. Either try rebooting your DVR and see if the iPad sees your whole PlayList or try recording something first on the DVR to see if that fixes the problem.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 07 July 2012 - 07:48 PM

It's not that the nomad is interfering with the iPad app. The issue is how the iPad and nomad see the PlayLists from the DVRs. Either try rebooting your DVR and see if the iPad sees your whole PlayList or try recording something first on the DVR to see if that fixes the problem.

- Merg

Clearly it's an issue I shouldn't have on SWIM and DECAS

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,243 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 07 July 2012 - 09:24 PM

Clearly it's an issue I shouldn't have on SWIM and DECAS


It has nothing to do with SWM or DECA. I would say it's a bug with how the iPad app and nomad pull the PlayList.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 07 July 2012 - 10:24 PM

The nomad and directv apps are distributed and produced/coded by directv and this issue wasn't on 0x59e. By deca and swim I was implying that I'm wired the directv way and not through all Ethernet until the deca broadband deca.


Have you assigned static ips to any of your receivers or upgraded the storage space?

#8 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,243 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 07 July 2012 - 10:59 PM

The nomad and directv apps are distributed and produced/coded by directv and this issue wasn't on 0x59e. By deca and swim I was implying that I'm wired the directv way and not through all Ethernet until the deca broadband deca.

Have you assigned static ips to any of your receivers or upgraded the storage space?


I use DHCP Reservations for all my devices. I have added an external drive to my nomad, but had the issue before I did that. I hadn't noticed the issue until recently either, so it's possible something got broke in the last release. Since the PlayList shows up fine to connected receivers via MRV, I would assume that the iPad and nomad do something differently and their PlayList is not refreshing correctly.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#9 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 08 July 2012 - 04:34 PM

2tb and use dhcp reservations by Mac address

#10 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,243 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 July 2012 - 08:25 PM

2tb and use dhcp reservations by Mac address


Okay, but I don't think that has anything to do with this issue though.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#11 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 09 July 2012 - 11:33 PM

What is your DHCP lease time? I'm trying to figure out why you and I seem to be the only ones with this issue.

#12 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,243 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 July 2012 - 01:14 PM

What is your DHCP lease time? I'm trying to figure out why you and I seem to be the only ones with this issue.


Mine don't expire. I think other people have the issue but people just don't notice it. I might not have noticed it save for the fact that I wanted to download a specific series to the nomad.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#13 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 11 July 2012 - 05:26 PM

Mine don't expire. I think other people have the issue but people just don't notice it. I might not have noticed it save for the fact that I wanted to download a specific series to the nomad.

- Merg


Erm idk mine expire but it just re-leases the same ip. For now I just unplugged the nomad deleted the apps from my iPhone and iPad and the directv iPad app.

#14 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 14 July 2012 - 10:20 AM

Moved my nomad to a separate switch and am no longer having the problem. I have 3 Netgear GS108 plugged into the Time Capsule. I think somehow the traffic was getting stuck in the switch but I'm not sure. Cross
My fingers this fixes it.




spam firewall